We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, view, view, all about the view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“View, view, view, all about the view”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The location of this place is amazing - right on the ocean with waves crashing/bashing - easy walk to get down to the water too, for a little tide pooling. As for the motel, it's not amazing, not terrible, just fine and affordable (some rooms w/kitchenettes too) when what you really want to do is just watch the tide go in and out. . . there is a decent bar/ restaurant at the hotel which is convenient and a slightly run- down but charming indoor pool and hot tub that we have always enjoyed for a nice hot soak before bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXtraveller707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    125
    44
    35
    22
See reviews for
73
196
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I've stayed at the Surfrider before, they have gorgeous views from all the rooms, but this time it didn't quite live up to my memories.

The view was still great, but the room seemed unnaturally warm. I kept checking the thermostat.
The room was comfortable, but felt a bit out of date. Nice, but not outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had an excellent room with a view, jacuzzi and fireplace. We were told it was the second best room in the resort, and we loved it! I think they offer amazing value for the price, and the room was definitely up-to-date. We were so happy to have a big TV with DVD player so we could watch some movies once the sun went down. Sure, the restaurant is kind of meh, but the staff are really nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanmight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was fabulous. The restaurant was only so-so. Would stay there again, but probably wouldn't eat there again. Food was only luke warm and small portions and a bit spend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canarycream1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etna, WY
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent two nights at the Surfrider with our son, daughter-in-law, and our two young grandchildren. We had a two bedroom/two bathroom unit with a small kitchenette. The price was very reasonable but the room was a bit worn and outdated. The view, however, was out of the world gorgeous. We had overcast, misty weather but it didn't matter because being right on the coast with easy access to the beach made it perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santpoort
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We spent a Thursday night at the Surfrider in Depoe Bay. It is situated just outside of Depoe Bay and from the property you see only the lovely coast and sea - not a strip mall in sight. This is what I think of when I think of an overnight on Hwy 1. The room was a fair size, fridge, microwave, love seat, table and 2 chairs (which makes a wonderful private dining place overlooking the sea). Smallish bathroom did not detract from the overall pleasure of the room and the balcony with 2 chairs completed a very comfortable set up. We did not experience any noise from adjoining rooms. The free wifi worked well. There is a very pleasant on-site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (take out available, no room service). This is an older property but well kept and the price offers good value. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJinHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

While not the lap of luxury, we had a very pleasant 5 days at the Surfrider. The room was nice, with an excellent view, and almost every room has a nice view and deck. The recreation facilities were good, a nice pool/sauna/hot tub. The exercise and rec room were basic, and a bit old fashined. As a plus (to me) there were a few free retro video games... I got to relive some arcade favorites (younger folks might not get the charm of that). The exercise room had an excellent view and it was really cool to work out while watching the ocean.
The restaurant served basic, but excellent, food (everything we tried was very tasty). Not gourmet, but very good and the service was good.
The BEST part is the the direct access to some of the best tidepool and and agate beaches in the region. We loved being able to just run down and explore..
The only downside was that the housekeeping was... idiosyncratic. They never quite did everything the room needed. They would bring new towels and cups, but not make the bed. Or they would make the beds and bring towels, but not replace cups. This was more amusing than angering, but some people might not like that.
Overall this was a nice pleasant place and will will go back. Aside from housekeeping, everyone worked very hard to make us welcome and give us a good time. A good family place to stay, and central to Newport and Lincoln City.

Room Tip: No bad ones really, the big houses had no view but were well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lagasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
376 reviews
3.9 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
361 reviews
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
684 reviews
14.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,044 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing