We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh! Decrepit, unsafe rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtesy Inn Eugene
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
San Jose, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ugh! Decrepit, unsafe rooms.”
Reviewed 20 August 2006

Ugh. This motel is in dire need of renovation. The greatest concerns we had were safety. Our room had a front door that had about 2 inches of movement even when shut, locked and latched from the inside. The bathroom door would not shut, the wood was warped at the top. The bathroom window, at street level onto a lot next door, had no curtain or blind, with bars on the outside. The bathroom sink was coming detached from the wall, and there was a large circular crack in the glass shelf above the falling sink. Decor-wise, the room had hideous wood paneling on both ends. A large stain was running down the closet door mirror and another on the side of the TV. There are plenty of other cheap rooms in Eugene without having to stay here. Avoid it!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank J_J_sanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtesyinneugene, Owner at Courtesy Inn Eugene, responded to this review, 24 February 2009
Within the last year, the Courtesy Inn Eugene has gone through extensive renovations. Including new carpets, new doors with electronic locks, new paint in all rooms, renovated bathrooms with new vanities, and brand new air conditioning and heating units. We guarantee our guests' total satisfaction - if you are not 100% satisfied with your stay, our staff will do their utmost to ensure your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    58
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
28
47
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2006

I was in Eugene for 3 days with my son to visit U of Oregon. The Courtesy Inn is very centrally located, right at the foot of the freeway, right at the edge of downtown, a few blocks from UO. The property is a typical motel. The rooms are a bit small, we had a room with 2 queens, and it was barely big enough for the 2 beds, and 1 table. The A/C was extremely noisy but effective. The service was mediocre, not particularly friendly. I had a business associate who tried to call me in my room, and he said the phone rang 25 times, and there were no answer. He called me on my cell phone to tell me that, I walked up to the front desk, the woman at the front desk was on another call, and when she finally got off the call, I told her about my friend calling in, and she shrugged her shoulders, looked annoyed and said, "well, I'm here by myself, you know...". I guess it never occurred to her that she could have put a caller on hold to pick up another call.

I had a very good rate, it was only $68 a night. The room was clean enough, but definitely not sparkling. The pillows were a bit lumpy, but for that price, it was totally acceptable.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BayAreaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

We have stayed at Courtesy Inn many many times and have always been happy with the room, service, cleanliness. We were in town for business and thought we'd stay there again. I called the hotel directly, made the reservation. When we arrived, we were given the worst room ever. It was in the corner of the middle of the building: dark, dank and smelling hideous. Looking out the window, the view was a 3 foot space between the opposite room, both with bars on the windows. The room had not been renovated for a long time, if ever. We were kept awake by the loud guests in the next room who were going in and out of the room and talking loudly in the lot for about 2 hours (1-3 am) The only nice thing was the bathroom was updated and clean like the others we have stayed in at this property. Good value and adequate for the price unless you get this room or it's sister on the other side of the building!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location/condition of room compared to others stayed in on previous visits
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask to see the room before you pay.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 July 2006

My husband and I stayed here on a trip to the redwoods. I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. I booked it after reading the reviews on this site. It is centrally located and within walking distance to a great breakfast place - The Keystone Cafe. The staff are so nice and the rooms are very clean. The room had a microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, hair dryer. Even though it is centrally located, It was very quiet so we were able to get enough sleep for a long drive! It was perfect for us - we were so pleased with our stay we stayed again on our way back through the area. We arrived at 10:30am and stopped there just to see if they would have availability that evening. Since there was a vacant room, she let us check in right away. Much more accommodating than the larger chain hotels. I would stay again anytime!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2006

Just returned from a college tour of U of Oregon. I made reservations here based on the Tripadvisor reviews and I wasn't disappointed. The price was great and the location good. Not fancy, but clean and adequate. I was nervous when I saw the nearby train tracks, but the trains never bothered us. Good locks on the doors and the windows have been replaced. Staff was nice. Don't count on the continental breakfast, as it was meager. But our room had a good sized refrigerator and microwave, and we had our own food. Or, try the Keystone Cafe for a good breakfast, right around the corner.

It was also nice that the room had two queen sized beds, instead of just doubles as many hotels are doing now.

I would stay here again, as long as I wasn't looking for a fancy place.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BeeceeBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2006

i was thinking since the hotel was built in the 60s and renovated in 1997, it shouldn't be too bad, and i was pleasantly surprised. the carpet was nice, the room was roomy, you get continental breakfast (fruit and muffins), and it was really easy to check in. For the price - cheapest on the internet at the time $51, it was well worth it. bathroom is small. Very clean. hbo too.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank xtravonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2005

Excellent value for the money. This a nice motel, close to everything - couple blocks walk to the downtown, saturday merket, local wineries, and right around the corner from I-5.
Our room was clean, had a refrigerator and microwave and a free wireless internet (aside from regular cable tv, coffeemaker and iron). The stuff was nice, helpful and friendly.
All in all, I think it was a great value for the $60 or so we paid per day.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank natalia20879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.9 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#5 of 35 in Eugene
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Downtown Inn
Downtown Inn
#11 of 35 in Eugene
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 35 in Eugene
1,033 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#14 of 35 in Eugene
569 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Inn Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Inn Eugene

Property: Courtesy Inn Eugene
Address: 345 W 6th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-2508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtesy Inn Eugene 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtesy INN is centrally located in the downtown Eugene, walking Distance to The Hilton, the Hult center, close to the Autzen stadium, University of Oregon, Amtrak Station and fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtesy Inn Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Hotel Eugene
Courtesy Motel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing