We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dated hotel with an expensive view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
paisley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dated hotel with an expensive view”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews hoping it was as nice as everyone said it was. The room was dated and in much need of an update. The bed was hard and squeaked with every move.The bathroom was full of mold in the grout and on the shower curtin. Spider webs through out.The only thing going for this hotel is the view. Having spent over $160 I would have been better off sleeping in my car next to the beach. Will not stay here again nor do I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boonies97636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    125
    44
    35
    21
See reviews for
73
195
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halsey, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We took our 2 young kids and stayed one night for a quick get away. It is very quiet there is an indoor pool and a great restaurant. You get a discount of 10% at the restaurant if you stay at the resort. We have been coming here for years. Is has been bought by Clarion and I don't feel that it is kept up as well as in the past. The hot tub was broke and the doors into the restaurant were broke. But we still had a great time. The pool was warm and the rooms have dvd players, microwaves, refrigerator and a gas fireplace. We will definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank KariBowers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We usually stay in Lincoln city but wanted to be right on the ocean and thought we'd branch out.
Staff both on phone in person very nice and competent. We had a top floor room, which was 2 flights, no elevator(:
Room itself, very clean a little dated in places but nice flat screen and beautiful view. Our biggest complaint was that wifi was spotty at best. 2 other points: it had a fireplace but it was mostly blocked by a large PC of furniture oddly placed. The rooms do have balconies but you access them through a shared door in the rear of the room that faces the room next door. Our neighbors were a young couple who enjoyed a vigorous romantic weekend complete with whooping loudly and left the door to their room open so we felt like voyeurs if we wanted to enjoy the balcony. Luckily they slept in so the morning the coast was mostly clear. Rates seem to vary dramatically.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJDbiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location to the beach was excellent. Our view of the sunset was breathtaking. The room was large and had a fireplace, which we used. We were able to see a couple of wild seals from our window. They kept entertained us for about an hour as we had our coffee. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This place was a great find. Must try to get room on second floor facing the ocean. Great view of the sunset. Can't beat watching it while sitting out on the balcony. Front desk was extremely helpful. Room was immaculate and seemed to be very spacious. All of that for only $117 including taxes on a holiday weekend. Great value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyTes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We went over for a wedding and ended up staying three nights. The
Night time manager was super nice and always saw to it we had everything we needed. We ended up calling and waking him for more blankets and he delivered them to our room. The view was stunning! The pool was super nice. Liked the fact it actually had a deep end. The price was a lot less than other motels that had horrible views and no balconies. I won't stay anywhere else when I am in the area. Great experience! :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Horses4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Last minute decision to head to the coast. We have a very enjoyable time at the Surfrider Resort. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome.. the room was clean, the food on the premises was great. We enjoyed ourselves and plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
371 reviews
3.9 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
361 reviews
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
680 reviews
14.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,039 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing