We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - Whales, A Seal , the sound of the Ocean, all from our room”
Review of Channel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Channel House
Ranked #2 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the channel house for 5 days and never wanted to leave. The room was very clean, well taken care of and very comfortable. The atmosphere was perfect, and the staff were so nice and attentive, we could not have asked for anything more. We actually saw Whales, a Seal and even a big orange Starfish from our room.
The free breakfast every morning was wonderful, and a great start to the day. This was one of the most romantic, wonderful places that we have ever stayed ,and we have decided to make the Channel House our yearly destination.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpreimsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

My wife and I were looking for a new place for a Spring vacation that offered opportubnities to relax, eat and drink well and see beautiful scenery. I heard about Depoe Bay and this wonderful little B&B from an unlikely source...the barbershop. We explored the location and the Channel House Inn on the web and decided to go. Every expectation we had of the location, the view, the room and the Inn was met or exceeded. The view from the room is incredible and the Oregon coast is just spectacular. The Inn keepers were very helpful in making dinner reservations for us and suggesting places to go. They were also very good at taking care of the one problem we did have with the room; the jacuzzi motor failed. They got it repaired very quickly and comped us a bottle of wine for the inconvenience.
I would have given the Channel House Inn a 5 Dot rating if the breakfast were a little better. I agree with a previous review that it was a little sugary carb heavy. That being said the croissants were wonderful.
We will be back to the Channel House Inn next year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaturePhotog_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This is our 4th time to the Channel House. We have stayed in a different suite each stay. The Sweet Salt Air suite was amazing. For a romantic weekend you must go here. They are truely great people and staff who run the place they sure know how to make you feel special. We can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendimelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

After an extremely stressful and busy tax season, this frazzled accountant & spouse have to get away. Just throwing open the door and listening to the surf all night restores the soul. We'll be going again tomorrow for three days, and yes, I'm sorry it's going to be raining the whole time. Oh well, plenty to do..we can always go to Lincoln City and gamble. And for the reviewer on page 1 who was grumping over the 4PM check-in...WE always go across the street to the Sea Hag, maybe have a cup of clam chowder and a couple of drinks, chat with the bartender, watch sports on their TV, generally kick back. The winter rates end April 30, but we may well come back in August.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MizLiz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We were very surprised by the beautiful views from the Channel House. We normally go to Tickle Pink Inn in Carmel, CA, but Channel House has that beat because of the hot tub on the balcony! It's not exactly private - boats on the water can see you getting in and out of hot tub, but you quickly get over that! We stayed in the Cuckoo's Nest which is on the top floor, and that offers a little more privacy. If you really want to see whales the locals say the most activity is late may - sept. We unfortunately didn't see any whales. We really enjoyed driving south down the coast and stopping along the way to take in the gorgeous rocky coast views and do a little hiking. Seal rock is very impressive as is Cape Perpetua. We really enjoyed the aquarium in Newport also. They have puffins, which we've never seen. The Flying Dutchman winery on the coast is a worthwhile stop. We took 2 days to drive into the wine country - a 60 min drive from Depoe Bay. Eola winery and Chateau Bianca were among our favorite stops. We tried the Sea Hag and regret that we didn't have a chance to try restaurant Beck. When we come back we'll either stay at Channel House again or try the sister property, Whale cove inn. The reason I gave sleep quality a 3 is the queen bed. We really prefer a king. Both casinos, Chinook Winds and Spirit Mountain are worth a stop.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I went to Channel House with two other friends to spend a girlie weekend, enjoy the coast. We were impressed with this place within the first few minutes of checking in. The rooms 5/6 were amazing, view perfect, jacuzzi on the deck right on the ocean, perfect service, the breakfast couldn't be better and we had a full-kitchen to stay in on Saturday evening, watch movies on the big flatscreen in the room while enjoying a great dinner. I couldn't recommend this place enough. Every detail is well-thought out and executed. Also, jacuzzi at night was so relaxing and appreciated. I am definitely coming back with my boyfriend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

The Continental Breakfast was fantastic. It's first class and in a beautiful room overlooking the ocean.

We were there during a very cool and rainy day/night when the ocean was so wild the boats couldn't come in and out of the channel to the harbor.

At first we were skeptical of the small electical heater in our room which did an excellent job.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 502mjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
371 reviews
12.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House

Address: 35 Ellingson Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range: £145 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Channel House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel House delivers both the premier amenities and services of our luxury hotel and an experience that brings the beauty of the Oregon coast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel House Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing