We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids had fun, the adults... Not so much...”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Science Factory
Ranked #27 of 82 things to do in Eugene
Attraction details
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The kids had fun, the adults... Not so much...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This place was within walking distance of our hotel (La Quinta) and right on the U of O campus. We are suckers for some science educational fun and this place had enough to keep the kids busy and active for a while. We started the visit with a film in the planetarium about the Google Lunar X Prize. It was interesting and was almost like a glasses-free 3D experience. The kids played X Prize for the next several days so they must have enjoyed it. The exhibits were very hands on the kids had a good time. There wasn't much for the adults, unlike OMSI or some of the other small science museums we've been to. Over all, it was worth the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“not much to see”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This place does not have much to do or see . the only semi cool thing is the planetarium. We took our 6 yr old and she was bored! Not a very Good location either

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyofone2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OK if you are bored”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Like the title says, it's OK if you and the kids are bored and need to get out of the house. I think they are over priced for the low-quality displays they have. Sometimes there is a pretty neat show going on in the theater but otherwise it's just an indoor homemade science project.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

OMSI, now there is a real kids museum. This is like the low budget eugene (read quirky) version. With a great University in town, you would like there would be a kids museum or zoo of some sort to take your kids...but this is not one of those. It's obviously small town low budget museum. Really a disappointment to say the least.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank orlavaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I expected more from the description in the flyer I received that got us there. There are some exhibits that you can walk yourself through and interact with all basically in one big room with a couple of alcoves. I wasn't impressed and unfortunately neither was my 6 yr. old. We made it through the whole place in less than an hour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Asiasnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Science Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing