We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice room; comfortable, casual hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Really nice room; comfortable, casual hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had a great room at the Holiday Inn Express in Eugene, a one-bedroom suite. I used Priority Club points, and when I made the reservation this suite was the same number of points as a regular room, so I felt like it was an excellent deal.

The bedroom was small, with just a king bed, two nightstands, and a dresser with a flat screen TV, but it had a window that opened, and an air conditioning unit. It also had a real door (unlike some “bedrooms” that are not separate from living areas) that opened into a short hallway. The bed was comfortable, and had a double-sheeted comforter, and four pillows (with pillowcases identifying whether they were “firm” or “soft”)

The bathroom had two sinks, black granite countertop, a Jacuzzi tub, and large separate shower. The rain-shower head was really high – I think a 7-foot tall person could stand under it and not have to duck.

The living area was roomy, with a sofa and coffee table, two upholstered chairs and three end tables, a large dresser, fireplace with a large flat screen TV mounted above it, and a kitchenette area with small round table and two chairs, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, bar sink, granite counter, and disposable dishes.

The breakfast was the usual hotel buffet fare: scrambled eggs (they had to be from a powdered mix), bacon, biscuits and gravy, hard-boiled eggs, small individual yogurts, four kinds of dry cereal, bagels, cinnamon rolls, muffins, coffee, and several kinds of juice.

In the parking lot is a Dutch Bros coffee stand with two drive-through lanes, and a walk-up deck. It’s open from 6am to 11pm. The barista there said there’s another Dutch Bros in Eugene that is open 24-hours a day, which I suppose makes sense for a university town. The hotel is near the Willamette River and a nice, long bike/walking/running path that runs for miles on both sides. There’s a bus stop right in front of the hotel, on a busy street (but with a signal light, so it’s easy to turn).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meginoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    144
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
181
100
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had a one bedroom suite on the top floor (4th). The room was spacious, clean and modern. The bathroom was large with a jetted tub and a big separate shower. There were two sinks and the toilet was in its own cubicle. The kitchenette contained a small refrigerator, microwave and sink. There was a dining table/desk. A hideabed sofa and love seat formed the living area and provided easy viewing for the large wall mounted flat-screen tv. A gas fireplace came on with a flick of the switch and provided heat and ambiance. Temperature was controlled by a wall mounted thermostat for both heating and cooling. In the separate bedroom we had a very comfortable king size bed. There was a tube type tv that was adequate for watching a bit before sleep. A separate thermostat controlled the temperature in the bedroom and the fan noise was not too loud. Being on the top floor noise from neighbors was not really an issue but I did hear the phone downstairs ring. We also heard the trains but it did not annoy us. Although a train whistle did wake us, we were both able to get right back to sleep. The breakfast area was kept clean and well-stocked. The pancake maker at a push of a button worked well. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a pleasant stay.

The Grill next door had a great happy hour from 3-6 and was a good value for bar food. We had two carne asada soft tacos which were fine but our favorite was the teriyaki chicken wings (7) for just $5.00 with carrots, celery and ranch dressing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Eugene Holiday Inn Express is extremely nice, with very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Our family of 5 stayed in a suite, and the pull-out bed was one of the nicest we have seen in a hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet is terrific.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My daughter (UO 2012) had trouble in her apartment during my visit. A quick call to Holiday Inn Express got us a great rate. MacKensie couldn't have been nicer or more sympathetic on the phone. Michael made checkin simple and a real pleasure. The hotel seems brand new, immaculately clean, and has a very cheerful and happy staff. It's quiet, clean, well-located and well-staffed. What more can you ask for? Oh, did I mention that breakfast is included in the price? I've stayed at a few hotels in Eugene, and this is my absolute favorite.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn , CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed at this property for a visit to University of Oregon with two teenagers. Was very happy with the size of the suites with 2 double beds and sleeper sofa. Beds were very comfortable. Location is great, right across the street from the University. The Dutch Brothers drive thru in the Parking lot is a plus as a good cup of morning coffee is right at the doorstep. Teens liked the breakfast, plenty of food and choices cannot comment on the quality. We could hear the shower go on next door, had a top floor room so other than that no noise. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vistaatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed with my husband and two teenage daughters for a couple of days last week while visiting UO. Excellent hotel and I highly recommend it.
Clean, good service, great hot breakfast; all the amenities someone would expect in a hotel. Rooms are quite spacious and well appointed. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahSmithGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. We work hard every day to create a memorable great experience for each of our guests, I am so happy we succeeded with you! We hope you enjoyed the University, and that you will stay with us if you visit in the future. Make sure in the future to ask for the UO Parent Discount – 15% off our Best Available Rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The good: this hotel is quite close to campus - I walked to the Knight Law Center in 15 minutes - and, as other reviewers have noted, it is clean and (apparently) new. The room was comfortable enough, and equipped with a small fridge and microwave. The lobby is, as they say, nicely appointed, spacious, and inviting, and the staff was pleasant and professional. Also, there are a few decent restaurants and a very nice grocery store a short walk away (5 minutes or so). The wireless and wired internet are free and work fine, with good bandwidth.
The less good: There is, strangely, a train that runs behind the building, at least once a day (while I was there). I wouldn't say that it's loud enough to wake anyone up, but if you're already up and trying to read or something, it is a bit distracting. Also, the 'fitness center' consists of one treadmill and one stationary bike (or maybe it was a second treadmill - in either case, nothing for resistance training). That's it.
Even less good: the morning breakfast was a wreck, even by the standards of free-hotel-lobby breakfasts. The eggs were more obviously powdered than I've ever seen before (roughly the consistency of cottage cheese), and the bacon was limp and wet. One doesn't expect much at these breakfasts, but still. On the plus side, the cinnamon buns were ok, and I didn't try the pancake machine. OK, maybe 'a wreck' is too strong, since there's the usual instant oatmeal and coffee/tea and breadstuffs that one can make into a filling breakfast. But the eggs and bacon were so off-putting that I didn't even try anything else. (The coffee was blandly diner-ish, but the charming 24 hour drive-through coffee stand in the parking lot does a trifle better.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chihambuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahSmithGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for the constructive feeback about our property. Our breakfast is mandated by the Holiday Inn Express brad, but I will gladly look into our products and see if we can make some changes so that they are more appealing to our guests. I also appreciate the feedback regarding the work out facility, this is something we are looking are revamping late this year and into early 2012. Thank you again for taking the time and we hope that you will stay with us again so we can show you the improvements we are working on making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
2.5 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
0.4 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#14 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Address: 2117 Franklin Blvd, Eugene, OR 97403-2079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
#2 Family Hotel in Eugene
#2 Business Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Eugene s leading Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites! We are just steps away from the University of Oregon, Autzen Stadium, and the historic Hayward Field. Stay with us and cheer on your Ducks for any sporting event! Families enjoy our Spacious Suites and Complimentary Hot Breakfast while business travelers take advantage of local business only a few short blocks away and complimentary wireless and hard lined internet options through out the entire hotel. Everyone can appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff that can get you where you need to go or help you relax. You have endless shopping and dinning options as we are in the heart of Eugene, with the brand new Boulevard Grill next door and many other down town dinning options to choose from. Eugene is known as the World s Greatest City of Arts & Outdoors and when you stay with us you have access to the best with Alton Baker Park s renowned running and biking paths located just behind the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Eugene is proud to be Oregon s School Activity Association s headquarter hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Eugene
Holiday Inn Express Eugene
Holiday Inn Eugene
Eugene Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing