We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view I have every had of the ocean.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best view I have every had of the ocean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Took a few days off, needed some beach time. The Surfrider Resort hotel was "okay" but the ocean views made up for any problems we had. This is the only place I know where you can enjoy a great sunset all from your hotel bed. In this case, LOCATION, LOCATION paid off.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank phillip1961red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    121
    42
    33
    20
See reviews for
66
190
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here last summer and chose to stay again, because we liked it so much. The restaurant is still lacking a little, a tad expensive and not the greatest quality. but we did only eat breakfast and can't judge lunch or dinner. But the room was clean and spacious and we could watch the ocean from our balcony. We could walk right down to the tidepools. We also had more family staying in the two bedroom suite and it had a living room large enough to fit us all for games and hot cocoa. The stairs to the beach would be tricky for kids and my 87 year old parents couldn't use them.

Room Tip: all of the rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canarycream1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We first came to the Surfrider 24 years ago and were immediately captivated by the view from our room of the endless Pacific Ocean and the perfect sunset. Our room was large with doors opening upon a balcony above the cliffs and was extremely well equipped. 24 years later much has changed, the hotel is larger, the rooms not quite so generous but the view and the sunset were as stunning as ever. Now we had to share our balcony with the room next door and it could only be accessed via strange double door which could lead to privacy issues. 24 years ago the restaurant was excellent, now it is the hotel's weak spot. The menu was limited and unimaginative and the service rather slow. The male reception staff were particular friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
481 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

It is now owned by Clarion. Right on the beach. Sea lions sunbathe on the rocks behind the hotel. Great views. The gas fireplace was nice since it was cold & rainy. The staff was very nice. The restaurant was great for lunch. You get a 10% discount if you show your room key. Overall it was a great location, a nice, not real luxurious, room with a frig & micro wave. A large jaquzzi tub in the bathroom. They have an enclosed outdoor pool but you have to walk outside to get there.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our family loves this place. We have been coming to this place for the past twenty years plus; stayed here on our honeymoon and bring our whole family here every time we stay on the Oregon Coast - so many treasured memories. The resort is rustic but very clean. A family feeling not like the other resorts on the Oregon Coast where they are more interested in the bottom line than the feel of the costal experience. With all the various room accommodations, we always have the perfect conditions for whatever situation we need during our stay. The prices are more than reasonable. The staff is professional and friendly. The restaurant is excellent with great service, wonderful staff and great fresh-prepared local ingredients; seafood dishes are amazing. In addition, since it is located away from the many commercial resorts, it is as if it has private beach access. We have seen Bald Eagles, sea lions, starfish, whales; collected several agates and shells, and even saw a blue crab on the beach. We have spent many memorable times on the beach watching beautiful sunsets roasting marshmallows over a fire on the sandy beach directly below the resort. There is a State park just south of the resort, but we have never felt over-crowed on the beach. Location is perfect - just north of Depot Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport - only minutes away from the most wonderful places to visit on the Oregon Coast. This is the only place we will stay in this area.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
328 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a hard review to do. The location is 5 stars. The views from the rooms are stunning views of the Pacific -- I really recommend a second floor room for this. There is great access to the beach from the hotel property down some admittedly steep stairs. The rooms are of a good size and are clean and well maintained. The staff was helpful and efficient. The pool is nice the hot tub might seat two people but barely. The problem is that while everything in the rooms is well maintained it is also very old and out of date. I would not be shocked to find out this was an old 1970s apartment building converted to a hotel based on decor and floor plans. The cabinets, doors, carpets and built in night stands have that sort of feel. The sofa bed in our suite is also nightmarish. Our 10 year old roughed it out but. A bigger child or an adult would be miserable. The hotel is being changed over to a Clarion Property - the folks who own comfort inn and Econo lodges which doesn't speak well for future improvement- as we speak ( the sign changed the second day we were here from Surfrider to Clairion).

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The accommodations get 4 stars....I loved the king-sized bed, fabulous view from our room in the adult building (I can't even tell you how many times I giggled over that nomenclature) but being child-free it was great to have no kids around us. (sleep=important!) Sarah at the check in desk was so helpful!!!!
Now, I am going to try to write a restaurant review...... let's just say not a 4 star experience.
Argh! I cannot write a separate review. so. the star rating goes down to 2 stars. I had the surf and turf, sent the over-well done steak back only to receive a tough "top sirloin" replacement from hell. I hesitated to say anything but due to the price of the dinner, I did. I was told "the chef must be in a bad mood"...... and that was that. wow.... the veggies were blah, the baked potato was fine. My husband's chicken fettuccine was more like a soup. He rarely complains about food, and he was sad.
the quality does NOT MEET THE PRICING.
Breakfast was OK...seafood omelet rocks---but both those plates were lukewarm.
Dinner the previous night was OK but again my husband's salmon was lukewarm. My dungeness fettuccine was fine, soupy but tasted OK.
Our servers all three meals were really nice, that's not the concern. The views are STELLAR---can't be beat.
but don't don't don't waste your money on the top sirloin and seafood plate. and don't bother airing your concerns, they fall on deaf ears and to me that means that these wonderful servers do not have the support of the management and owners.
FOUR STARS for the Accommodations
1/2 Star for the food,
sadly, that averages out to a total of two stars, doing math my way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marymo362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
3.8 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
6.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
9.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing