We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for wine country tours”
Review of C'est La Vie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
C'est La Vie Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location for wine country tours”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Inn and the garden are immaculate and beautiful. We stayed in the Matisse room for 3 nights and did some wine country exploration using C'est La Vie as a home base. The bed was very comfortable. With the curtains pulled it was dark enough to sleep in until our 9AM breakfast.

Our advice: Tour wine country, return to C'est La Vie with your purchases, enjoy one of your purchases in the garden and then go to one of the restaurants (on foot!) recommended by the owners. We had a great experience at Ring of Fire (very close) and Marche (not so close but still walkable). In the morning after breakfast and before wine tasting, take the walk along the river.

When we come back we'll do the nearby Italian restaurant which we missed this time, Noli.
-cheers!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vin0Vin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
120
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a job Jack and Ann Marie did on renovating this house! Not only are the interior appointments perfect, the workmanship without fault, the Parisian influence throughout the house (even sandblasted windows having Paris scenes), but the grounds were breathtaking! Jack has a wealth of knowledge about the history of the house, the garden, Eugene, and the state of Oregon. And breakfasts were just delicious, as if we were at a cafe in France. A wonderful experience all around. If you are going to Eugene, stay at C'est La Vie!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The inn was a wonderful stop on our recent three-week road trip through the Pacific Northwest. Clean, very comfortable, delightfully appointed, meticulously detailed, fabulous gardens, and an engaging host. The breakfast was not up to the standard that we had become used to at other B&Bs. Very much recommended, however.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRiley44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We were getting a little nervous as we drove toward C'est la Vie - the area didn't look 5 star! What a treat to see the beautiful C'est la Vie....and it is beautiful. The owners have done an outstanding job of updating while keeping the 'heritage' of the property and avoiding clutter.
The owners are delightful - friendly and informative without being invasive. We are happy to give this property an Excellent rating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The gardens alone are worth a return trip. Such a lovely, tranquil space yet so close to everything. We were very pleased with the accommodation and with the hospitality. Especially appreciated being able to work on and store our bicycles in the garage. We love this part of Oregon and the staying at the Inn tops off the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobaltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lattexpress, Owner at C'est La Vie Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Come back anytime with or without bikes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, PA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is an extraordinary B&B. The home is charming and beautiful. The gardens are spectacular. The breakfasts and sumptuous. The hosts are warm and charming. I can't think of a better place for a getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anfrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lattexpress, Owner at C'est La Vie Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

First I have to say that the hotel grounds are beautiful and I agree with a previous post that the Casa Blanca Suite is very private and comfortable. We arrived late at night and you could still see the old world charm of this house.

The Casa Blanca Suite has a sitting area, balcony, Jacuzzi, a fireplace and a beautiful bathroom. Using the fireplace at night was wonderful, especially while sitting in the jacuzzi and watching TV. We also took the option with flowers, champagne and chocolates which added to the romantic nature of the room.

With regards to the service, Jack, one of the owners, was amazing. We we arrived he was waiting up for us and showed us to the room. Jack really took care of us, providing advice on where to go while giving us some history on the building and on Eugene. During the trip we also had one of the car windows broken and Jack really came through going above and beyond what you could even hope.

Overall a beautiful stay, I am looking forwarding to the next trip where I will see where they made Animal House!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 36 in Eugene
893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 36 in Eugene
1,076 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 36 in Eugene
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
1.3 mi away
Campbell House, A City Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C'est La Vie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C'est La Vie Inn

Property: C'est La Vie Inn
Address: 1006 Taylor St, Eugene, OR 97402-4767
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — C'est La Vie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you heard?We were rated “Fodor’s Choice” for Eugene lodging. Lonely Planet also rated C’est La Vie Inn as their top pick for Eugene! In addition, we were chosen as Eugene's representative in "20 Great College Town B&Bs" by BedandBreakfast. And our beautiful inn was voted one of the most romantic places to stay by “Best Places to Kiss in the Pacific Northwest.” See why visitors from across the country and around the world have enjoyed their stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your C'est La Vie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing