We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Nice to Come “Home” To”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torrance, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Nice to Come “Home” To”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

When you’re on vacation, it is always nice to have a home away from home. That was what the Valley River Inn was for my family during a recent trip to Oregon for a family reunion and a white-water rafting excursion. On our first night, after a long and wearing drive from PDX, we were greeted warmly at the front desk and were quickly checked in. We were happy to find our river-facing room to be spacious and clean. We were short one towel set which, after a call to the front desk, was quickly despatched and more towels were brought to our room by a friendly attendant in a matter of minutes. Breakfast/brunch at SweetWaters, seated by the window looking at the river view, was a great way to get ready for the day. With twelve people at the table, we were able to get a sampling of just about everything on the menu, and everything we ordered was delicious. The wait staff was friendly, patient, and helpful. We had a busy itinerary so we weren’t at the hotel for most of the day, but Valley River Inn with its comfortable rooms and friendly and helpful staff was a great place in which to end and start our day.

Room Tip: Get a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    243
    107
    39
    28
See reviews for
212
165
46
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I was looking forward to giving the Valley River Inn another try after a disappointing visit 2 years ago. I was excited to hear about the long-overdue and much needed renovation.

I recently booked online direct through the hotel's website. I booked the "2012 Summer Sale- 10% off One Night, 20% off Two Nights, 30% off Three Nights" rate. Our plans changed and I just called the hotel (over) a week in advance to cancel our reservation. I was shocked to learn the rate was a "NON CANCELLABLE RESERVATION". I did not have to pre-pay, so I did not catch this critical detail. I assumed, like most hotels, this reservation could be cancelled.

I just spent some time on the phone with reservations and a manager. They apologized and offered to modify the reservation for another date (within a month), but were not able to cancel the reservation.

This is the first time I ever encountered this type of rate/policy. I was really caught off guard -- a valuable and expensive lesson learned!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandWelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValleyRiverInn, Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your reservation at Valley River Inn. We appreciate your willingness to give us a second chance after a disappointing stay two years ago.

I remember speaking with you a couple of weeks ago and apologize that we were not able to resolve your concerns to your satisfaction. From time to time we do offer nonrefundable or non-cancellable rates in order to help our guests save money by guaranteeing their reservations. As with any other rate, we try to inform our guests of these policies by listing the rate as nonrefundable on our website and mentioning that the reservation is non-cancellable to our call-in guests.

I was glad to see that you were able to stay with us after all on your original arrival date. Hopefully you were pleased with the vast improvements that were made during the renovation and enjoyed the great service that Valley River Inn is known for. Please reach out to me directly if you have any suggestions or feedback regarding your stay at mmedsker@valleyriverinn.com.

Warm Regards,

Mike Medsker
Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

There have been several new owners of the Valley River Inn. All gave lip service to modernizing the Inn. The current owner is doing just that. The rooms are furnished in modern style and very comfortable with river views. The employees are friendly and professional. And the menu for food service has been revised for modern tastes and is fine. No complaints. E Rocca

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side for a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our stay was relaxing and we felt taken care of...the concierge room was fabulous and the bar tender actually remembered what we wanted from our previous stay!! Thanks valley river we will see you again in September.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside rooms or suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have been traveling to Eugene for many years and have stayed in a couple of different hotels. By far we enjoyed our visit to the Valley River Inn. In fact we booked out annual trip back to Eugene and will be staying again at the Valley River Inn. I would recommend a room that is facing the river. It is very relaxing and peaceful. The pool was enjoyed by the entire family as was the exercise facility.

Room Tip: Facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucetheactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veneta, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Valley River Inn is located in a city just 15 miles from my home. I have recommended it many times to family, friends and business associates. I did not truly realize what a treasure I have in my own backyard. Recent events in our household has made time for quiet reflection, personal connection, or just plain sleeping and relaxing difficult. This coupled with our own busy work lives made travel to a nearby resort difficult to impossible. So my partner said... how about staying at the Valley River Inn? I was intrigued- the reservation was made... a room by the river was secured.... and we made plans for our getaway. We arrived, were greeted by wonderful people, entered our private sanctuary, opened a bottle of wine, put our feet up and after about an hour of staring at the river- felt like ourselves. IF you are coming from out of town... this is a great place. If you live in the Eugene area, THIS IS A GREAT PLACE to come and relax and return to your own center. We had a great time; we will do it again.

Room Tip: A room on the riverside has a small patio where you can watch small crafts float by, osprey play and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I was in town for a conference. We brought our dog with us for an overnight stay. Valley River Inn is perfect for pets. After dinner we took a walk along the river path which was easy to access. The hotel has been renovated and looks fresh. The room was large and the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up in the morning. I loved the all white linen! Breakfast in Sweetwaters the next morning was delicious. We sat with a view of the Willamette River and I had amazing Eggs Benedict. I like the new look of the hotel and always come back for the friendly staff and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Valley River Inn. I am so happy to see you enjoyed yourself wihile visiting Eugene. We pride ourselves on our location and guest service. As you mentioned, we are a very pet friendly hotel and love having our furry friends with us.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have you as our guest again should your travels bring you back to the Eugene area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 35 in Eugene
1,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 35 in Eugene
873 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#13 of 35 in Eugene
583 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Eugene
Comfort Suites Eugene
#14 of 35 in Eugene
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Property: Valley River Inn
Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing