We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Counldnt be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Depoe Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Depoe Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Counldnt be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place is an adorable B&B in Depoe bay, OR. We stayed here for one night on our way back to portland from a road trip in Oregon. We had a groupon for this B&B so it was a super deal, and the staff was so nice in accepting/honoring it without any issues. The fact that we had a Groupon didnt change their service at all. Definitely recommend this place!

Room: Clean bathroom, comfy king bed, TV, DVDs, dining area, nice view of the marina from balcony. They also provided binoculars to enjoy the view. Room was so peaceful, we had a great night's sleep. They had a little diary where past guests had handwritten thank you notes for their wonderful experience. The B&B also has a nice lobby area and balcony.

Staff/Service: Very warm welcome from the owners. We were late, but the owners were still available and friendly. Such a breath of fresh air, from the snooty attitude that the big hotel receptionists give you. The owners gave us a nice walkthrough of the property and amenities. They served a nice spread the next morning for breakfast, they had ham & cheese omelette and french toast with caramelized peaches, orange juice, tea, coffee, toast and fruits. There is a nice thai restaurant right in front of this place which would be good for dinner.

Location: Depoe Bay is a little boring compared to other places in Oregon. We just stayed over as we had a flight next morning from portland. This place doesnt have many restaurants, things to do after 9 pm. Even the gas stations close at 9pm. So if you wan't a more happening place, I would suggest staying in Lincoln city or at least, going there to eat. It is 15-30 mins away. This place is about 30m from Chinook winds casino - definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get gas, food to eat well before 9 pm as everything closes in Depoe Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuvarajvima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    34
    9
    10
    7
See reviews for
8
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I'll admit that this is only the third B&B I've stayed in, but this is what I imagine that the ideal B&B experience should be.

We were greeted by one of the owners when we showed up on a Thursday afternoon. My first clue that this was a good place to stay was what the owner was doing at the front desk when we arrived. He was on the phone with a previous guest, taking down an address so he could ship a lost glove back to its rightful owner.

We were given a brief tour of the place (the dining and lounge areas) and led to our room. We felt welcome immediately and decided to go explore. There was a refrigerator downstairs available for guest use. There was a big shelf full of books, movies, and games, all available without any extra fees or hassles. The living room area was tastefully decorated and had a few knickknacks that I found amusing. There was a large balcony overlooking a parking area and the harbor with plenty of seating for guests to relax and socialize.

Our room (303) was small but quite comfortable. My wife loved the big, soft bed. She was six months pregnant at the time and said that she enjoyed a "blissfully restful sleep" that made her forget her aches. We also had a private balcony with a better view of the harbor (boats, gulls, and the occasional passing seal), a fireplace (which we didn't need in late June), and a little desk and table. Though neither of us drink, we felt even more welcomed by the bottle of sherry (free) and bottle of wine (extra charge) waiting for us in the room. The chocolates were pretty good, too.

The room might not have been sparklingly spotless, but it was very clean. The TV worked well, though we didn't try the built-in DVD player feature. We opened the window to let in some fresh air and turned on the fan to cool off a bit (there was no AC). My wife added her own notes to the journal left on the table for guest comments, and I tried the Wi-Fi connection, which worked perfectly.

I wasn't a big fan of the bathroom. The light was outside the bathroom, which was rather small and not very bright. The fan was a little on the noisy side, and the towels felt scratchy. But the shower worked just as I hoped it would, and there was a pair of luxuriously soft robes waiting for us.

Breakfast was great! There were muffins and breads available at any time along with coffee and orange juice. We got some of that and sat down at a table. Then someone (another owner?) came by to ask us what else we wanted. She offered French toast with apple or a Denver omelet. The omelet was delicious! My wife thought the French toast was good but needed syrup, which we probably could have asked for. I managed to get just the amount of food I wanted so I was full but not bloated and drowsy. We were very satisfied with our stay.

According to some signs we saw, there was supposedly at least one cat and one dog in residence, but we didn't meet them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianShirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBlessinger91, Owner at Depoe Bay Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words in your review. Please send us baby pics by snail mail or email.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Bob & Beni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

What a delightful stay! The feel of a family bed and breakfast, with a very comfortable room, living room to share, a deck overlooking the bay, and a yummy breakfast. Never turned on the TV, too busy enjoying our sherry and chocolates in front of the fireplace at the foot of the king sized bed. I'd gladly return! Let the host know of any food allergies before you arrive and they will gladly accommodate your needs.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces, some do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBlessinger91, Owner at Depoe Bay Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hi Carol,

Thanks for the kind words. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay the way you should -- No TV. We hope to see you again soon.

Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a Amazon coupon to visit the Inn for our 42nd anniversary. What a great find. The Inn overlooks tiny Depoe Bay (the actual bay, not the town). The location is very quiet. The room was clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. There was nice touches like sherry and chocolate treats in the room and terry cloth robes along with all the amenities expected in a nice motel/hotel. The evening fare consists of only burgers, but having a wonderful and filling meal earlier in the day so we decided not to go out for a big dinner. What a delicious treat! The burgers were excellent, cooked to perfection with bakery buns. While the meal was filling, after hearing the dessert options (tiramisu or spumoni ice cream) we decided to order both and split them. While not made in house, the tiramisu was the best we have had, literally melted in our mouths. The spumoni was a cut about too. Prices were very reasonable too. Breakfast is included in the price and that day was a choice of a bacon cheese omelet or spiced apples on French toast cooked to order, We split our choices and they were both very good. Serve yourself items were coffee and tea (available all day), orange juice, muffins and two kinds of bread (toaster too) . While we didn't meet Bob, Beni was very personable and helpful. Definately worth a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBlessinger91, Owner at Depoe Bay Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thanks for staying with us and your kind words. We are anxious to see you again soon.

Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

While they advertise that the rooms have all been refurbished, I had to ask what was upgraded and it turns out that the rooms have all been painted and have new bed linens. Both the new paint and bed linens were great. But the furniture in the room is older and needs upgrading and the carpet needs to be upgraded as well (to something more calming). That said, we enjoyed looking out at the harbor, we enjoyed our little deck that overlooks the harbor, and we enjoyed the hosts and all that they do to try and make your stay pleasant. This place felt much more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel with all the rooms inside along a short hallway. They provide (not in the room) a shared refrigerator, microwave, movies, books, board games and have a little bar and burger café on site. The breakfast was great and they were able and willing to change up the offering (for example, serve my omelet with no peppers). We enjoyed the little fireplace in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBlessinger91, Owner at Depoe Bay Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your comments. You are right, we are not a hotel - we are a Bed and Breakfast Inn. On July 1st we will have owned the Inn for 1 year. We did as much refurbishing as we could afford in our first year and have plans for more in the second and third year. Much of that are the things you mentioned.

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights and would have stayed an extra if there had been a vacancy. Comfortable room with a small patio/sitting area just outside the door. A perfect place for our morning coffee or an evening glass of complimentary sherry with complimentary chocolates. Great cooked to order breakfast. Had choices if omelets or French toast. Both were perfectly cooked and delivered quickly with fresh melon on the side. Also lots of muffins-pastries and toast and jam. A non-smoking facility now, it appears to have allowed smoking before the new owners took over because there is still a tobacco odor downstairs,but new carpet would fix that. Decor is eclectic but delightful. Huge common area & lovely dining area. One note-- bring your own pillow. These are a bit flat. Also no hair dryer. All in all few complaints and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slainte53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

EXCELLENT!! QUIET, SECLUDED, WARM, COZY AND FRIENDLY STAFF. Perfect for a couple's getaway!! The room was very clean, and comfortable. Me and my fiance' settled in quickly after getting a friendly tour of the property by the woman who checked is in. We were welcomed to use their full library of movies and board games if we wanted to and found mints & cherry in our room as a welcoming surprise. It was a cool night so we used the fireplace provided and it was sooo nice to snuggle up after a long day at the beach. Breakfast is wonderful and its simply a lovely place to visit. I will definitely return!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constantraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.6 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
12.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depoe Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depoe Bay Inn

Property: Depoe Bay Inn
Address: 235 SE Bayview Ave, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-1917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Depoe Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Depoe Bay Inn is an adults only B & B that sits on the world's smallest harbor in Depoe Bay, Oregon. Watch boats coming and going from your room's patio or balcony. We are the only lodging on the harbor and conveniently located near shops, restaurants, charter fishing, whale watching and 30 minutes away from Chinook Winds Casino in Lincoln city and 30 minutes from downtown Newport. A hot cooked to order breakfast is served daily. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. We are very pet friendly in rooms 103-106 only. Rooms 301-306 are NOT pet friendly. We also have a house dog, Hanna, who loves all other dogs and people. And please remember, we are ADULTS ONLY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Depoe Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing