We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!”
Review of Channel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channel House
Ranked #2 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

My husband and I stayed here in June. We enjoyed sipping champagne in the hot tub on the deck and watching the boats going out and coming in to the bay. The room was a little bit cramped but very efficient use of space considering the size. The bed was heaven to sleep in. The breakfast in the morning with one of the best I have had and any bed and breakfast. It was a splurge for us but well worth it. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    69
    22
    12
    2
See reviews for
10
316
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Depoe bay is pretty quaint with very few upscale options one of which is Channel House ...It's definitely older but if your looking for an ocean view room stay here! The rooms were pretty small but there is a jacuzzi right outside your room and you have a terrace on a cliff overlooking the ocean so who cares about the small room! Service was great, breakfast was typical B&B, (2) bottles of wine already in your room, price was steep but not as much as the Whale Inn which looked pretty tight and brand new but more expensive....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My wife and I have been going to the Channel House for the past 15 years.
We have seen the room rates steadily increase over this time to a point where the rates are well above other similar properties. In the past we have taken advantage of their winter special rates for "loyal customers". These rates are good only from Sunday to Thursday nights. I called a couple of days ago and asked to book with these rates for two nights, with the second night being New Years Eve. Was told they would give us the discount for the first night, but not the second night. Okay, my wife and I discussed it and we decided to change our plans...so I called again and asked to book a room on the Sunday and Monday nights after Christmas. Now I was told that they have since blacked out the entire week between Christmas and New Years. We have stayed at the Channel House in previous years and have always received their loyal customer rate during this time period. I guess they are making it up as they go along. Very terrible customer service. It's really too bad. We have referred friends and associates to the Channel House, and obviously have enjoyed our stays there. We won't be going back or referring any longer!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoLame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I can't believe this isn't the top rated spot in Depoe Bay. This inn is our favorite getaway spot in the world. I've never stayed anywhere that I found to be more romantic or cozy. We prefer to go in the winter when the storms are crashing on the rocks. I don't know how the previous reviewer could have found it too cold to use the hot tub - it's a hot tub, it will keep you warm! There's nothing like watching the waves crash on the rocks at Arch Rock while the sun sets from the private hot tub on the deck.

I really recommend going for one of the upstairs suites. The ground floor rooms are not bad, but they don't have the same romantic feeling as the rooms with private decks.

Yes, the breakfast is almost all carbs (they do have some hard boiled eggs) but if you do enjoy a splurge, then it's a treat, especially sitting by the ocean.

It is rather expensive, especially considering the cost of other lodgings on the coast, but my wife and I keep returning because it is one of a kind. The staff takes great pride in the inn and have always provided whatever we need. We had our first romantic getaway there, we got engaged there and we've been back a half a dozen times since and make it a point to stay there almost every time we come to the coast.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gachnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I was expecting more here because of the glowing reviews and the $250/night price tag.

Our first floor room looked like an inexpensive motel with an old coach, cheap bedding and a small old school bathroom. The only reason to come to this place is for the views of the ocean and the personal outdoor hot tubs. Unfortunately when we were there, it was too cold to partake in any outdoor bathing, so the $250/ night seemed ludicrious for the ammenities provided. I would have thought this was a good deal for maybe $150/night.

I also didn't like the breakfast that everyone raves about. It's perfect if you like sugary carbs -- muffins, cakes, cereal, fruit -- to start your morning. There was no eggs, no cheeses, nothing savory.

Other places we stayed on this trip in the same price range (Wildspring in Orford, Edgewater in Seattle) had much better rooms, service and food.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We are not the usual traveler to stay at Channel House, which clearly provides an intimate couples-friendly setting (fireplaces in living & bedrooms, hot tub on private deck). We were traveling with out 22 yr old son, but seek out small, upscale properties with great locations. We were turned away from a few properties elsewhere which could not / would not accommodate a 3rd person. Channel House was perfect with a comfortable sleeper sofa in living room. We all enjoyed the exquisite Pacific views from our suite and deck, and the view of the boats entering & leaving that ridiculously narrow harbor entrance! The suite (Cuckoo's Nest) had unobstructed views, all upscale amenities (only complaint was a wonderful shower with 2 heads, but both built for midgets!), and a terrific, expansive continental breakfast in a lovely room with more great ocean views. Only wish we could have stayed longer than the one night. Lovely property!

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LB-likes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

After years of seeing beautiful hot tub scenes overlooking the Pacific in Sunset magazine, we had an opportunity to experience the Channel House during a recent trip to the West Coast for a family reunion. Most of the TripAdvisor reviews were very positive and we looked forward to our visit. Our initial impression with the Admiral Suite was fantastic. The room had a nice layout, the fireplace and flat-screen were a definite plus and the bedroom, which was right on the corner of the top floor, had an unbelievable view out over the Pacific.

Our first stop was the jacuzzi on the deck, and we were pleased that there was plenty of hot water! Downside was that the deck was in full view of passers-by on the bridge adjacent to the inn so it was a bit tricky getting in without total exposure! Guests in the lower floors should be aware that they are in full view of us on the upper floors - not much privacy all around but redeemed by the incredible view of the Pacific, complete with whales.

A couple factors to take into account when selecting a room. Though the Admiral was probably the nicest room, it had some drawbacks. At night, there were some very high powered lights, lighting the channel. As a result, there really was no night in this room and it was impossible to see any stars. There was continual noise on the adjacent bridge. When the Coast Guard goes out in the middle of the night, there are loud warning horns in the channel and the boat has a siren. Overall, though the Admiral was a wonderful room from a view perspective during the day, it was noisy and bright at night ...

Many TripAdvisor members have commented positively on the breakfast. We found it adequate but overall lacking - maybe a step above Hampton Inn buffet, but didn't measure up to many other experiences at similar inns.

Trip Advisor members highlighted two places to eat. First was Tidal Raves. We really looked forward to this experience but were greatly disappointed. We wanted to have a couple glasses of wine, enjoy the great view and have some lighter fare. We did not have a reservation but figured we could find a spot at the bar. WRONG ... no bar. People were sitting on uncomforatable benches outside and in their cars waiting to get in. WHY??? Could not understand why anyone would wait for this crowded experience. Stopped in at Gracie's Sea Hag as it came highly recommended. Visitors had two choices 1) There was the Denny's-like side with lots of screaming kids and food all over the floor or 2) the bar with lots of smoke. The food was marginal at best - New England clam chowder that was so thick with flour the spoon could stand straight-up without support. Not our cup of tea, but may appeal to some for the rustic charm. Someone could really make a killing in the Depoe Bay area if they opened a clean restaraunt, with ocean view and good food and wine and a relaxed atmosphere. The Bay House, on the other hand was a fabulous experience! Though it was a 15 minute drive North of Depoe Bay, it was well worth every minute, expecially if you like fine dining. Excellent food, superb service, spectacular views - it was an entire evening experience and the hosts made sure we had a memorable experience ... there was no push to move the evening faster ... it was the highlight of our trip.

We have tried to be objective and not too critical of this property. For the price, it did not measure up to our expectations but that is not to say it might be just right for some.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbrudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
8.5 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House

Property: Channel House
Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing