We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfrider Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surfrider Resort”
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This is a good place to relax and enjoy the view, at night you can hear the heartbeat of the sea, and by day you can be mesmerized by the sight and sound of the waves playing games along the shoreline. When I was there the access steps down to the beach were closed, but they should be open later in the summer for convenient beach access. Be aware, the prices in the restaurant are not cheep. I chose to eat elsewhere for this trip. If you should chose to stay at this lovely place along the Oregon coast. I do hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan42Ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    122
    42
    33
    20
See reviews for
68
191
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We checked out another lodging establishment in Depoe Bay that charges $231 for their least expensive room. We had all that and more at the Surfrider - king bed, jacuzzi tub, fireplace, big tv, and a view of the ocean that couldn't have been better. The resort is updating their rooms, and are doing a very nice job. With the restaurant and bar on site, you don't need to go anywhere once you park the car. Fogarty Beach State Park is below the resort and somewhat accessible from the property, but you'd be better off going through the park.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWWildTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed at the Surfrider for the view and were certainly not disappointed -- the view is incredible. You have a staircase that descends to a beach that, due to location, is practically private. The grounds were well kept and attractive. As the resort is tucked away from the main road, the nights are very quiet. The pool and spa are also a big plus.

The room was also extremely clean and well maintained. Everything had a nice sense of style and was comfortable. We've stayed a lot of places on the Oregon coast and many times hotels will have nice views, but the rooms will be less than clean; they'll have a dirty film and "skeeze" on everything you touch -- and this is for rooms that cost $150 a night. Not so with the Surfrider. It was extremely clean and was less than half that cost.

During our three-night stay, we had a couple of problems with our room that can only be attributed to pure bad luck. Each time, the staff was extremely helpful and completely accommodating. They responded immediately and made things right the first time. Then the manager comped our third night due to the slight inconvenience. Excellent service!

We will be back and highly recommend the Surfrider Resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxtrotPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
303 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We spend a Saturday night at this hotel on Feb 27, 2010. We found this hotel when we were planning our trip to go to Oregon. We flew out as a gift as we never had been to Oregon. We arrived on the night that the tsunami was supposed to come up from the earthquake in Chili. It didn't happen, but concerned us as we left from Baltimore that morning.
The hotel is very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and nice. Sure, it's not a Club Med Resort, but we didn't want that. The view is incredible. We walked down the steps in the morning to the beach. No one had been there that morning and we found a starfish and many other shells.
We didn't eat at the resturant on the property as we wanted to eat at Gracie's Sea Hag in Depoe Bay. We wished we could have stayed longer to explore everything, but were on a time limit. We really liked the Surfrider and would love to stay there again if we ever go back to Oregon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werbrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

The Bar closes at 9 PM.
The Internet barely works.
Reception for TV was bad.
Food was Good and so was the Pool.
The Hot Tub could use some work.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pipedope290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfstop, front desk manager at Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2010
Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate your input.

In Depoe Bay area, there's very limited of cable/internet service company available. We had very hard time accepting it. Fortunately, there's this TV/internet service company outside of Depoe Bay approaching us recently and made a proposal that we thought this might be our possible chance of getting better TV reception and internet connection. We've already signed up for it, and they are just starting to set up the antenna for the internet access. Then in a couple of weeks, switch all the TV cables.

Hopefully we will have better TV reception, and more efficient internet connection than what we have now.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lee
Surfrider Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

After leaving our disastrous experience in Lincoln City, another hotel called Surfrider for us to check on rooms. They have 50 rooms, ALL are ocean view. We got a jacuzzi suite for the same price as a regular room; they gave us a discount on the fact that we had bad service at another hotel. Staff is awesome; very accommodating. In fact, they didn't charge us to rent movies from the front desk. The onsite restaurant was perfect. We had an ocean view and the wait staff was wonderful. This hotel will Always have our business when we are on the coast.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revmichaelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in the adult section in a corner room, very quiet and relaxing. Its not a large or elegnant room but has a wonderful view of the ocean and the room was very clean. We went in the off-season so the rates were cheap and very few rooms rented out. Very friendly staff, we enjoyed the few meals we ate at the restaraunt. One of the nicer trips we have had in a while of course due to the fact there we no rude people around us, or out of control kids running around. We plan on going back every year after this as long as the place maintains its same standards.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Depoe Bay
3.9 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort

Property: Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Address: 3115 N Highway 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Depoe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Depoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfrider Resort is nestled atop a bluff overlooking Fogarty Creek and the Pacific Ocean, located just two miles north of Depoe Bay, between Lincoln City and Newport. While at the Surfrider, visit Depoe Bay, the world's "Smallest Harbor" and famous for whale watching. Reserve a trip for deep sea fishing, or visit Newport for the outstanding Oregon Coast Aquarium, 3 miles north for golfing, or simply take in the sights at the Surfrider where whales play, eagles soar, seals nap, and the sun sets over the ocean. We have banquet rooms that can hold up to 100 people. Weddings, birthdays and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfrider Resort Depoe Bay
Surfrider Hotel Depoe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing