We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it was”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
bend,oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewer. We stayed in October and the carpet seemed old, the room smelled like mildew and the bed was terrible. I was expecting more for $259.

We could hear the outdoor speaker playing music throughout the night through the window and finally around 2 am when I contacted the night auditor to see if she could shut it off she told us she no longer had access to the music system.

This was a spectacular property in it's heyday but if it's been renovated they missed the room I had.

Desk clerks were very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    237
    105
    39
    27
See reviews for
204
163
46
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washoe Valley, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for the 2013 Eugene Marathon. It was clean and classy and the staff was friendly and helpful. The property is beautifully landscaped and was pet friendly. They even had little scoops and waste baskets out for the dogs staying with their families.

The river flows gently just outside your door and the mall next door is full of good stuff to take home. They even have a Ducks store inside the mall so you can prove you visited Eugene.

The restaurant was very nice and the food good.

I liked the way one wall of my room opened up via sliding glass door right out onto a wonderful courtyard. Just make sure you close the curtains before changing or showering. Ha ha ha...

Green Features: This is another amazing Green Hotel. There is lot's of evidence of caring about recycling and being green everywhere you look. Bravo..
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandbtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was SUCH a huge disappointment. My husband and I wanted to get away for one night to relax. We checked into a smelly (smoky) room and it all went downhill from there. We were in the building across the way, so perhaps it is better in the main building but our room was an absolute disgrace. The front desk lady (Becky) told me all the rooms had been updated. This just cannot be a true statement. The room was DIRTY, outdated, smelly....such a let down. The paint was chipped in the bathroom, the grout in the bathroom was mildewy--just disgusting. The pillows were hard and the bed had springs poking me all night....sigh. As if the room wasn't bad enough, our neighbors next door had unruly kids who were loud and sadly, incredibly obnoxious. They were up at the crack of dawn and the mother was yelling from about 6-8am (I'm assuming that's when they went to eat). Obviously, the neighbors were not directly the hotel's fault....but, unfortunately, the whole experience was horrendous. Wait....the maintenance guy, Travis, was a really nice friendly guy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsmo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValleyRiverInn, General Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience. We have actually completed an entire ronovation of the hotel, restaurant and public space.

I do apologize for the deficiencies you encountered inyour room, and the noise from the next door neighbors the following morning. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments to that the necessary corrections and improvements can be made. We truly appreciate your feedback, it is very important to us to hear what our are guests experiencing with us.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, so you can experience what we are truly known for.

Warm Regards,
George Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national tour
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel was great. There are two buildings so make sure you know which one to go to. The lobby extension is very nice. And who knew in Sept we would want to sit by the fire.
We had a medium size group and when we arrived our rooms were not ready. They were quick to get the process going but it took some time.
The rooms were great. There is shopping and food in all directions for walking. The restaurant inside looked great but well above the average person's budget. I bowl of soup was ten dollars alone.
I would stay here again if I was in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinglizard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Couldn't be happier - parked right out side our room - the room was luxuriously appointed - I would recommend a refrigerator - the room was HUGE. The bedding was brand new - everything with brand new. Loved it. and having the upscale restaurant attached made it perfect. And the price was right. Will never stay anywhere else. Winner!

Room Tip: if yo must have Coca-Cola products bring your own this is a Pepsi location. Half the rooms face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValleyRiverInn, General Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at Valley River Inn. As you mentioned, we were completely renovated and are very pleased with the results.

I have shared your comments with the team, and this type of feedback really means a lot to them. It helps to to remind them that what they do makes a differrence and gets noticed.

We are happy to see that Valley River Inn will be your choice when you travel back to Eugene.

Warm Regards,
George Rogers
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in a river-view room on the concierge floor and loved every minute of it. That river view is beautiful and soothing.... and the walking paths along the river provide hours of exploring in a gorgeous setting. Breakfast and "happy hour" in the concierge room - especially when Chris is on duty - are fun as well as delicious.

Room Tip: A river view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hhoollyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My hubby and I stayed at The Valley River Inn over a cool November weekend recently. What a nice place. The room was well appointed, the beds very comfortable, the view of the river from our balcony stunning, and the meals, both in room and at The Sweetwater Café fantastic. All of the staff was friendly and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Oh, and the nearby shopping was a big plus.

Room Tip: We chose a balcony room overlooking the river. Even in the cool fall, the ability to go outside and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 35 in Eugene
1,038 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 35 in Eugene
854 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#13 of 35 in Eugene
572 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Eugene
Comfort Suites Eugene
#15 of 35 in Eugene
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Property: Valley River Inn
Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing