We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful time at C'est La Vie Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C'est La Vie Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
C'est La Vie Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Snohomish
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time at C'est La Vie Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

My husband and I were in Eugene for the annual Hellebore open house and we stayed two nights at the C'est La Vie Inn (in the Casablanca suite) and it was great! Even though it was winter, the gardens were lovely and well kept. The house is just amazing and if you stay here, ask them some of the history of the refurbishment and the furniture. Everything has been lovingly restored, even the great grandfather clock, the mantel, etc. The staff was very friendly and even brought out the train to show us the train set in the backyard. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravenbear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
111
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

I stayed a second time at C'est La Vie Inn and was once again impressed with the peaceful atmosphere, the beautiful decor, the courteous hosts, and the attention to small details. It feels like a very fine hotel with many aspects of high quality. And they made a delicious breakfast. I wish I could find a similar place to stay in other places that I travel to.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Louis, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

C'est la vie is not your average B&B. No tired Victorian doilies or plastic flowers here! Every detail has been thought-out. The cozy rooms are lovely with just the right wall paper, linens, and accessories to be pleasing to the eye and not fussy. The bathrooms are sparkly clean. Anne-Marie is friendly and helpful and presents beautiful and delicious breakfasts. The gardens are great, too.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athena56St_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

The owners were delightful, with an after-breakfast tour of the gardens. The house is not overly spacious, but all the rooms are well appointed and the renovations were extremely well done. The mattress could have been better, and breakfast was not in the top echelon as B&Bs go. But, overall, it was one of the best B&Bs we've encountered, and we'd definitely stay there again if we ever return to Eugene.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSU_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

I stayed in the Casablanca suite, which is in the carriage house, and it had every amenity a person could want whether you were traveling for business or pleasure. A large suite with kitchenette featuring a sink, refrigerator (stocked with soda and water), coffee maker, and microwave. Immaculate. The bed was very comfortable allowing me to get two great nights rest. There is a large jetted tub as well as a well appointed bathroom with shower. There is also wireless, a desk with printer and fax machine so I could conduct business however I needed to. The sitting area was also large enough that I could have entertained business colleagues or had meetings, but I didn't have that need this trip.

To top it off the inn has been restored lovingly and meticulously, not a detail was left out. Breakfast was not huge, but very satisfying. The gardens are amazing with lots of spots to sit and relax with a cup of excellent coffee. Anne-Marie and Jack have done an amazing job.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

We were very pampered in the Casablanca room, in which we were very graciously allowed to have our young daughter. Being separate from the main house assured that no noise would disturb other guests.

The whole Inn has been painstakingly restored with obviously no expense spared. The bed was extremely comfortable and two nights of much needed deep sleep were had by all.

Not knowing Eugene, I had no problem with the location. We even walked to a restaurant for dinner.

Breakfast was delicate and delicious. In my opinion, not too much but not too little. If you are looking for a Denny's Grand Slam this won't do it for you. The coffee was good and the company of other guests and Anne Marie and Jack made the stay more memorable.

Be sure to take a drive to the wineries of the area. Stop and have lunch at Kings Estate. The wine and food are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NetBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

the place is fantastic, an old vistorian lovingly restored with amazing attention to detail. the wood work is breathtaking. garden was so well kept, food great, my 11 year old said it was like living in a palace.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anovick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Eugene
Hampton Inn Eugene
#10 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campbell House, A City Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C'est La Vie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C'est La Vie Inn

Property: C'est La Vie Inn
Address: 1006 Taylor St, Eugene, OR 97402-4767
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — C'est La Vie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you heard?We were rated “Fodor’s Choice” for Eugene lodging. Lonely Planet also rated C’est La Vie Inn as their top pick for Eugene! In addition, we were chosen as Eugene's representative in "20 Great College Town B&Bs" by BedandBreakfast. And our beautiful inn was voted one of the most romantic places to stay by “Best Places to Kiss in the Pacific Northwest.” See why visitors from across the country and around the world have enjoyed their stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your C'est La Vie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing