We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GreAt park, often crowded though”
Review of Skinner Butte Park

Skinner Butte Park
Ranked #16 of 89 things to do in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GreAt park, often crowded though”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Great park with trails, river vow and playgrounds for both bigger and smaller kids
Bring a towel because there is a water fountain and mine always end up soaked

Helpful?
1 Thank HeartMomFighingCHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a great place to visit, right along the Willamette River, not too far from downtown Eugene. It offers lots of paths, great for bike riding or walking, and you can't beat the view. There are also bridges that cross the river or go down close to the University of Oregon. Many miles of fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy to share my backyard”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I live just a few blocks from this park, and I frequent it often. It is awesome. It is part of a big park system that rings most of the Willamette River front in Eugene. There's a bike path along the river, there's an awsome playground including sand and water play for the kids, there's an awesome mini-butte for walking/hiking/viewing the city. Sometimes bald eagles nest on the butte and there are often ducks and osprey and great blue herons in sight. There are also huge swaths of open space for frisbee and that kind of thing. Plenty of picnic tables and trashcans and all that as well. There are also several war memorials near a separate little playground with a cute cemnt turtle and whale. Also an open ball field which hosts many a game of wacky adult kick-ball, but is usually just open for use. What else?? There is also a cute little building called Lamb Cottage that can be rented for small to mid-sized gatherings with a nice little kitchen. Food not Bombs sometimes uses it to feed the hungry.

The restrooms are located by the big riverplay playground and are, um, uititarian (no doors, I suppose to discourage drug use and other unsavory hiding out activities), but clean enough. The next bit of park downriver (to the North) may or may not have a separate name, but it has a really lovely and fairly extensive rose garden and a crazy cool old Chinese Cherry tree or some such thing. There are also restrooms over here, but I havent been in them in a while, so no report onthem. It's definitely worth the little walk over to take time to stop and smell the roses.

PLEASE be aware that people really do bicycle on the Bike path, so try to stay to the right and not to wander aimlessly out in front of them, and be very aware of where your dogs and children are--keeping them off on the grass to the side is safest! The cyclists try really hard to be polite, but the pedestrians need to do their part, too (full disclosure: I am Both!).

Maybe I'll see you there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraRoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great outdoors near Eugene center”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Easy to get there, a short drive from Eugene downtown. Lots of paths to walk or bike and tou're almost in the wilderness. Great for relaxation and exercise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidvandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Playground”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I've taken the kiddos to this park a few times, and they adore it, especially my 2-year-old. The water play areas are nice, and easily accessible to even young ones. The 3-story play tower is great, with all the different slides and activities. We want to go back at least once a week before the rainy season hits!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skinner Butte Park also viewed

 

Been to Skinner Butte Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing