We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pancakes & Waffles in town”

The Original Pancake House
Ranked #27 of 613 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pancakes & Waffles in town”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I've been to most breakfast spots in town and this is by far the best one. The food is always good the staff is super friendly. The building was remodeled a few years ago so it's a very clean atmosphere. I've had almost everything on the menu and the coconut waffles with fresh fruit is the best!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartianManhunter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    44
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast spot”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Our friends and I had breakfast here while traveling. The wait was reasonable for a party of 10 and the staff was very pleasant and kept us informed as to the wait.
The place has many selections for breakfast and based on the variety ordered they seem to do well with all. I had the ham and cheese omelet. It was full of ham and quit cheesy and huge!!
My husband had the Spanish omelet and was very pleased with it. The only downside I experienced was the lack of choice in jelly,but everything else made that insignificant.
If traveling and want a good breakfast with good value please don't miss this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabahatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pancakes but need some heathier options”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Their specialty pancakes are awesome but besides being HUGE (and I'm not a little guy), having all that sugar and those carbs without protein can through just about anyone's glycemic index out of whack. The only for getting some protein is to purchase eggs and/or meat ala carte. That can get very, very pricy. How about offering a special breakfast that combines a reasonably-sized treat (not so huge) with eggs and meat?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rbortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yumm!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First time I went to an OPH was in Colorado. Lived in Oregon 23 years and had never been. Came to Eugene for the weekend and had to go to the original.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yxeslil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very tasty breakfast with lots of interesting options”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We programmed our GPS to make the short but tricky trek from our hotel in Springfield to this well reviewed breakfast spot next to the university in Eugene and were very glad we did. By 9 a.m. there was no wait for a table in this sunny yellow L-shaped room dotted with vases of real flowers. The menu is almost overwhelming it has so many wonderful sounding choices. The very pleasant waitress joked that I could only choose from the right hand page and my partner from the left to overcome this dazed contemplation. In the end I had buttery hot Danish crepes with a delicious cherry sauce and an egg cooked perfectly to order. My partner had the feather light buttermilk pancakes along with eggs and a thick cut bacon that was meaty and perfectly tangy sweet. We wish we lived closer to this wonderful find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piercesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing