We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“above average Chinese American cusine”
Review of Ocean Sky

Ocean Sky
Ranked #378 of 616 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“above average Chinese American cusine”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Food is tasty & without MSG
Have been going since they opened in the late 80's.
Should you stray away from the chow mein & fried rice, there are some dishes that are pretty traditional , using local ingredients.
Quick & satisfying,
Service can be spotty -

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mewmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ocean sky is ocean sty”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The food is good-but the restaurant is dirty
It is usually really busy- but totally understaffed- so the service is slow because 1 waitress and 15 tables

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“service is hit or miss/ food is reliable”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Enough variety to please everyone in the party.
Service can be quick & pleasent or non existant.
I have walked out in the past, after waiting for over 20 minutes & getting a menu but no water or tea. (But since it is local.. I have selectively gone back when the place is not busy & enjoyed the food )

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mewmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The food is great, but the service is horrible.”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

These same servers are extremely horrible in service.... I had one horrible experience... they would ignore my family completely... even after we told them 3 times we would like to order. I was so upset I stormed out and left. I'm pretty sure the girls we tried to deal with were the owner/manager anyways... so it wouldn't do me any good to talk to anyone...
Then I decided after about a year to come back, because the food is excellent... I was hoping for better service. But I called in an order about 40 minutes before I came in. She never put the order in for me until after I paid... so I had to sit for another 40 minutes. And as always she was VERY rude to me and my family...
I doubt I will ever come back to this restaurant ever again.
Not to mention the restaurant is NOT clean.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“not a clean npolace”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I would never return to Ocean sky. I found a small rock in my black bean sauce and when I told our server she said "we have been having trouble with that", not what I wanted to hear. This place is fairly well known locally as not being very clean.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mauimamaEugene_Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ocean Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing