We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well kept secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trollers Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Depoe Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trollers Lodge
Ranked #7 of 7 Depoe Bay B&B and Inns
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Looked for pet friendly motel in Depot Bay. The owners are unbelievable. They love pets and their guests. Have never had a tour of the room by an owner before. Stayed in number 10. Very homey feeling, well appointed and clean. Winter prices in effect and a great value. DVDs included at no cost. Kitchenette had everything we needed. Will continue to come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secoinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
22
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a neat as a pin older motor court- The rooms have cute decorations that I think are made on site. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The kitchenette was well stocked but there's only a Microwave to cook with.
The best thing was the walk out the back to a near by bench over looking the harbor entrance. The was a pod of Grey Whales gamboling there and we watched them for hours. You could easiliy see them there without binoculars. I'd say late afternoon would be the best time to look.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful accommodations. The house was just perfect! The views from the many windows were spectacular. We could enjoy our coffee and gaze out at the ocean in the comfortable reclining chairs. The kitchen even had a view. All the rooms were nicely decorated. We definitely would stay here again.

Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetterThanBowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Gardner house, and while pricey the access to the views and sounds of the surf were priceless. It was an absolute pleasure to watch the fishing fleet leaving the harbor every morning, the crashing of the waves, and the whales feeding in the bay. The house was remarkably comfortable, having recliners and a large couch. Everything was clean and accommodating, even for our dog. Will definitely do this place again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I made reservations with Rick by phone. He told me that I would be charged $25 for the deposit and that they had a 72 hour cancellation. We called to cancel more than 72 hours in advance. They charged me $25 per day for a total of $75! When I protested they told me that their policy for cancellation is on the internet website. Duh....I didn't make reservations on line. They were rude to me and hung up on me. Please don't stay here. They won't help you if there is an issue. Rude..rude. rude

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fithianld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trollerslodge, Owner at Trollers Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
this is on our website & is explained to each guest when making a reservation. CANCELLATION POLICY:

Reservations made within 72 hours of arrival are charged the full amount in advance. No refunds.

For reservations made more than 72 hours in advance of arrival, a non-refundable deposit is required. We apply that deposit to your balance on arrival.

If you cancel, we keep the deposit as a service charge for cancelling.

If you give us less than 72 hours notice you are charged for the entire stay.

Deposit amount:

Trollers Lodge rooms and suites: $25 per night reserved
Oceanfront homes: $50 per night reserved
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We loved the location and the room appeared clean until mice started showing up! The first one ran by my feet in the kitchen. The other two ran across the floor in the living room. I called management and he said I must have left the door open and let them in, no refund on any of the $175 a night for two nights, plus AFTER we leave he will exterminate! No wonder they asked for full payment up front and for two nights! Rude and unprofessional!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Confauv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trollerslodge, Owner at Trollers Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
This guest was in a ground-floor apt. in an oceanfront house that we have managed for over 14 years. This is the first time anyone has claimed to see mice. The guest's request was for an immediate discount at 10PM on the 2nd night of their stay because they saw one mouse.
They did not request a different place to spend the night., just demanded a discount or would post a bad review.
After they left yesterday morning we put traps and bait in the apt. and adjacent garage and boiler room. We have found no evidence of rodent droppings and still no mice in the traps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a great little hotel! We knew about it from an earlier visit with family who stayed here so when we needed a place to stay with relatives visiting from CO, this was an easy choice. It is a very good value. Very nicely furnished kitchenette. More space than we expected (#10 facing west). Comfortable beds - everything you need. Bathroom was small, but not a problem for us. Great place to stay with a dog. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: West side room was great for dog walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovnlifeonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.5 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Channel House
Channel House
#2 of 7 in Depoe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trollers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trollers Lodge

Property: Trollers Lodge
Address: 355 SW Highway 101, W side of 101 At Graham St., Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9634
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel, owner occupied and operated. We also manage several oceanfront homes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing