We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with comfortable vibe.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eugene Whiteaker Hostel
Seward, Alaska, United States
1 review
“Great hostel with comfortable vibe.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed two great nights at the Whiteaker Hostel and when the time came to leave I felt like I was saying goodbye to a new family. The Sunday potluck brought out the best in the neighborhood chefs and the well stocked and cleaned kitchen made it easy to buy groceries and prepare a proper meal. The bathrooms and beds were clean, the music room equipped and the fire pit stocked. It was a great stay with wonderful people and I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskanbob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    13
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
17
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very friendly community, we feel welcome. Would recommend the experience. Very interesting books and conversations, well prices, nice kitchen and sleeping spaces. woeds words words words words words words words words weords words wor dsow rdos werod

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rus771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

the whiteaker hostel seemed to be a nice warm quiet place to relax. i had a great stay here i even got a bottom bunk next to a window,my favorite it's better to ask for one when you check in or call early. i alway's book with www.hostelbookers.com the staff do keep the place up to standards and it is clean to. they have free wifi and everything is walking distance. buses, restaurant's a good place to eat at is papa's soul food right around the corner great BBQ. it's even in a quiet neighborhood with tree lined street's it's perfect for a walk on a sunny day. i only stayed for 5 day's this time, it doesn't seem to be a party hostel either, so that's good. i will stay here again in my travel's.!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASONALLEN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place is eclectic and fun, just like the city it's where it's located. Full of friendly people who are willing to help you out, the Whiteaker Hostel is clean, quirky and affordable. If you're looking for a casual, low-key place to crash for a night where you feel safe and comfortable plopping down on a couch to meet some new people and listen to them make music on one of the many instruments provided, this is the ideal location for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

No doubt, this is going to be different from your typical hostel expereince. Its more like staying at a friends house then it is a hostel. But this by far is my faviorte place to stay when I visit in Eugene. The staff is always willing to help you with anything you need. As a runner, I sometimes need a little more extra time in my room if an event is going to run up against the check out clock and they always take care of me.

It is always kept clean and the kitchen is full of stuff for you to use. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The back yard is all multi purpose with places to sit and eat, or places to have a bond fire, or to park your bike.

Room Tip: Masters Dorm is my faviorte
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We needed a last minute stay with all the surrounding hotels booked out for events going on over the weekend. The Whiteaker totally pulled through, booked us into a room upstairs last minute for a great price (considering we could have paid $175 a night). The staff were all very friendly and helpful...plus they made delicious coffee. We got directions to the beautiful rose garden and river for a run as well as to the Saturday Market.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in 'The Loft', so our experience will differ from most, but the lodgings were excellent for the price. We basically had our own apartment on the upper floor of the hostel's second building. It was quiet and comfortable with a private kitchen and bath, and would be a great place for an extended stay in Eugene. That being said, it's still a hostel and isn't like staying in a nice hotel or B&B, but the management was friendly and the location convenient. The loft bedroom could use a reading lamp that works and a little more room around the bed for access, and the bathroom and kitchen could use a little TLC, but we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcohen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.7 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 35 in Eugene
686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 35 in Eugene
1,053 reviews
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.9 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 35 in Eugene
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Downtown Inn
Downtown Inn
#12 of 35 in Eugene
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugene Whiteaker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugene Whiteaker Hostel

Property: Eugene Whiteaker Hostel
Address: 970 West 3rd Ave, Eugene, OR 97402-4994
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eugene Whiteaker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique, art-filled and friendly Hostel located in the Whiteaker, Eugene OR. Dormitory beds & private rooms available for travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eugene Whiteaker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing