We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent updates have made these rooms comfortable and enjoyable”
Review of Timbers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timbers Motel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Left Coast
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Recent updates have made these rooms comfortable and enjoyable”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I've always known the Timbers as the cheap motel downtown across from the bus station. In past years it had an edgy feel and was rather dilapidated. But it always had bargain rates, even when the town is full for football games.

Our recent stay was a pleasant surprise. The rooms have been updated and are much cleaner and comfortable. Our king bed was great! The rooms have microwaves and refrigerators and are a decent size. The Timbers is a great bargain and right downtown!

Room Tip: Request a second floor room just to be above the parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    135
    28
    5
    9
See reviews for
74
114
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Nice, classic hotel. Walking distance from good restaurants, arts and theatre. Well kept rooms and nice staff. Clean. When friends/relatives come to town, I always suggest the timbers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Timbers excellence comes from its awesome staff. The family that run the motel ensure that you are happy and have a pleasant experience. I highly recommend this motel over any of the other ones in Eugene that are overpriced and are not worth the money you would pay.

Room Tip: If you are a frequent business traveler the staff here will help you keep maintain a regular room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkellih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We chose this place, because it was a great value and located downtown. We were only in Eugene for one night and this gave us the opportunity to walk around downtown. The check in was smooth, the exterior of the hotel is very pretty and well maintained. The initial room they gave us reeked of cigarette smoke, so we requested a change, which they did right away. The second room was better, it seemed to be partially renovated, with a flat screen tv. The room and bathroom was clean enough, I liked the hand held shower which is rare. The wooden roof was nice too. I read some of the earlier reviews with the wooden flooring and was looking forward to that, so was disappointed that we had a room with the older carpet. Also, the smell of cigarette smoke was still there, and we had to keep the windows open and the ac on, to try and get rid of it. We had a decent nights sleep, and the breakfast was simple but worked well (bagels, muffins, bananas, coffee, but no milk). I would recommend this place only for the location and value.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neelam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The Timbers is located right downtown in Eugene, so it's pretty convenient to everything. We got a room on the top floor with a king bed, and it was great. Yeah, the patterns on the bedspread, carpet, and curtains screamed "motel" but they were all pretty new. The room has obviously been renovated recently, and has nice touches like HDTV, a taller-than-average shower head and nice tile in the bathroom, and a very comfortable mattress. Here on the top floor, there's a vaulted natural wood ceiling that's very pretty. The price was very good, the room smelled clean, and it was quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for the larger room with a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is a basic motel--not a place to hang out, but very clean and inexpensive. If you close your eyes, the tacky-print bedspread and drapes won't bother you. It's got a wood floor--hence the name, "Timbers." It's on the main road so it feels a little exposed. It's a short drive to University of Oregon and is fine for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceweather18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This economy motel was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Wooden floors gleamed under several coats of varnish. The furniture , while modest had no scratches or worn spots. The experience was very comfortable, although there was no facility to print airline tickets. I did not attend the complimentary breakfast so can not comment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kovuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.5 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.4 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#14 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbers Motel

Property: Timbers Motel
Address: 1015 Pearl St, Eugene, OR 97401-3110
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
#4 Family Hotel in Eugene
#6 Business Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Timbers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Timbers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Motel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing