We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”
Review of Stampede Inn

Stampede Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stampede Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Elgin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The Stampede Inn is pretty much the only place to stay in Elgin. The rooms are comfortable and clean although basic and a little tired, with a refrigerator and coffee maker. There's a vending machine outside for drinks and the like. The Wifi isn't great, but it does work. Reception is friendly and helpful.

You may get to see deer grazing in the neighbouring gardens in the evening and watch out for them on the streets in Elgin!

Room Tip: Ask for one opposite the office for better Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp_from_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

The motel is small and outdated but it is clean and will take you back in time. The furniture is
from the early 60's the rooms or our room #10 was big and the a/c and wifi worked so we did
not need anything else. Sorry we missed the Opera House but maybe next time. If you are in the area and need a place to stay try this motel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelers201168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at the Stampede Inn again, as I do every year while visiting my son and his familiy in Elgin. As always, a friendly and economical place to stay, and my previous review is still valid. The change this year is that wifi is now available. My room this year (number 3) was on the far end and, since the server is in the office, I didn't get the best connection, but it was adequate for general Internet and email service. It was not so good for Skype, even with the video turned off. If wifi is important to you, ask for a room in the center near the office when you make your reservation and you'll probably get better reception.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here in Sep. of 2011 and found the accomodations to be clean, quiet, friendly, and economical. There's not a lot to choose from in this area, but the owners have a very nice motel. Look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Stampede Inn is an old fashioned motel, like out of the 1960's, but it is clean and nice. It is easy to walk to restaurants and the Opera House. The Eagle Cap excursion train leaves fron just a couple of blocks away. The motel is a good value, the greeting was friendly, the room and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We happened upon this little motel just by chance. It is right on Hwy. 82 in the town of Elgin, Or. The whole experience was like a scene from an old movie. ( Which I love) The inn keeper Cathy is a lovley person, very personable. The room was super clean.

Room Tip: cute old fashioned motel right off Hwy 82
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrigowilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

If you’re going to stay in Elgin, this is the only choice. I’ve stayed here several times while visiting my son and his family. Making reservations is easy using the toll-free number and check-in was pleasant and efficient. We had a room with two full-size, comfortable beds. There was a microwave and a refrigerator in the room. There is no wi-fi or computer available (you can use the computers at the public library, but it’s open M-F 1-6). There was only a shower, no tub. The room was quite large, clean and well maintained. The motel is away from the main street so it’s quiet. Breakfast is not available, but with the microwave and fridge you can fix something yourself, if you want. We only fixed tea as we ate at my son’s place. There’s no coffeemaker in the room, so if you want coffee, bring instant and heat it in the microwave. This was the 3rd or 4th time I’ve stayed at this motel and it’s been a good stay each time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stampede Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stampede Inn

Address: 51 S. 7th Ave, Elgin, OR 97827
Region: United States > Oregon > Elgin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing