We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good light food in bar”

SweetWaters On The River
Reserve with OpenTable
SweetWaters On The River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 618 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Valley River Drive
Transit: On LTD Bus Route, On Bike Path
Description: Sweetwaters on the River is a time-honored classic. Located on the banks of the Willamette River, at Valley River Inn. SweetWaters on the River is a Eugene, Oregon restaurant for corporate diners, the culinary tourist and fine food epicurean. With our panoramic view and three season outdoor patio we define the quintessential Oregon dining experience. Predicated upon local producers of meat, produce and unique ingredients such as Oregon truffles, huckleberries and artisan cheeses, this restaurant in Eugene maintains a focus on local and fresh ingredients. Centrally located in the Southern Willamette Valley wine region our unique geographic position is perfect for the wine enthusiast. Our wine list showcases Oregon’s growing wine industry where world class Pinot Noir is compared to the best of those from Burgundy. Guests with a palate for fresh innovative cuisine and an enthusiasm for fine wine will appreciate the unrivaled service and authentic ambiance of Sweetwaters on the River.
Los Gatos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good light food in bar”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Because the concierge room was not open we were given tickets for snacks in the bar. We had the Calamari and it was very good. Also the bartender made it a fun experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    114
    58
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant at Valley River Inn Hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Possibly the best restaurant in Eugene. We go there for notable events in our lives, such as our resent anniversary. They had an extensive and quality wine list by the glass. We were able to toast with a very good Maschio Prosecca followed by a very good Pinot Gris with our Dungeness Crab starters. A great Zinfandel accompanied our main course. My wife had a perfect rare Prime rib while I had a very innovative Pork shoulder. They gifted us an amazing chocolate desert. We finished with sweet martinis, a Sun Drop and an English Dawn. My wife loved her Sun Drop. I thought my English Dawn was too sweet. They graciously provided something else to replace it.
The setting is upscale and is very romantic, with seating in front of huge windows or patio tables overlooking the Willamette River. The service is exceptional. With a 20% off coupon the bill was $103. Even without the coupon this was a wonderful and affordable Fine Dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardSE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Adequate Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The service was outstanding, personable yet professional. The cuisine was just standard, nothing exceptional.

Staying at the hotel for a conference, we only ate breakfast in the restaurant. The breakfast menu was somewhat limited, and on the first morning I chose the buffet. It was barely above room temperature. The next morning I selected a menu omelet which was nicely prepared and the plate well presented with sides, etc. The items were, however, merely average, nothing remarkable.

We dined elsewhere for all other meals during our stay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Alexis Knight”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent service justin was very accomodating and friendly during a busy lunch and found us the perfect table. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank alexis269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburban Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good food”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was at Sweetwaters for lunch with my family and we were very pleased with both the quality of
the food, the service and the ambiance. I had the half turkey avocado wrap and cup of soup. The soup was turkey vegetable and was filled with chicken and fresh veggies. The half turkey wrap was gigantic and filled with fresh roasted turkey, not lunchmeat. My husband and son had the Pacific Bay shrimp salad and were very happy with their selection. We walked to the Rose
Garden after lunch and then came back and sat on the outside patio for wine and beer. It was a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vizslafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SweetWaters On The River also viewed

 

Been to SweetWaters On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing