We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Repeat destination experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Repeat destination experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I traveled to The Balch Hotel from Portland, OR last week.
It was my first time and I joined a group of five other ladies!
Four of the gals had gone last year and had such a nice time, they wanted to return and invited two more.
It's such a lovely drive thru The Gorge...I never tire of the beautiful river scenery..
We met at The Baldwin in The Dalles for lunch and our lunches were really yummy and I love it there.
Great service, great food and great art! And general atmosphere!
We then visited The Dalles Bookstore. It is a charming, clean, well stocked and staffed gem!
We also enjoyed shopping in the Antiques Store next store...charming...we met a woman from N Carolina, who was traveling on a tour boat from Portland, OR t o Idaho!
We drove around admiring the beautiful Dalles-Dufur countryside of rolling golden wheat fields inter mixed with lush green orchards. Amazing beauty...stunning in a stark, yet rich, way..
We arrived at The Balch about 5:00.
Lovely Samantha got off her rider mower to check us in and haul our luggage upstairs (no elevator
My five friends stayed on the 3rd floor and shared a bath.($89.00)
I'm a bit of a Princess (and I get up to use the facilities during the night ;-)) and stayed on the 2nd
floor with my own bath ($139.00). Charming little rooms each with their own quilt design and colors and antique furniture...very clean and comfy.
We stayed two nights. We had our wine and cheese outside on The Patio. We had brought our own, but they sell wine and will provide snacks too!
Later the first eve, the served us a wonderfully delicious Spinach Salad with fresh Hood strawberries and a Greek lemon chicken soup with homemade bread.
But, the chocolate cake that Samantha made herself and served with a salty caramel ice cream was over the top! So fun and delicious .
Next day, we had lunch in Maupin at The River Company.
We ate outside by the River and watched the rafts full of happy people float by.
Again charming place, great service and food.
I'm really not this easy to please!
We drove along the Deshutes River...take the access road as u lv the restaurant.
We found the petroglyphs. A Native American woman warden, who was checking fishing licenses was kind and knowledgeable and explained many historical and contemporarary facts to us about the area.
We sought and found Shears Falls and The White R Falls lovely!
Go! You'll have fun too!

Room Tip: #10 is where I stayed good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristenannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel has been lovingly restored. There's no mistake you're in a very old building, though. I once lived in a house that was roughly the same age, and like my old house, the plumbing is a little noisy and floors are creaky.But I will certainly stay here again!

We were in the area for the Pine Hollow Triathlon. I'm a dreadful swimmer, and I cannot swim with anything in my stomach. When Denise began describing the breakfast service while we were checking in, I told her we'd be leaving before breakfast and I couldn't eat after 6 a.m. She packed us "to go" breakfast boxes that were available at 6. I was already a nervous wreck - this was my first triathlon - so this gesture was an awesome display of amazing customer service, and I really appreciated it.

The grounds are gorgeous and well-maintained. The first floor - lobby, library, and dining room - are comfortable and well-appointed. The library is stocked with a variety of books, magazines, and games. While we can "unplug" anywhere, it's kind of nice to be somewhere where's there's no television and no phone in the room. (But of course, there's wifi, so you can keep in touch with the rest of modern world.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

It was an absolute delight to stay at the Balch Hotel. Samantha greeted us with fresh baked cookies as we registered and then escorted us to our room, explaining the layout and a bit of the background of this restored historical hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the view from the windows was beautiful. We chose a room with the bathroom across the hall, but ensuite rooms were available. A games and reading room was available for guest use. Breakfast was plentiful and was served in the restored dining room. The still warm cookies made a reappearance to see us on our way. Samantha and Jeff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the locality. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Historic Balch Hotel is on the National Historic Register and is a very cool old restored hotel. Some rooms have bathrooms in them and some have shared baths down the hall with sinks in the rooms. They have a state of the art kitchen and serve breakfast, the price included with your stay. Coffee is ready at "8:06". They push the brew button at 8:00 a.m. and it takes 6 minutes to brew. Breakfast is served from 9:00 to 10:00 a.m. Our menu included artichoke and spinach quiche, scones, hard boiled eggs with faces and sayings drawn on their shells, yogurt, home made granola, oranges, tangerines, apple juice, hot chocolate and coffee. The bed was comfortable, the landscaping was beautiful and the owners were knowledgable of the area and friendly. They sleep in the hotel also. The Past Time Saloon is across the street and is a log building filled with stuffed animal heads. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and have a full bar. Great place to visit and reminisce about "the Olden Days".

Room Tip: Unless you want to share a bathroom down the hall, ask for a room with a bathroom in it. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnmewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a romantic getaway ~ far away from technology and city lights. The owner/operators have thought about all needs and possible comforts. Samantha greats you with delicious, homemade cookies. All rooms are decorated individually ~ many having original works of art. Music plays downstairs. There are books and games in the salon. The Balch Hotel has been redone in a way to retain it's history.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skirwin, Owner at Balch Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for the glowing report! We love that people are moved by their experience to write reviews and share with others. These the best kinds of recommendations we can get. See you back on the sunny side soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here in August on the last night of a 9 day/2,700 mile motorcycle trip and, anticipating being road weary by this point, we splurged for the king suite room with the two person jacuzzi tub when we booked. It was sooo worth it, and the view from the room was beautiful. Everyone working there was super friendly, even helping me round up bubble bath and candles to surprise my very saddle soar wife.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCWingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you appreciate history, or character, or supporting small enterprise, or personalized attention from a sincere and friendly staff, then you should go out of your way to stay here.

If you prefer pre-fab, or cookie-cutter, or predictable, or plastic, or forced smiles by uniformed drones, you should not stay here.

This is a historic hotel in an antique building. You will have an old-timey experience and it will be wonderful, but some of the things you expect to find in modern lodgings will not be available. If this concerns you, call the hotel to ask them about whatever it is.

Room Tip: Remember that this is a historic hotel in an antique building. You will have an old-timey experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Respilosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufur
11.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
18.2 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
22.4 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
10.6 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balch Hotel

Property: Balch Hotel
Address: 40 Heimrich St, Columbia River Gorge, Dufur, OR 97021-3031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Dufur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dufur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel operating as a B&B! Relax. Reconnect. Rejuvenate. Come with a group for a fun gathering of friends, or choose a quiet romantic get-a-way for you and your sweetie. We hope to surprise you with this gem in the country. Visit the sunny side of Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Balch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balch Hotel Dufur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing