We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping Around-----Unique Style”
Review of Excelsior Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sisters, Ore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sleeping Around-----Unique Style”
Reviewed 9 April 2007

This is one of our favorite places to stay in Eugene. The
accommodations have a Old World charm with all the
modern comforts and conveniences. A very elegant bed
and breakfast withsuperb dining. Not only are the rooms
wonderfully done but its a must to enjoy the fine cuisine
from Chef Maurizio Paparo. Fine wines, great regional
dishes, special desserts along with great service makes
the Excelsior Inn the perfect romantic stay !
Can't wait to return Thanks for the excellent get-away.
Bill & Ronda

  • Liked — We really enjoy all the art-work, stained glass, paintings, ect, in the Inn
  • Disliked — nothing, everything perfect!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Iflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    42
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
62
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2007

very elegant europian style inn, room was cozy but very clean and well appontied. The service very frindly and attentive in the inn and reataurant, the food was terrific with anice wine list. The parking very small but the staff take good care on explaning.

  • Liked — restaurant- location - charm
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank winemangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

We had lunch in this restaurant and the food was overpriced and of poor quality. It was no better than a franchise restaurant that microwaves prepared food. The wine was $8.00 for a glass 1/3 full. Major rip off.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank easternoregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

We stayed there for a night and were very pleased. A great bed & breakfast in the heart of Eugene. The staff was very cheerful and helpful. It is a quaint structure with beautiful wood work and plenty of art on the walls. Our room wasn't large but well appointed. It was quiet, even though it is across the street for a hospital. The restaurant served great food as we had both dinner and breakfast there. Parking is a little limited but workable. We'll definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Combination of beautiful & cozy inn with great restaurant.
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WoolyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Arrived after 10p and the Bistro was still open and the food was excellent. That was a real plus. Parked in front of the hotel and drug all our luggage with us through the front...but the entrance to the rooms is in the back, down a narrow but beautifully landscaped path. The waiter from the restaurant ran around to meet us in the back. Do wish that we had known where we could have parked. (Go down the alley!) Staff was wonderful, but the biggest thing was the VERY small room. Paid almost $200 for the room, so yes, expected something a little more elegant than the little room we got. Of course all the pictures for the hotel on the internet show the bigger rooms with nice comfortable chairs and side tables. Furnishings nice though except for the tiny little tv stuck in a corner. No room for luggage for two people. Tripped over things for two days. The fixtures in the bathroom were all new and everything worked great, however the only place to put any thing we needed except the floor, was a narrow foot and a half long glass shelf over the sink, or the back of the toilet. Very frustrating. (The shelf was full of the hotel things ... basket of soaps, glasses, showercaps, etc. that all had to go to the floor)

  • Liked — The restaurant, the entrance to the restaurant, the food, the employees.
  • Disliked — Crackerbox room
  • Tips/Secrets — Find the parking lot first. Then locate an employee to check you in.. Before you drag your luggage around!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Therese2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2006

If I ever visit Eugene again, I will stick with a large chain hotel instead of this B&B. Some of the positives:
* The hotel was very clean
* Breakfast was very good and free

The negatives:
* The service was lacking. To check in, we had to navigate our way to the restaurant to find someone that could check us in at ~1PM. After 5PM, there is no front desk service and the only entrance is locked. All employees are at the restaurant after lunch time. This made me feel like the hotel was an afterthought.
* Many of the rooms have undesirable dimensions. The hotel is an old victorian frat house. Most of the 3rd story rooms have extreme slopes--if you are over 6-feet tall, you will head butt the ciling/wall slope at least once. If you are claustrophobic, you will not want to be on the 3rd floor.
* There were many laminated notes all around the hotel and rooms for standard operating procedures. Many of these notes were stained, dirty and dingy. Yuck! They would be better off printing new notes every week.
* When I had to call the front desk about wireless internet issues, I was sent to voicemail. I am glad I did not need assistance with a real issue.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tw0thirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2006

I stayed at this inn while visiting the University of Oregon, and was highly impressed. The proximity to campus is ideal, and there are other interesting attractions within walking distace. We stayed in the Puccini room which was perfect. We basically loved everything about this inn - the staff, the location, the decor, the food - plus it's a great deal for students. The complementary breakfast is amazing. I would highly recommend the Excelsior to anyone traveling to the Eugene area!!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sbrinkmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 36 in Eugene
1,076 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 36 in Eugene
893 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#12 of 36 in Eugene
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
0.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Inn

Property: Excelsior Inn
Address: 754 E 13th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Inn features 14 European styled elegant guest rooms with a fine dining restaurant on site. A full breakfast is included, all rooms have private bathrooms, free wireless is available throughout. We have two rooms pet friendly (Mozart and Verdi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing