We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Room was fine and view was great. Room baloney was odd. The door opens right into your neighbors door and you share the entry.. Stairs to beach need to be redone. Nice location between Newport and Lincoln City. Restaurant was very nice and food was good.

Room Tip: Higher and building 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carterjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    125
    44
    35
    22
See reviews for
73
196
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I would have given a higher score but the rooms are not well appointed. We had a large abstract dessert painting on our wall, - I would give 5 stars for the view and the location. The pool was unexpectedly roomy and cozy warm. You might have a hard time getting the kids out.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Iswego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Sadly, a family member gave up his Choice points for us to stay the night on the coast here in one of our favorite areas, Depoe Bay. We were in Building 3 w a gorgeous view, but even the remarkable view couldn't force us to stay.
Issues: stained carpet, moldy smell, dirty room ( my sister-in law cleaned tables, mirrors and the sink which were greasy/toothpaste spotted) 1/4 inch of dust on the fan blades (it was a hot day and no air conditioning) filthy tub, broken faucet that was not screwed down. A real dump. Staff responded w apology but no remedy as they were booked solid (???) unless we wanted to stay at a house on the property which we viewed but was not much better. We packed up and left. Here's my advice- keep driving, the beach views just keep getting better.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coastcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Second time returning and as happy with the Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort as the first time. We always request a top floor. Building 4 is the newest with larger rooms are a little higher nightly rate. Biggest draw with the rooms are the ocean view and balcony with seating for two. This time we were able to see whales spouting right off the beach.
The rooms are small but clean, and even though there is no A/C, the room seems to cool at night for comfortable sleeping. We had a small refrigerator to keep snack items cold.
Wonderful beach to do all the thinks you want to do at the ocean. If you walk under the highway from the beach, you'll find a park with tables perfect for shaded picnics.
The evening restaurant-onsite meals are wonderful with the breaded sole and seafood fettuccine being our two favorites.
Depoe Bay itself is small, but Newport and Lincoln City are short drives away for more shopping variety.
A wonderful Ocean getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband, son and I stayed one night. The room was not clean; we found a pair of dirty socks under the bed, the jetted tub was cracked, nasty looking and the shower in it was strangely placed. The balcony and view was nice, restaurant was passable ( service was quite good), for the price there are many better options at the coast. We won't be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Accommodations are very nice. Ocean view room was an adequate size and clean if a little worn. I would recommend replacing the carpeting in the room and in the hall outside the room. Other than that, the room was clean and nicely furnished. Staff were friendly and courteous.
The restaurant was excellent. The food was delicious and portions were huge! Service in the restaurant was above par. They were so nice that even after we were seated at a table in the center of the room and one with a view opened up, they offered to move us to the nicer seating even through we at no point requested this. We had only one cocktail each but the bartender was cordial and treated us like we were the best customers he had ever served.
Overall, I would give this establishment, hotel and restaurant, an above average rating.

Room Tip: Although I think all are rooms with an ocean view, be sure to ask just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

On a last minute whim we got a great room with a balcony and oceanview for under 120 dollars. We have stayed there many times but first time since they went Clarion. They have a very nice ocean view restaurant. The indoor pool and hot tub are small but adequate. For the first time we were able to watch whales right from our balcony!!! I really liked the gas fireplace. There is beach access but you have to go down almost a 100 steps but worth it. At low tide there are tidepools right there.

Room Tip: balcony with oceanview and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#2 of 5 in Depoe Bay
374 reviews
3.9 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
361 reviews
10.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
681 reviews
14.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing