We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fully enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first time for our 10th anniversary. We weren't overly excited about the last 3 hotels we stayed at for previous anniversaries, but were immediately pleased when we arrived at Surfrider this year. We walked into the lobby and were warmly greeted. The lobby was welcoming and clean. Loved the view we saw of the ocean when we walked in the door of our room and I loved the flowers in bloom along the cliff. The room was very clean. We were surprised to see a shared door to the deck, but our deck was fairly private with partitions and the neighbors were nice and we actually only saw them once. We fully enjoyed our relaxing time on the deck and going down to the beach and wish we had stayed longer. We are coming back next year.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms can hear foot steps from upper level rooms, shared access door to deck, but priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Surfrider is now owned by Clarion Hotels and as such happens so do some staff changes. My first issue was the polite lecture about no smoking in the rooms.....I said we don't smoke...we were still told what would happen if we did...gotta love those subtle threats when you check-in. The room....here I go..... the phone line/jack was cut because of the new carpet, the lights above the bathroom sink did not work, it took two of us to pull the water faucet on to take a shower, there were three end tables and two occasional chairs in the living area, no couch, the murphy bed that was there had been removed with a half has paint job on the wall where it had stood, and the wi-fi on both of our lap tops did not work in the room. So we went to the front desk to test our lap tops and let the lovely lady behind the counter know our frustration. She was very polite and was already aware of the issues, and she did give us the managers card. Hmmmmm....since it was the 4th of July weekend we assumed there were no other rooms to switch to. In addition as we continue to test our lap tops in the lobby to try to trouble shoot a signal, not 1 but 2 others came in to check out....one because of mold issues and the other because of similar issues in there room like ours. I love the location, I love the view, the rest/bar staff are great. There was no possible way to enjoy the suite we were in, the occasional chairs were very uncomfortable, we brought in the Adirondack Plastic chairs from the deck to sit on, we had friends stop by to visit and we had to leave the room and go elsewhere to be comfortable to visit. So, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Section 4 is the most updated with king beds. Perfect for couples and best rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloydclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is one of those little out-of-the-way gems on the coast, situated above Fogarty State Park with easy access to the beach via stairs. To the north is Lincoln City and to the south is Depot Bay. Most rooms have a great view and balconies/patios to enjoy it. Add a pool for the kids and it's hard to miss. Only drawback is that the place is in need of some updating. It's starting to look a little worn past the point of "charming". It was recently taken over by Clarion, which can hopefully put some money into it without losing the character.

Room Tip: Get a second-story room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Took a few days off, needed some beach time. The Surfrider Resort hotel was "okay" but the ocean views made up for any problems we had. This is the only place I know where you can enjoy a great sunset all from your hotel bed. In this case, LOCATION, LOCATION paid off.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank phillip1961red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here last summer and chose to stay again, because we liked it so much. The restaurant is still lacking a little, a tad expensive and not the greatest quality. but we did only eat breakfast and can't judge lunch or dinner. But the room was clean and spacious and we could watch the ocean from our balcony. We could walk right down to the tidepools. We also had more family staying in the two bedroom suite and it had a living room large enough to fit us all for games and hot cocoa. The stairs to the beach would be tricky for kids and my 87 year old parents couldn't use them.

Room Tip: all of the rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canarycream1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We first came to the Surfrider 24 years ago and were immediately captivated by the view from our room of the endless Pacific Ocean and the perfect sunset. Our room was large with doors opening upon a balcony above the cliffs and was extremely well equipped. 24 years later much has changed, the hotel is larger, the rooms not quite so generous but the view and the sunset were as stunning as ever. Now we had to share our balcony with the room next door and it could only be accessed via strange double door which could lead to privacy issues. 24 years ago the restaurant was excellent, now it is the hotel's weak spot. The menu was limited and unimaginative and the service rather slow. The male reception staff were particular friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It is now owned by Clarion. Right on the beach. Sea lions sunbathe on the rocks behind the hotel. Great views. The gas fireplace was nice since it was cold & rainy. The staff was very nice. The restaurant was great for lunch. You get a 10% discount if you show your room key. Overall it was a great location, a nice, not real luxurious, room with a frig & micro wave. A large jaquzzi tub in the bathroom. They have an enclosed outdoor pool but you have to walk outside to get there.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
395 reviews
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
826 reviews
14.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
368 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range: £70 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" famous for whale watching or reserve a trip for deep sea fishing. Visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, Ripley's Believe it or Not and the wax Museum. We are within a few miles of golfing, kayaking and waterfall hiking trails. There is no need to leave the Surfrider at all to simply watch the resident pod of whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean from the comfort of your room or the restaurant and bar. The beach access takes you down to search for agates, make a beach fire and watch the waves crash into the unique rocky outcropping. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 80 people and full catering available for weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing