We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Detroit Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Place to Stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend.

The good: Clean nice rooms, good TV and programming, GREAT bathroom, nice beds, and we could even bring our little furry friend. Friendly staff that even brought us some charcoal lighter fluid when we needed it. Very close to everything including the marina we used to rent a boat.

The not so good: The kitchen is Teeniny. We managed to make some food (which is important, because the restaurant scene is a bit meager) but the sink is a bathroom sink, so rinsing and washing was a bit challenging. They could do a bit better with the central courtyard gravel. Some grass would be nice.

Overall, I'd stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyn_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I am tempted to tell you that this is a horrible place, mean staff, bed of nails to sleep on, that's if you can sleep with all the loud music, people wandering from room to room....Just one big party. Oh, and the sheriff has been here time and time again!

NOT A CHANCE!!! The staff is helpful, courteous and so friendly. The room we had was neat as a pin, nothing out of place and so inviting. After a hot shower to wash off a full day of driving I could'nt wait to lay down. Wow! I have stayed in the nicest places in Vail, Beaver Creek, Snowmass Village and the like. I can't say that these others could beat the comfortable beds we have here to enjoy. Best part is the price of lodging, here your stay is $600 +/- less than those other places! It is soooo quiet and comfortable that we are going to add another 3-4 days to our stay. This is a place you remember so you can return year after year. Not like the Courtyard where you can't remember which one you stayed at. We will be back and we will tell friends family and strangers!

Well I wish I could stay and tell you more but my wife has just finished a long hot soak in the jet tub and its time to sit in front of the fireplace and act like we are teenagers again, you know what I'm saying! When you're in your 50's and find a coomfy clean lodge to both act your age and get jiggy then its well worth noting! So come enjoy a very memorable stay at The Lodge at Detroit Lake.....May God Bless.....Peace Out!

Room Tip: Every room here has one quality or another. Come often and try each room, you simply can not go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Room 8 and we were very pleased with cute and high quality room finishing. Room looked newly done, with built-in gas fireplace, large plasma TV above it, overhead fan, wall AC, whirlpool tub, and a nice refrig. Also had lots of wall receptacles for power. We loved this place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PriusPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you're expecting a 'lodge' anywhere near Detroit lake, this isn't it. BUT, this is a well-priced, recently-updated, very clean and well-run motel, close to lake activities as well as excellent hikes in the Opal Creek Wilderness. It sits right on the highway, and there are no walking-distance access points to the lake. Property manager Raphael is a great guy to deal with, very friendly and eager to provide anything you need. There is a decent on-site restaurant, one of only a few in the very small town. We found it a bit rowdy in the evening in the common BBQ space out front, as folks came back from their day on the lake, but it quieted down and was not noisy after dark. For me this is an ideal 'pit-stop' place, or jump-off point for hiking destinations, not a destination in itself, as would be an actual lodge hotel. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The low-end room is absolutely no frills, which was fine for us, but there are fancier rooms which m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikerjcpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our room was comfortable and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Room had a surpisingly large flat screen TV with a large selection of channels from which to choose. Staff (Rafael) was very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camrose
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We chose the 'economy room' of the two choices available that evening, but found a real little gem with 'authentic' push button electric stovetop and matching wall oven. Ok we didn't use them, but they were neat to inspect. The bed was comfy, everything was clean, I think the slate floors are such a great idea. Our hosts were very helpful when they saw us with maps spread every which way on the lawn, making the next couple of days route plan. A very relaxed, comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed there on the way to the valley from Bend, room was very cosy and warm.Staff was very friendly and accomidating. Jacuzzi tub was very nice. Bend was sooo comfortable! Fireplace heater is a nice touch!Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lodge at Detroit Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Detroit Lake

Property: The Lodge at Detroit Lake
Address: 175 Detroit Ave, Detroit, OR 97342-9700
Region: United States > Oregon > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Detroit Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Willamette National Forest between Sisters and Salem, this lodge is 2 miles from Detroit Lake State Park in the heart of Detroit. These newly remodeled rooms at The Lodge at Detroit Lake include wood cabinets, furniture, and wood paneled walls with vaulted ceilings. Above the beautiful corner fireplaces are 42" flat screen satellite TVs. The bathrooms contain 6' jetted-tubs. The Suite contains 2 fireplaces, 3 flat screen TVs, living room, full kitchen, a king and queen sized bed, and a double 6' jacuzzi tub. Each room has a kitchenette with refrigerator, freezer, microwave and coffee station. Barbecue facilities are available. Guests have access to on-demand hot water and high speed free Wi-Fi. Detroit Lake Lodge offers an on-site restaurant. Free parking is available and the lodge contains a back-up generating power system. The Breitenbush Retreat and Conference Center is 11 miles from the lodge. Guests are 22 miles from Elkhorn Valley Golf Course. Hotel Rooms: 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Detroit Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Detroit Lake Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing