We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Cons than Pros”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtesy Inn Eugene
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“More Cons than Pros”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I rely on reviews of other travelers and decided to stop here on our way to Portland bars on the reviews. Unfortunately there are more cons than pros at this old motel.
Pros:
-Parking is included in price
-Wi-fi is included in price
-Queen size bed is comfy (they said beds were purchased 6 mths ago)
-It had an old microwave and fridge (which we didn't use)
Cons:
-When I entered the lobby and the room it was smelly and stuffy (we opened windows all night and I guess we got use to the smell)
-The carpet looks like it was the original carpet so I wore my slippers in the room as it didn't feel clean
-The bathroom was remodeled with a nice sink and mirror but door is original and it had wrought iron as the view from the bathroom is the dumpsters
-Towels are very thin and flimsy
-The friendly and bubbly younger lady who answered when i called for reservations was definitely a different lady than the older lady who checked me in
-She became irritated, squinted her eyebrows when I asked her about the "quieter rooms"
-when I mentioned I read about them on tripadvisor she tried to become friendlier as she probably knew I was going to give a review
-I asked her about the $52 advertised special on the trip advisor website and she said its for one bed only, I am in a two queen size bed room because we have our 3 year old with us so its $74.99 with a AAA discount for 3 people
-she said if it was one bed and two people only then its $52
-at checkout the next morning the blonde clerk said they don't usually print out receipts which I thought was strange..i asked her why and she said she is new and didn't know why they don't print receipts..I told her I needed one and she hand wrote a receipt for me on a little scratch piece of Torn paper..total $82.86
-I asked her to staple a business card on this torn piece of paper, no stapler so she tapes it on
-Sure it's cheaper than other chain hotels but this old hotel was surely not worth $82.86 (not even the gazebo and hanging plants all over increases the price)
-breakfast might be a pro to some but it was stale bagels, coffee (cups had no lids so can't really take any to-go), package svenhards brand pastry, banana







Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieJoyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    57
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
27
45
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The place is clean and well kept. The interior is definitely dated. So is the bathroom. Wood working in some of the rooms a semi-professional....and looks like it. It's not terrible by any means. Despite the location, the place is quiet and offers a decent amount of room. For the price you pay, it's definitely worth every penny. Just don't expect Red Lion like sterilization. The location is fabulous! From there you can get just about anywhere in Eugene/Springfield in under 15 minutes! The TV offers about 100 channels. The A/C worked very well. The Refrigerator and Microwave are very nice amenities given the price of the room.

Room Tip: A lower numbered room will be quieter than any higher number room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtesyinneugene, Manager at Courtesy Inn Eugene, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking time out to give us feed back, we certainly appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Came for one night, no complaints at all. Was afraid the room would smell and it didn't. Bathroom was clean, room was clean, ac worked perfectly. Staff was very nice!

Beds were comfy. Tv worked well.

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OffTheWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtesyinneugene, Front Office Manager at Courtesy Inn Eugene, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us a amazing review. We take great pride in our motel and want everyone to leave her pleased with there stay. We are very happy to hear your stay was a good one and we look forward on seeing you again if you visit Eugene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Thank you for having FRESH hotel rooms that not only LOOKED clean but SMELLED clean as well. Great value for the price!!!!

The hotel manager/owner was kind and guaranteed the rooms. Travel with a kid with breathing issues and smoked in rooms is a serious issue for us. These rooms are TRULY smoke free.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattsbabycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtesyinneugene, Front Office Manager at Courtesy Inn Eugene, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We take great pride in our motel and keeping the property up to par. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future if you are coming thru Eugene. Again thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at The Courtesy Inn many times. The owners are wonderful people and they take great pride in their property. The hanging baskets in the courtyard are just beautiful every year. They have added a new breakfast room since our last visit. There is coffee Tea juice bagels and apple Danishes and bananas for breakfast. We look forward to our next visit at this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and face onto the courtyard. There is a nice covered Gazebo to sit under fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtesyinneugene, Front Office Manager at Courtesy Inn Eugene, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review. We are very happy to hear you were very pleased with your stay with us, as we take great pride in our motel. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Eugene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

AAA gives it four stars and I do, too. For $50 a night I was apprehensive. When we arrived I knew if the rooms were as well maintained as the grounds on this old motor court, all was good. They were. Rooms are basic with some nice retro touches -- knotty pine paneling and clear fir doors. Good beds. Free wi-fi. Maybe the room shows a bit of wear here and there. Understand on big weekends, the rates double. But still, a deal. Friendly helpful staff. When in Eugene, we'll stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodtwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtesyinneugene, Front Office Manager at Courtesy Inn Eugene, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out to give a rating, We take pride in our motel and love to read or hear when people are pleased with there stay. We will look forward to seeing you again when you come visit eugene. Thank you again for your time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited our daughter at U of O for a few days and thought this was a good deal; better yet, it was a great deal for my husband and myself for less than $60. night (w/cheap flight through Allegiant, and Avis car rental)! Back to this review: sure, breakfast was simple w/packaged oatmeal, but gee whiz, add a banana, orange juice, coffee, hot chocolate, filtered water (lots of liquids) and you're good to go for a few hours. This is a college town with local grown veggies, select meats and grains, and a super selection of beers. You'll find lots of wonderful eats.

Everyone was helpful, polite, and efficient here, days before Easter Sunday. We did worry about slipping in the bathtub. We both did slip - yikes! I love parking a few steps from our room. We rented the car to visit our kid who lives near campus, but it's great to be able to drive all over the area and this motel is near downtown Eugene. Great Wi-Fi and the TV reception was perfect. Fairly quiet area… The room heater was loud, but hey, it worked! Can't ask for much more for the price...

Basic room, king size bed, easy access to freeway entrances, but had we known this was here, we would have been regulars for the past 5 years (she's graduating from a 5 year program)! Thank you to the Patel family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeleninSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtesyinneugene, Front Office Manager at Courtesy Inn Eugene, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out to give us a review. We take great pride in our motel and work. Happy that you enjoyed your stay that you will return in the future. We will have our housekeeping check out the slippery bath tub issue and get that up to satisfaction for our guest. We look forward to having you and your family in the future here with us. Again thank you so much for your time writing out a review..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.1 mi away
Downtown Inn
Downtown Inn
#12 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#5 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#14 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Inn Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Inn Eugene

Property: Courtesy Inn Eugene
Address: 345 W 6th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-2508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtesy Inn Eugene 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtesy INN is centrally located in the downtown Eugene, walking Distance to The Hilton, the Hult center, close to the Autzen stadium, University of Oregon, Amtrak Station and fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtesy Inn Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Hotel Eugene
Courtesy Motel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing