We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Eugene Springfield
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place is hard to find and once found you have one choice for dinner, across the street or 15 minute drive into Eugene. Stayed one night during the renovation, lobby was torn apart. Bed is very small, we are used to a King bed and I think this was a double, not even a Queen. The hotel was not that full yet they gave us the room farthest from the lobby, it was easier to walk up the unfinished/unlit stair well rather than to take the elevator. We tried to make a grilled cheese, their frying pan was the cheapest pan I've ever seen. The bottom was bent so it didn't even burn evenly! No kidding it didn't cook, it burnt. The reason for cooking and not going out for dinner is the reviews for McNemineses sp are not very good and Brian told us it was a 15 minute drive to the next nearest restaurant. We did go over for a few drinks after dinner and their homemade beer is not that good. I hesitate to call McNeineses a brewery, they claim to make their own beer, wine and spirits. I think they would be better off doing just one of them right!
We had breakfast in the lobby and the juice machine was broken, I understand things break but they could have brought in some juice. The lady in charge of refilling the breakfast was not to be seen, one of the guests had to go in the backroom and ask for additional bananas and yogurt. Breakfast had most of the usual suspects you find in a 1 - 2 star hotel. $209 for this place, you can do much better I'm sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks M, Manager at Residence Inn Eugene Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel. Our hotel is indeed under renovation, and rest assured our complete, hot breakfast buffet will return once the renovation is complete within the next two weeks. We are also displeased to hear that you were not informed of the numerous restaurants that are within walking distance of our property. In addition, downtown Eugene is only a three minute drive and has a plethora of restaurant options. We are very sorry for the lack of communication and understand how inconvenient this must have been.

We hope you will return during your next visit to Eugene and let us give you the opportunity to give you an outstanding stay. We will certainly pass along your comments to our management team and front desk staff, and we appreciate your feedback and will use it as an opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful welcoming staff! This place is the absolute best in town if you have an extended stay to get through. The food is a step above regular hotel buffet options. There is an evening happy hour too with wine beer and snack. If they had real tennis courts it would feel like a resort. Close to riverwalk path snd Pre's trail for running. Walking distance to stadium if you are healthy.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks M, Manager at Residence Inn Eugene Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We are very fortunate to be located along the Willamette River with over 12 miles of walking/running paths steps from our front door. We are also quite lucky to have a team of such incredible staff. We'll make sure to pass along your praise to the staff during our morning meeting with the entire team. We are also pleased you enjoyed the location as well as our food offerings. Thank you for writing this review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've had the pleasure of staying at this location several times since late December (making frequent visits to Eugene for medical reasons). This hotel is clean, the staff is always helpful and pleasant, and despite what another review says, I find it peaceful and quiet. I have insomnia and rarely sleep well I hotels, especially if I'm not on the top floor due to the noise of footsteps above me, but I never hear other guests in this hotel... Even on New Year's Eve or during the recent remodeling.

The breakfast offering are always decent, and it's rare to find a place that offers an evening meal like Residence Inns do many evenings.

The location is perfect, near restaurants and plenty of shopping options. The rooms with full kitchens make the rooms feel more like our home away from home than a hotel, and are a money saver for us because we bring plenty of food so we don't have to pay for meals out every day.

I had to stay shortly after a major surgery in December and we had the two bedroom, two bath suite with a handicap accessible bath. It was the perfect place to recuperate, and I can't say that for many hotels.

Our most recent trip allowed us to stay in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was GORGEOUS. The new carpet, sofa, bedding, curtains, etc. are all beautiful and great quality. They had overlooked putting a hair dryer in our room, but quickly brought one up to us when we called downstairs.

The front desk staff is always cheerful and helpful, especially Manny who always has a smile on his face and helps in any way he can.

Room Tip: We always request an upper floor because we don't like hearing people above us, but it really do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzlove1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks M, Manager at Residence Inn Eugene Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review! We're so glad you found our hotel comfortable, especially as you are travelling to our area for medical reasons. We're especially glad that you find our suites to be quiet and were able to get a good night's sleep. We are truly fortunate to have Manny working on our team and will make sure to pass along the kudos at our morning huddle with all of our associates. Our full kitchens and dining areas make our suites quite a bit larger than the average hotel room, and we're glad you were able to take advantage of it during your stay! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Eugene. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times over the last few years but my most recent stay was by far my favorite. the hotel is currently under renovation and i was lucky enough to get one of the newly renovated rooms, and it was great! the hotel had been overdue for renovation for a long time. the new bed is comfortable, the new couch is far more comfortable than the old one, and they got rid of these awful red chairs that used to be in every room.

it also appears that the hotel has some new management, which is refreshing after a couple of run ins I had with the old hotel manager, who seemed impatient and unwilling to deal with any of the issues I had. the staff also seemed happier since the last time i was here, which could have something to do with the fact that the hotel is being renovated, or that there is a new manager, or possibly both.

As usual, Blair and Manny were great, very helpful and courteous, along with the new manager, who seems to be leading her employees on the right track.

I will definitely be staying at this hotel again and I very highly recommend it!

Room Tip: ask for one of the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artisfun123987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks M, Manager at Residence Inn Eugene Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We're thrilled this visit to our hotel was your favorite and that you enjoy our new look! The mattresses have been replaced, and we're glad you found them comfortable. We do have a new manager as well, though the same team of outstanding associates remain. We'll make sure to recognize Manny and Blaire in front of the team for the excellent service levels they provide! We apologize for any past issues with the management team but are glad you have noticed improvement. Thank you for returning to our hotel and for taking time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This Residence Inn is similar to many, down to the furniture and granite like bathroom counter. They offer studios, one and two bedroom options. We like to stay here because the location is wonderful, along the river trail system with a footbridge to the University of Oregon. One word of caution, use your GPS to find the hotel it would be impossible to get there from the I-5 north without it. I looked on the website and found no driving directions.
All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
My only comment concerns the description of the hotel being pet friendly, a $75 fee is not friendly and far more than many other Marriott's charge.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lopezbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks M, Manager at Residence Inn Eugene Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for writing this review! We're glad you enjoyed our location along the Willamette River, and we are fortunate to have such and extensive biking/walking trail steps from our front door. We're also glad you found our staff friendly and helpful! We'll make sure to check our website and ensure that driving directions are available. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused prior to check-in. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed here for a second time in December. The hotel is fairly new, and the room seemed to be recently refurbished. The location is good, although it is a bit difficult to navigate your way in and out. (I missed the entrance twice - even though I had stayed there before). The front desk staff were wonderful and the housekeepers were quite friendly.

I had only one complaint: There is a rather small breakfast room, and it seems that the staff use it as well. They occupied two of the six tables, and carried on a loud conversation between the tables. Then, a maintenance person (I think) came in, stood about four feet from me, and facing me, made a phone call. Again speaking loudly and complaining about some delivery that had arrived at the wrong time. This was quite unpleasant for me, and rather rude overall. So.. breakfast sucked.

Other than that experience, the place was great, and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidinYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks M, Manager at Residence Inn Eugene Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to write this review, David! We're glad you think our hotel is a "great place to stay" and pleased you were impressed with the service of our staff. However, it is unfortunate that your stay with us was not perfect. Rest assured we will bring this comment to our staff during our morning huddle in order to ensure that you or other future guests do experience disruptive behavior from our associates during breakfast. We're glad this unfortunate situation is not enough to stop you from staying with us again, but we definitely can always improve. Thank you for the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The usual amenities of a Residence Inn, with full kitchen and separate sitting area. However, we could hear he TV/talking of all of our neighbors; the ones to the sides of us as well as above and below. We learned the first night that the room below us was for hearing impaired, and they had their TV up so loud that it sounded like we were watching it ourselves. We asked to move rooms, and they put us in a room on the first floor with a lovely view of an air conditioning unit. The unit was also extremely loud! We decided the hum of the AC unit was a slight improvement over the loud TV, so we stayed there, but didn't sleep well our whole stay. The rooms themselves are nice, and it was great to have breakfast and evening snacks served daily in the hotel lobby. But if you are looking for quality of sleep, this is not your place.

Room Tip: Good luck picking a quiet room. Ask to be away from hearing impaired rooms and outdoor air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrnBfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks M, Manager at Residence Inn Eugene Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We're glad you enjoyed the amenities and services of our hotel, but disappointed you did not have a good night's sleep. We will share your feedback with our maintenance staff and front desk in order to better respond to guests who need a quiet room and determine ways that we can better meet that need. We hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 38 in Eugene
954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
0.6 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#5 of 38 in Eugene
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Eugene
Comfort Suites Eugene
#15 of 38 in Eugene
367 reviews
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Eugene Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Eugene Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Eugene Springfield

Address: 25 Club Rd, Eugene, OR 97401-7912
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Eugene
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
#5 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range: £141 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Eugene Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Eugene Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Eugene Springfield Hotel Eugene
Eugene Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing