We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Discovery”
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diamond
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Diamond for three nights a week ago. I feel so fortunate to have made it my choice as a base for exploring the Steens Mountain, the Alvord Desert, and Diamond Valley/Malheur Refuge area. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, both in the room and in the common areas. There is a beautiful, screened porch that wraps around two sides of the hotel, with many inviting chairs and tables for quiet reading or poring over maps. We had dinner at the hotel all three nights. The food was delicious, abundant, and served with smiles. We really enjoyed having the chance to get to know fellow travelers, and share local discoveries, around family-style dinner tables. Finally, the service was attentive and friendly—truly top-rate. The Hotel Diamond is a family-owned and run inn, with four siblings doing most of the work cooking, serving, greeting, answering questions, giving travel advice, etc. They offer a truly friendly and thoughtful brand of customer service that started with my initial phone inquiry and lasted all the way through check-out. I recommend the Hotel Diamond very highly, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

This review is only for dinner at the hotel. My husband and I ate dinner at this historic hotel one night while visiting nearby Malheur refuge. I had read about the hotel and the family style dinner that could be reserved. It turned out to be a lovely dinner. The hotel is located in a remote area, the town of Diamond has a population sign that says "5" people! The dining room was nice and homey with several large tables. Everyone gathered together at the same time for the meal. We ate at a table with two other couples, one couple from Portland and another from Boise, Idaho. It was fun conversing with and getting to know them. Before we sat down, a large loaf of homemade bread on a cutting board was placed on each table with a knife. We helped ourselves to the very good bread and butter and then wait staff began putting the dinner items on the table. There is only one meal choice for dinner so you have to be willing to enjoy what is prepared for the evening you visit. I thought that was part of the charm of the place though. The night we visited the meal consisted of Caesar salad, quinoa, green beans, curried beef and pears and a beet relish. For dessert there was buttermilk pie with a large dollop of fresh whipped cream. It was all good homemade food served by friendly people. After dinner some of us went out to search for birds (snipes) in a nearby field. We did not find snipes but we did have great views of two Great Horned Owls and saw a beautiful full moon. There are hardly any places to eat in this part of Oregon so it was a treat to have such a nice meal and evening in the middle of the Oregon high desert. Price for the meal was about $25.00 each and also includes a beverage and coffee. I would definitely recommend if you are visiting in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Quiet, simple,yet a invigorating setting in the old West of Oregon.
Ulikely place to have such ambience and openness with a sense of real down to earth people and hard earned living. Diamond Hotel is a jewel in the High Desert country of South Eastern
Oregon.
Family style meals are reminiscient of the early days and such flavor and substance, one does not forget soon.
Not too easy to find but a Diamond in the ruff. Been there multiple times. Wanna go back.

Room Tip: Enjoy you pick of rooms, view, up or down., Private bath or shared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyellliis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel which was simple, quiet with easy access to driving tours featuring miles of wildlife habitat. Spectacular views are only minutes away by car. See real, working cowboys and huge herds grazing. Saw a golden eagle and the stars at night are breathtaking. Suppers were a great value as we ate family style with the other guests. Room was good deal for the price. Nothing fancy.

Room Tip: Get the room with the private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenicnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

While spending time in SE Oregon (Steens Mountain area), we visited the unique Diamond Hotel in the ghost town of Diamond about 45 miles southeast of Burns. The Malheur Wildlife Refuge is at their doorstep and bird watching is very popular in this area. The Diamon Hotel was built in 1898 and has about 8 rooms or so. Some rooms upstairs share a bathroom. Two rooms that were built on in the 1950's have their own baths and are quite large (suites 1 & 2). The hotel serves an adequate breakfast and grill lunches. The dinners were excellent and served family style. The food is home spun, as in barbequed ribs one night and great stew the following evening. They have an adequate wine selection as well. The staff is very attentive and there is "all you can eat " servings.
Our room was quite large and very comfortable. There is no television or phones in the room. During the night we heard the coyotes outside in the distance, but otherwise it was very quite. During the summer, the sky gives off quite a show of the stars.
If you enjoy history and old, but well kept and run hotels, give this place a try and don't miss the beautiful Steens Mountain loop during the summer. The historic French Glen hotel is just a half hour or so away.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1 or 2 as they have private baths and are larger than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rbaird_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have been coming to the Hotel Diamond for years. It has always been a pleasant stay. The location is remote, but the folks who run this small hotel are friendly. Owing to the remote location, they serve a dinner if you want it. You want it - they could serve anything and it would literally be the best dining option in 30 miles. Yet, they serve the best home-cooked meal you can imagine.

A special note on my recent visit. It was 97 F in Diamond (70 F on the The Steens Mountain - the purpose for my visit). They had AC! Who knew!

Room Tip: Room # 1 upstairs is inexpensive and is a corner room ... with AC if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at the Diamond Hotel so we could tour both the Diamond Loop with the Round Barn and the Steens Mountain Loop to get to the East Rim.
Awesome room with queen bed and a sitting area. We choose a room with a private bathroom. Air conditioning available with a screed in porch for our evening relaxation.
Dinner was amazing! Family style dinner with braised beef and roasted beets and potatoes. Beer and wine available upon request.
Quiet, relaxing and cool after a hot day of touring

Room Tip: two rooms with private baths down stairs, three rooms up that share to baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitbaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 49130 Main Street, Diamond, OR 97722
Region: United States > Oregon > Diamond
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diamond
Price Range: £36 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing