We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tall trees and Rhodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hendricks Park

Hendricks Park
Ranked #8 of 82 things to do in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tall trees and Rhodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a place to get a sense of a Douglas Fir Forest without leaving Eugene, with the bonus of an exceptional Rhododendron Garden in peak flower April and May, always for Mother's Day. There are trails and a beautiful, quiet green meadow where one is surrounded by every color imaginable of huge gaudy flowers on countless variations of rhododendron and azalea plants. Great walks in any weather.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nlcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    26
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picnic in lovely forested setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Rhododendron gardens famous in April and May.
Favorite place in Eugene to picnic. Cool and shady on a hot day. I grew up next to this park. Nice bird watching, cedar waxwing, among others, bath in the fountain.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetKEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Place of beauty and solice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I grew up in Eugene and spent many days walking here with my father, Dr. David Williams. This park is beautiful in the spring when the Rhodys and Azalea are in bloom, but also lovely in the fall when the air its crisp and fresh. One of three last places I visited with my father, we didn't leave the car, walking was difficult for him, but he still enjoyed the view from the windows. Great for all ages.

Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Rhody heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I used to run here - and delighted in the profusion of Rhododendrons. Go in spring for sure. It has nice views of Eugene as well, and is near the university.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jazger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
340 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Go in May and you won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Rhodies bloom in late April and especially in May and June. Nice paths, small parking lot, nice city view, paths, and nearby picnic areas and pines and shelters. NOTE: EZ access but tricky to get to, follow the signs, you get routed through residential area, then a tiny driveway on the left side of the road, then up a very easy elevation to the lot. WATCH THE SIGNS because otherwise you will get lost.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hendricks Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing