We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Eugene and have great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
“Visit Eugene and have great food.”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I took our 17 year old to visit Univ of Oregon. We always look to stay at a comfortable place that will also provide exposure to real people and background of the area. Most of the time a bed & breakfast fits the bill and our recent two night stay at the Oval Door. We choose this location from the background we read about the owners on their web site. Both Melissa and Nicole are hands on owners that have a very comfortable location, convenient to explore the heart of Eugene. Their attention to little extras and open nature to share their experience was a big plus for our trip.

Amazing, tasty and hearty breakfast each day, combined with fresh cookies and wine at night made our visit extra special. A great spot!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardguycalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    15
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
65
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Three couples spent Presidents' Day weekend at this lovely B&B. All of us were VERY pleased with our rooms, the breakfast and the friendly service. The owners took care of every detail to make our stay enjoyable. They referred us to a fantastic restaurant, just 2 blocks from their B&B (which is in a excellent location being within walking distance of the downtown). When we return to Eugene, we all agreed that we would want to stay at the Oval Door again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Communicator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Arriving on a warm sunday afternoon in Eugene Oregon was not the most exciting experience in our lives, but the Oval Door b&b had promised us on their website a pleasurable and comfortable stay which it turned out to be. Nice spacious room, large bathroom, clean and very good bed. There was a computer for the guest in one of the communal rooms downstairs and a nice sitting/dining room. Breakfast was excellent, freshly prepared. The innkeepers do not live on the premised, so you get a lot of privacy. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobecAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the Oval Door, and wish we could have stayed longer. The Rose room is charming, spacious, with a great bed(and day bed), and good reading light. The house is quiet, and the breakfast is very good. Oval Door is located in a leafy part of Eugene, within walking distance to everything downtown. So, Oval Door is our new Eugene favorite!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOWE
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Nicely updated property. Tastefully decorated. Nice, large room with a very quiet A/C. Free complimentary vine/ beer/ coke. Great breakfast and very nice owners. Parking is a bit cozy, but safe. Residential area with easy access to the interstate. Very pleasant and quiet stay. Clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoweDZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We just finished 5 days at the Oval Door in Eugene. Our only complaint was that they couldn't fix the weather for us - it was rainy, wet and quite cool for July. Other than that - the room was lovely and much nicer than expected (we stayed in the Bamboo Room); the breakfast was also outstanding, and again exceeded our expectations. Restaurant suggestions were spot on. Nicole and staff outdid themselves! We have already booked a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mom2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My family was on a college road trip and we stayed in many inn's, hotels, and bed and breakfasts, but this charming, homey bed and breakfast was by far our favorite. Due to traffic and other components we were late to check in, but it was not a problem at all. The innkeeper, Nancy (who was helpful, sweet, and very kind), helped us get settled and gave us the lowdown of the inn. Our rooms (forget-me-not, and bamboo) were delightful and perfect for us. They had chocolates waiting for us and in the hallway (a little common area) there was a great setup with complementary wine, beer, soda's, juice's, teas, coffee, and cookie's. The next morning we woke well rested and went down to breakfast, which was delicious and plentiful, and met a few other nice guest's. All in all The Oval Door was great and we will surely be back! I recommend it to families, friends, couples, and solo travelers 100%!

Room Tip: The bamboo room and the forget-me-not were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlebluebird101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 35 in Eugene
854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 35 in Eugene
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#5 of 35 in Eugene
672 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.2 mi away
Downtown Inn
Downtown Inn
#12 of 35 in Eugene
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 988 Lawrence St., Eugene, OR 97401-2827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the amenities and privacy of a fine hotel with the comfort and charm of a boutique Inn. Located in downtown Eugene, The Oval Door is perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Full gourmet breakfast each morning with in-room coffee service if desired. Complimentary red & white wine, micro-beer, Coke products, sparkling water and fresh-baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing