We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food service needs improving.”
Review of Excelsior Inn

Excelsior Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Excelsior Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 612 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food service needs improving.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Had dinner reservation for dining room waitress tried to seat us in bar (restaurant was pretty empty). Wine vintage did not match what was on menu (younger vintage). Food was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tbeugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Just a couple little improvements would make this a four star”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile


Its Victorian in ambiance not my favorite but thats me, Nice dining room, bar area ,private room,and outdoor seating.
Started with the Antipasto Plate enough for four people. Good selection of salami,coppa prosciutto, Gorgonzola, Romano and chèvre cheeses, smoked salmon pate, olives . My only criticism: gorgonzola tasted like refrigerator and should have been imported Gorgonzola Dolce Latte , and there were pickles on the platter. Pickles? i don't think so on Antipasto. Very nice presentation on all dishes.
Next was Caesar Salad not bad a 3 star.. Entrees Crab Ravioli in a light cream sauce.
You can tell it was house made pasta and the cream sauce just barley covered the ravioli instead of swimming in it. Ling cod Puttanesca, cooked perfectly, with a garden fresh tomato puttanesca relish type sauce , it was good but needed more anchovy i did not taste any.
Desserts are really good and displayed as you walk into restaurant. There really isn't to much wrong with this place. Service was good as well. One thing was that there wasn't a good selection of wines by the glass which I personally like in a good restaurant. What we did have was good though a chianti and a Italian white.
One other comment The Bread needs improvement. it would be nice to see that crusty European bread on the table. I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Value for good food”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the Inn and just by looking at the restaurant we could sense that this restaurant cares for good food, and we were not disappointed. We chose to sit outside in the lovely garden on this warm evening. We had the soup of the day, rabbit and pacific salmon, and both the soup and the mains tasted well. For dessert we chose a homemade sorbet, which was a perfect final for this dinner. The Oregon wines that we drank were superb and absolutely priceworth. Try the Pinot Grigio by the glass!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A sure fire pleasure. A place you can count on for quality and service!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had Thanksgiving dinner there, and it was lovely and full of healthy choices. I made an early reservation, but they gave us a poor little table in a crowded corner, which they corrected when I complained. Don't shove two women in a corner! Despite this, I will go back again for great, honest food without pretension.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheilafresser23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous place to meet for drinks”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

great service, food and wine - reasonable prices. The pizza is great and so is the bread. I suggest eating in the bar - great atmosphere - comfortable

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kassiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Excelsior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing