We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop for wine tasters” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dobbes Family Estate

Dobbes Family Estate
Ranked #8 of 29 things to do in Dundee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the hospitality of Dobbes Family Estate! We invite you to visit us on any day of the week in the welcoming environment of our tasting room to sample our collection of highly acclaimed wines: classic Pinot Noir, French-style Syrah and unique whites. We offer a variety of flights at our tasting bar and on our newly renovated patio. For guests seeking an intimate and educational wine experience, we invite you to join us for a winery tour or to book a seated private tasting experience in our Reserve Tasting Suite.240 SE 5th StreetDundee, Oregon 97115Hours: Open daily 11am-6pm
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stop for wine tasters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

My wife grabbed a bottle of "Really Good Wine by Joe" a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed it, so we put this winery on the list of places to visit on our trip to the Willamette Valley. We are glad we did. The tasting room is cozy and friendly. Our server was knowledgeable and personable. They didn't serve any of the "Wines by Joe, but featured their higher end wines, which were all excellent. Joe Dobbes came in to greet us and talk about his operation. This is definately a place to experience if you can.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dobbes Family Estate - a must in the Oregon wine country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Joe Dobbes is a talented humble wine maker. With his wife Patricia, one can not help feeling like part of the Dobbes family. They, as well as the staff, are charming and knowledgeable about the wines, food, and Oregon in general.

Joe has brought international experience and expertise back to his Oregon roots where he continues to pursue his passion for wine and all things authentically. His Family Estate wine continues to delight the palate and he even gets a little cheeky with his Wine by Joe label.

This winery is not to be missed, I can't recommend a visit enough!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank belina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Reds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Absolutely worth the stop! The staff is fantastic, and all of the wines are superb.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJnRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I've been to Dobbes/Wine by Joe (same winemaker and tasting room) several times. I'm always impressed by their variety in selection and quality of wine. The Wine by Joe label is in the lower price point range, yet still holds quality in taste. I also love that the tasting room stays open till 6, which is at least an hour later than most of the other local tasting rooms. The Dobbes pinots are great, some bold, some smooth. The Grenache Blanc is a nice suttle white, I prefer it fairly cold.
Definitely worth checking out on a wine tasting trip!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank anh_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wine tasting experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our tour guide through Oregon wine country made this our first stop of many, and it was a great experience. The wine was very good (ask for the '08 Pinot Noir) and the tasting room employees were great (ask for O'Ryan - I think that is his name, and he was the best wine guru i've ever met). If you ask, they may even give you a tour of the area where they make the wine.

If you are in the area and looking for a good wine tasting, i highly recommend stopping here (and asking for O'Ryan).

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank KevinInWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dobbes Family Estate also viewed

 

Been to Dobbes Family Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing