We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel and restaurant near the University”
Review of Excelsior Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best hotel and restaurant near the University”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I've never been greeted by such a friendly and sincere employee at the front desk of a hotel! She showed us to our rooms with my in-laws and took very good care of their needs as well. The rooms have a lot of character but are very tastefully done. The restaurant serves very authentic Italian food and the service was very attentive and genuinely friendly. After dinner we walked just a few blocks to the University grounds which is a beautiful campus. I highly recommend all aspects of this hotel if you like to stay in places that are privately owned and offer unique experiences.

Room Tip: Rooms are named after famous people - see if there is one that speaks to you or ask for a recommenda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 196rndthewrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    41
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
62
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Excelsior has, in no order, superb staff, a stunning kitchen, an absolutely lovely warm clean friendly inn, an easy comfortable welcoming tone, terrific wines, and a general calm professionalism that makes it utterly unthinkable that we would ever stay anywhere else in Eugene. Reasonably priced, astounding food and wine, meticulously clean lodging, friendly and personal staff – we drove away smiling from ear to ear that there was such a treasure not just in Eugene but in Oregon. Rarely is a stay at even the best hotel truly memorable. This was. If you cannot stay over, at least have dinner there. Wow.

Room Tip: Book early. There are only 14 rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BJD599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed for two nights with another couple in August before a Willamette Valley trip. It's really a B&B, so to those who complained about the limited breakfast options - usually there are no options! We found the menu to be more than adequate. We ate dinner outside our first night and enjoyed both the food and the wine as well as the garden setting. Oh and I forgot about the live music! That was nice too. The decor in the rooms was as billed, "old world charm and European elegance." Very tastefully decorated. However the bed in our room (Puccini) seemed more like a full than a queen. It was comfortable enough for me but not so much for my husband who is close to 6'4". We had no complaints about the staff or the service, they were helpful, attentive and polite. The hotel was a great start to our Oregon adventure.

Room Tip: Website pictures of the rooms are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

You can't beat this place for staying in Eugene, if you are going to the University....We just happened to stay here as we toured the Willamette Wine Valley. The bed was very comfortable, and they did manage to upgrade us when the room that we had booked and confirmed on was not available....It is a good thing the hotel wasn't booked totally or we would have been out of luck. Also, if you are looking for coffee before 7:00am, you aren't going to find it. You have to go down stairs to the restaurant for coffee and breakfast, which doesn't open till then. Then you have 1 beverage, 1 entrée, and 1 juice allowed for overnight guests. We ordered sausage and that was extra, and the quiche had soggy crust. Nice Inn, but a poor B & B.

Room Tip: If you need early coffee, you need to go down the street to a coffee shop...If you are a late riser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We called late in the afternoon and got the Verdi-room for the night. It is a small but very comfortable room with a very good king size bed. The bathroom is not to blame for anything either. If you have time to study Verdi while staying, you´ll have the opportunity to read several books about Verdi that are placed on the shelf. The classic american breakfast is generous, and the staff is kind. We parked our rental car in the back yard of the Inn, but had difficulties to find the entrance, which is through an alley around the left corner seen from the main entrance. Parking in the back yard is free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A number of us stayed here for a wedding. Rehearsal dinner at the Inn, wonderful menu and waitstaff.
Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly; hotel itself is charming, only 1/2 block from UO campus. Terrifically comfortable mattresses!

Room Tip: Stay on the back side, overlooking the parking lot, but really, any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

You cannot beat the location of this B&B in proximity to the University of Oregon. Beautiful quaint room and incredible restaurant with fantastic food. I have already made my reservations for next June and didn't even check availability at other hotels before booking! I traveled solo and stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was tight but worked really well. Parking at the hotel is limited but they offer several options close by that work well too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.7 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#14 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Inn

Property: Excelsior Inn
Address: 754 E 13th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Inn features 14 European styled elegant guest rooms with a fine dining restaurant on site. A full breakfast is included, all rooms have private bathrooms, free wireless is available throughout. We have two rooms pet friendly (Mozart and Verdi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing