We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B&B”
Review of C'est La Vie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
C'est La Vie Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs around the country and just spent a delightful six nights at C'est La Vie, a wonderful bed and breakfast in a residential area within walking distance of downtown Eugene and its nice shops and Saturday Market. It was my first stay in this "not so Victorian B&B," which is a beautifully restored residence featuring different full breakfasts every day. The gardens, lovingly tended by Jack, are exquisite and of course it was the perfect time of year to see them. My room, the Matisse, featured a comfortable queen bed, a small flat-panel TV, a roomy en suite bath with claw foot tub, and temperature control. I slept incredibly well! Owner Anne Marie was in Paris but Jack joined us for breakfast each day, prepared to talk about the house, the restored antiques, the gardens or what to see in Eugene. It was a wonderful stay and I'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have en suite baths. The most private room is above the garage -- the Casablanca. It ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMeierWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
117
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We enjoyed one night at CLV on a recent visit to Eugene. As others have stated, this is a beautiful property that is well maintained. Our room was nice decorated and comfortable. The pantry was a nice touch with beverages and fresh cookies. Jack was a delightful host. The breakfast was just ok, not what I expected from such an elegant B&B. Despite this, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I greatly appreciated the hospitality at C'est La Vie in Eugene! Jack was a gracious host; even waiting up for us as we got into town so very late. What a nice thing to see your host, standing on the porch awaiting our arrival and helping us in the door and showing us around.

The linens were heavenly. The house was relaxing and quiet; i only wish we had been able to visit a little bit longer. Next time, for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patgrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Portal, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed at C'est la Vie on an extended trip visiting colleges. It was wonderful- a lovely place, very comfortable room, and Jack was a fantastic Eugene ambassador. We couldn't have hoped for a nicer stopover. P.S. Ask for the guided tour of the garden.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Jack and Anne Marie have lovingly restored the elegance of this lovely lady of a house, attention to detail is felt in every aspect of your stay. Attntiveness on the part of the owners without hovering and perfect comfort in the bedding and appointments of the rooms. The breakfast was continental cuisine wonderful fresh fruit and souffle and quiche at our stay and in the evening the guest fridge is stocked with fruit, milk, juice, soda and sometimes the cookie jar has fresh hot additions to have with your tea or coffee.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rufusbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Charming, beautifully-maintained B and B, extremely friendly and helpful owners who make this feel like a home away from home. My 6th or 7th visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feldmange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were touring U of O with our daughter and I wasn't looking forward to another Best Western-type of experience in a college town. C'est La Vie is a charming, comfortable restored Victorian B & B and provided the intimate experience I was looking for. Jack was a very firendly, attentive host, who shared the history of the home, as well as his recommendations for places to eat. We had a great sleep and very nice breakfast. It's located only about 10 minutes from the U of O campus and is definitely the nicest home in an otherwise unremarkable neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 35 in Eugene
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 35 in Eugene
1,034 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#5 of 35 in Eugene
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
2.4 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C'est La Vie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C'est La Vie Inn

Property: C'est La Vie Inn
Address: 1006 Taylor St, Eugene, OR 97402-4767
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — C'est La Vie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you heard?We were rated “Fodor’s Choice” for Eugene lodging. Lonely Planet also rated C’est La Vie Inn as their top pick for Eugene! In addition, we were chosen as Eugene's representative in "20 Great College Town B&Bs" by BedandBreakfast. And our beautiful inn was voted one of the most romantic places to stay by “Best Places to Kiss in the Pacific Northwest.” See why visitors from across the country and around the world have enjoyed their stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your C'est La Vie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing