We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location needs restoration!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here some years ago and it was to die for, new, fresh and the view was right on a Cliff overlooking the ocean, now it still has the view, but is in need of a complete restoration, rooms tired and worn, doors banged and damaged, restaurant tired. But still has the view, and a fireplace in room and comfort tops on bed, price is high for what you get. Friendly staff in both hotel and restaurant.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wendell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were whale watch volunteers at Boiler Bay and this was a very convenient and pleasant place to stay. Really nice access to an uncrowded beach and state park. Restaurant was good for breakfast, not superb for dinner, although service was excellent . Lived the ocean view. Happy to recommend this as a nice place to stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had the opportunity to stay here on a recent visit to the beautiful Oregon coast. We had a king sized bed with a gas fireplace in the room, plus a wet bar. The bed was extremely comfortable with nice sheets. Plus, the room was very clean and although it was a bit dated, you really don't notice since it was so clean and well maintained. Now, the point of this room is of course the view. And what a view it is. You have a wide expanse of the ocean crashing onto the rocks below. You can watch the waves come in all night, in fact it was such a pleasing experience, we slept with the curtains wide open to enjoy it. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained, and you can make your way down to the beach through stairs on the property.
The beach below the resort is a great one for exploring. There is a cove to your left, and then a multitude of tidal pools right below the hotel. There is also a restaurant and bar on site, although we didn't have the opportunity to try them out.

Room Tip: Get one facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I am posting this a little late. We stayed in early November for 5 days. We were in building #4 on the third floor. Ocean view is the main reason we go to Surfrider. This place is second to none and building #4 is the best at Surfrider. The breakfast's were also a joy with a great view of Fogarty creek and the ocean. We felt that there were no major setbacks with the association with Clarion Hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RL4P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Surfrider in Depoe Bay! What a gem! Great value for money-amazing view of the sea, fireplace, kitchenette, comfy kingsize bed and two soft chairs looking out the bay window at the sunset! There is a balcony too. Loved it. We were on the second floor in the last room in the last building-privat and quiet. We'll be back--thanks Mr. Thomason for the great stay and care!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PilgrimStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The 2 things about this motel that made it worth the stop is A. the spectacular view and B. the food in the dining room. Probably one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in and the bathroom needs much upgrading. You don't have room to change your mind. The entire property is old and in much need of repair. We've driven by this place many times over the years we've been coming to the Oregon coast, and have always wondered what it was like, given the amazing view and the delicious food. BUT, now that we know, we'll be staying in other places but will continue to stop in here for what I consider to be the best clam chowder around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luv2sing4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This a a budget priced oceanfront resort we have not stayed at, but have visited the dining room for breakfast on several occasions during our Oregon coast trips. The view of the surf and shore is spectacular, and the breaklast is very good --they even have some senior price entrees. Pleasant, attentive wait service personneol.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salesproSanDiego_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 4 in Depoe Bay
398 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
371 reviews
14.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
744 reviews
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
848 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range: £70 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" famous for whale watching or reserve a trip for deep sea fishing. Visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, Ripley's Believe it or Not and the wax Museum. We are within a few miles of golfing, kayaking and waterfall hiking trails. There is no need to leave the Surfrider at all to simply watch the resident pod of whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean from the comfort of your room or the restaurant and bar. The beach access takes you down to search for agates, make a beach fire and watch the waves crash into the unique rocky outcropping. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 80 people and full catering available for weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing