We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resting on theirs laurels” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wandering Goat Cafe

Wandering Goat Cafe
Ranked #7 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Eugene
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Resting on theirs laurels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Used to love walking here from our daughter's home to this place for coffee. The service here has gotten so bad 1/2 hour waiting for your coffee is not unusual. At any time of day! The coffee is still great and I guess if you have time wait that is your choice. But for me there are too many good choices in Eugene to put up with this lackluster at best attitude among staff. But hey, maybe that is what the owner wants. They have lost at least this customer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barongruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Driving customers out the door”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I used to love this place and came here several times a week. Coffee was great, staff was friendly (they still are) and the environment was chill. Yes, there were lots of hippies and sometimes they didn't smell very good, but it was tolerable. But lately, things have really gone downhill. The new baristas aren't very good, and often the drink tastes burnt. But what is really driving customers out the door is the music. Wandering Goat used to place a nice eclectic mix ranging from classical to movie soundtracks to rock to blues, but lately they play death metal almost exclusively. It's been pretty effective at driving the hippies away, if that was the effect they were going for. I had to walk out the other day because I just couldn't take it anymore. The music turns a funky place into a hostile environment. Seriously, to the guy behind the bar with long black hair... aren't you a little old for that kind of thing? I wonder if the owners have noticed that the place is a lot emptier nowadays? Note to owners: The Barn Light is eating your lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jhkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
164 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Funky as only Eugene can be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

For several years, this was my go-to place for java. No more. The latte has become wimpy--- perhaps they've weakened the "house" espresso blend or they're scrimping on shots (I typically have ordered 12 oz.).
The baked offerings are what your high schooler would make after one class, i.e. amateurish.
Music, chosen by staff, can be highly variable as can the volume. You may find yourself driven outside by truly obnoxious noise.
I am saddened, because I used to spend many enjoyable hours here.
I also cannot understand the price of their coffee beans: several dollars/pound more than 90% of the other roasters in town. That said, the selection and quality are first-rate. It's just so disappointing that their specialty drinks have fallen...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CariocaBonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dairy alternatives, great coffee + food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Wandering Goat is my favorite coffee place in Eugene.

The soups are fantastic! (And I don't even like soup.)

The coffee is really good, and the best thing is that they have hemp, hazelnut, rice, and soy replacement milks (no extra charge except for hemp).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdLibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Eugene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Great coffee and skilled baristas. My husband is hooked on the vegan biscuits and gravy (they are very good, as are the peanut butter bars...). The local flavor of the Whiteaker neighborhood is a bonus.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MyHappyTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wandering Goat Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wandering Goat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing