We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views, and comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome views, and comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had the opportunity to stay here on a recent visit to the beautiful Oregon coast. We had a king sized bed with a gas fireplace in the room, plus a wet bar. The bed was extremely comfortable with nice sheets. Plus, the room was very clean and although it was a bit dated, you really don't notice since it was so clean and well maintained. Now, the point of this room is of course the view. And what a view it is. You have a wide expanse of the ocean crashing onto the rocks below. You can watch the waves come in all night, in fact it was such a pleasing experience, we slept with the curtains wide open to enjoy it. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained, and you can make your way down to the beach through stairs on the property.
The beach below the resort is a great one for exploring. There is a cove to your left, and then a multitude of tidal pools right below the hotel. There is also a restaurant and bar on site, although we didn't have the opportunity to try them out.

Room Tip: Get one facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    121
    42
    33
    20
See reviews for
66
190
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I am posting this a little late. We stayed in early November for 5 days. We were in building #4 on the third floor. Ocean view is the main reason we go to Surfrider. This place is second to none and building #4 is the best at Surfrider. The breakfast's were also a joy with a great view of Fogarty creek and the ocean. We felt that there were no major setbacks with the association with Clarion Hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL4P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Surfrider in Depoe Bay! What a gem! Great value for money-amazing view of the sea, fireplace, kitchenette, comfy kingsize bed and two soft chairs looking out the bay window at the sunset! There is a balcony too. Loved it. We were on the second floor in the last room in the last building-privat and quiet. We'll be back--thanks Mr. Thomason for the great stay and care!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PilgrimStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gtown, OR
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The 2 things about this motel that made it worth the stop is A. the spectacular view and B. the food in the dining room. Probably one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in and the bathroom needs much upgrading. You don't have room to change your mind. The entire property is old and in much need of repair. We've driven by this place many times over the years we've been coming to the Oregon coast, and have always wondered what it was like, given the amazing view and the delicious food. BUT, now that we know, we'll be staying in other places but will continue to stop in here for what I consider to be the best clam chowder around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2sing4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This a a budget priced oceanfront resort we have not stayed at, but have visited the dining room for breakfast on several occasions during our Oregon coast trips. The view of the surf and shore is spectacular, and the breaklast is very good --they even have some senior price entrees. Pleasant, attentive wait service personneol.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salesproSanDiego_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had arrived Sunday, Sept.29,2013 and left Wednesday Oct. 2, 2013. The room had tears in the carpet in front of the bar, the caulking around the tub was not together in many spots, the shower head ring was away from the wall to leave the hole exposed,@ 1pm the first day, we had to call to request to have the maid clean our room. The second day, she came and asked us what we needed done We asked for an arm chair to sit in as they have a loveseat as it is hard to get up and down from because it is too soft. The cleaning lady had called the office while in our room to see about getting this chair for us. After the call, she told us that they would bring us a chair after the man got off of his lunch. 2 and a half hours later,we called the office regarding and were told they wouldn't be bringing one. They didn't have the courtesy to call us. We decided to use the hottub and went across the lot in swim gear only to find it empty because it was needing parts. We use the Surfrider when we go to the beach, but it seems to be a continual problem for them to keep the swimming pool and hottub running..either one or the other isn't working. We were not informed of the hotub problem when we confirmed our reservation. Tell us upfront aout things not working so that we can schedule other things ahead of time instead of wasting our time waiting for a chair or pool or hottub not working. Although the room has a microwave, they no longer have plates or silverware in the rooms. They say it is a healt issue.. I say it is a CHEAP problem

Room Tip: check the nearby establishments..we should have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Sc
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great view with fireplace, mini kitchen, incredible view and plenty of room. Incredible value for less than $100 a night. Heated pool, sauna and hot tub in glass building as well. No breakfast included but resturant on grounds.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same view. Your only choice is whether you want a garden tub or a fireplace. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
3.8 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
6.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
6.2 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing