We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seclusion in the Dundee Hills”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seclusion in the Dundee Hills”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The beauty of the setting is beyond compare. It compares to being in Tuscany. Seeing the sunrise and set from our room, the master suite, was without doubt the highlight of our week long trip. The suns reflection off the vines was spectacular. We approached this trip not knowing what to expect and were impressed by the sweeping views, the privacy of the stay, and the wonderful walks thru the vines. We were there just after harvest and the vines had all turned golden and made the entire hillside picturesque. The Inn has nine bedroom/suites which each has a distinct personality. Our room was the largest with the best views and huge bath. Many of the other rooms had more romantic furnishings. Breakfasts were served by reservation in the dining room to accomodate each guests needs. Everything was prepared to order with the freshest of local ingredients including freshly laid eggs and homemade granola. Needless to say everything was delicious. Special arrangements could be made for late afternoon coffee, or prearranged picnic or cheese platters. Otherwise there is no food service available. There are refrigerators in the rooms. Traveling at night should be considered as the Inn is a short distance from Dundee and Newberg. We had a driver, which I thoroughly recommend. There is a wine tasting room, but it was not open during our stay. We did enjoy the time and energy Karen and Neil have put into this spectactular property. They respect your privacy and provide you with a quality stay.

Room Tip: First floor corner suite looks out with great views. Master suite exceptional views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We are always happy when a guest who is with us for their entire weeks long holiday is smiling when they leave and they tell you they will be back! Thanks for the great review and we can't wait to see you again when you get to return to "our piece of heaven".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    23
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
151
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Beautiful B&B in the middle of the Oregon wine country. Very quiet with sweeping views. Open areas both inside and out. A nice place to get away. They were working on a tasting room and that might change the flavor of the Inn during the day. We stayed in a room that had the sitting and bathroom on the one floor and the bedroom above. The interior circular stairway was tight and not easy to manage for those with hip/knee pain or who needed to get up in the middle of the night. The bed was very comfortable and the furnishings in sitting room worked well for two people. The outdoor patio was toward the circular driveway so it did not feel very private. The breakfast was very good and the availability of different types of teas was appreciated.

Room Tip: I do not remember the name of the room, but ask about stairs before you reserve. The small circular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We are so pleased that you were able to unwind in the hills of Dundee at our inn. Many guests compare our setting to those they have experienced in Tuscany. We are on very similar latitude as that area of Italy and thus the landscape and vegetation is so much the same. We hope you will be able to join us again in Oregon when travel brings you our direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Approaching the Black Walnut Inn, you feel like you’ve just been transported to Tuscany. The Inn sits on a hilltop overlooking the beautiful Dundee Hills, and the building is styled after an Italian villa, complete with a fountain in the courtyard. Proprietors Karen and Neil are welcoming and lovely, and are genuinely committed to your enjoyment of the Inn and surrounding area. There are lovely spots all around to enjoy the views and the peaceful setting—from the balcony outside your room, or from sitting areas sprinkled around the property. If the weather doesn’t permit outdoor seating, there’s a comfy living room inside. Make sure to enjoy at least one sunset here—the light playing over the grapevines and the surrounding hills is really magnificent. And you won’t go hungry—the gourmet breakfast that’s included is truly top-notch. Karen outdoes herself, providing at least 5 options on the breakfast menu for guests to choose from. One morning, we had a mushroom and cheese frittata and yogurt partfait, the next we had sausage biscuits and gravy (Karen’s own phenomenal recipe) and oatmeal with fruit and nuts. There are options for every kind of palate. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, the entire place has really high ceilings so everything is very roomy. We stayed in both Rapture and Master, and although the size of each room is dramatically different (Master is huge), both were very comfortable. Beds are firm without being too hard, and bedding is lovely—all cotton sheets with a cotton quilt, plus a fluffy comforter if you need for cooler nights. No down that I could detect (I’m allergic). Karen is a wealth of information about the area, and will consult on restaurants and other resources. At her recommendation, we booked a personal tour with Jeff Petersen of Oregon Select Wine Tours, which was excellent. We hated to leave the Black Walnut Inn, and we can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: If you’re a late sleeper, consider choosing a room located far from the kitchen. Breakfast preparat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eg413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Oh, Biscuits and Gravy, it is that seasonal time of year again when it really hits the spot! We are pleased it hit the spot. Thanks for staying with us and we are hopeful we will see you again when you come to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you are looking for a small, personable and friendly inn in the heart of Willamette Valley, than the Black Walnut Inn is your destination. The inn is located a few miles off the main highway in Dundee in a secluded and beautiful countryside. This certainly adds to the charm of the inn.
Upon arrival we were greeted immediately by an extremely helpful and upbeat young man (I believe his name was Josh). He helped bring our luggage to our room while Karen gave us an overview of the inn. After we were settled, we ventured down to the tasting room since the inn has it's own vineyard. Great tasting and conversation with Neal. He has a fascinating story about he got involved in the vineyard and the inn- so please ask him. He was also gracious enough to invite my wife and I to take a stroll down the vineyard and taste a grape or two. I am certain that would never happen in Napa.
Breakfast was great but there is no wine and cheese reception in the afternoon as we have experienced with other inns. Prior to our stay at BWI, we stayed at Arch Cape where they did offer a social hour-great way to meet other guests. However, I should mention that my wife and I returned early one afternoon and Karen was extremely gracious by serving us a cheese platter and a glass of wine-classy touch.
We would definitely return to the inn but we would choose another room. We stayed in the Old World and the room was extremely small with a very limited view on the balcony. Also there was no closet in the room, just a pole protruding from the wall to hang clothes.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, I would not choose the Old World.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMiller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the wine and vineyard time here at the Black Walnut Inn. As a side note, we are located on exclusive farm use property and actually are not even supposed to provide cookies let alone cheese and crackers since we are an inn over two rooms...interesting land use laws and we continue to work in a thoughtful manner to move lawmakers forward for the good of tourism...we are glad you enjoyed the afternoon snacks at Arch Cape Inn...they have totally different zoning...and we are glad you enjoyed the afternoon sneaked snack too...we just are careful not too bend too many rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I visited the Northwest for the first time this summer and had heard great things about the Willamette Valley. I found the Black Walnut Inn as a result of waiting to book at the last minute and not having many other options available. When I arrived in OR a couple weeks later I couldn't have been happier to stumble along this beautiful and quiet Inn. The rooms were clean, spacious and bright. I wanted to buy the bedding before we left! Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating. And the breakfast included in our stay was DELICIOUS. I loved the feel of a small inn and how friendly and close the owners made you feel. Wine glasses, coffee and tea, fresh fruit and brownies were available in the main house and we took every advantage. They also provided brochures and info to area attractions. Coming from the day-to-day busy rush of Manhattan, this was the perfect escape. Go to relax, drink wine and take in some amazing views.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We are so glad we could be your holiday respite from what is probably a very busy life in the city. We are hopeful you left rested and refreshed from the beautiful Oregon countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I had never been to Oregon before. We spent two days in the wine country before heading to Bend. We have traveled extensively and this is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The views are fabulous and so are the rooms. The breakfasts are out of this world. The people that own this have great friendly personalities . We can hardly wait to take some of our to visit this fabulous inn and winery.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thanks for your kind words about our inn and vineyard! We hope to see you soon with your friends in tow...can't wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, wa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I dropped our daughter off at college, and stayed the night before returning to Seattle. An amazing evening and morn. Grounds and particularly the views are beautiful. Watched the sunset over the Coast Range to the west and the Easter sunrise from behind Mt Hood from our tower room. Loved the bed, room and especially the view. The breakfast was very good (this from a person who routinely skips them). Quiet, restful place with thoughtful, unobtrusive hosts.
We drank the offered wine in our room and bought 3 more bottles for special occasions. enjoyed them all.
Thanks, and we will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the tower room, and look forward to trying others. Each seems to be unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We always wish to thank our guests when they let us know they had a wonderful stay. It is always fun for us to be the "home away from home" for parents of the college students who go to school nearby.
Thanks for staying and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
4.9 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
8.7 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
309 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Joseph Mattey House
Joseph Mattey House
#4 of 8 in McMinnville
55 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Vintages Trailer Resort
9.1 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard

Property: Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard
Address: 9600 NE Worden Hill Rd, Dundee, OR 97115-9178
Region: United States > Oregon > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid vineyards, orchards and acres of forest the Black Walnut Inn offers luxurious surroundings in the heart of Oregon's wine country. Newly constructed and reminiscent of Tuscan villas of old, the inn is filled with modern art and amenities blended expertly with beautiful antiques, old world details and the works of local artisans. Nine unique and inviting suites await your visit, each designed with a touch of European elegance. Luxurious linens, soaking tubs, king and queen size beds and breathtaking views are just a few of the comforts you'll enjoy during your visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Hotel Dundee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing