We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to say it was NOT a good experience.”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
brookings, oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sorry to say it was NOT a good experience.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have stayed many times at Valley River Inn. This past March my husband and I stayed there after making a river view room reservation in January. Amazingly enough...when we checked in, we were given NOT a room on the river, but an interior one and told there was no room on the river available. Really? Three months later when I had the copy of our reservation in my hand?
The room was dirty, at best, and the towels and blankets were threadbare. I was beyond disappointed. The only highlight is Chris, the host in the concierge room for breakfast and evening appetizers. He rocks. The rest was a huge disappointment. Had dinner and lunch in Sweetwaters, the restaurant. Poor at best. Used to be a wonderful place.....guess they only care about football fans and conventions now. Too bad.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    248
    108
    44
    28
See reviews for
219
166
48
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Chris was a great host at the concierge host the evening refreshments and the evening breakfast. Worked hard making us and others happy. Knew a lot about whiskeys & whiskeys.
Hans at the desk has a wealth of info that can save you time and money on your visit

Room Tip: see Hans for an upgrade…river view is great.
See more room tips
Green Features: If you stay for more than 1 night you can save by refusing daily room service
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here as it was relatively close to the University, where my daughter went to orientation. The proper sits right on the Willamette River, the restaurant overlooks the river, and was quite good for breakfast.
The rooms were dated as another person mentioned. I didn't mind that, but what I did mind was that there were no towels in the room! I called the front desk, and it took 30minutes and a second call before the towels (cheap and thread bare) arrived. This hotel has such potential, a gorgeous river view, large rooms, and a nice pool. With a little more attention to detail, and perhaps some new towels, and updates this could be a go to for me....

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a river view on the 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
Green Features: Shampoo, Conditioner and body wash were multi use in the shower
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to an event that our son had. Check in was easy, and we were given adjoining rooms which was nice (149/151) the rooms were ample sized. A few minor complaints are that we heard the people directly above us walking around their room until midnight. The floors were very creaky so perhaps earplugs would be a good idea. Also, the corners in our rooms were in need of a thorough cleaning. Other than that, the rooms were tidy. Also the rooms each had a hair dryer, iron and a Keurig coffee machine. It would have been nice to have had a small refrigerator in the room, but no such luck.
The hotel also has a small workout room, but I will say that the machines were up to the standards of the gym I belong to which was a nice surprise.
There is also a small kiosk near the registration desk where cold beverages and snacks are sold. A small bottle of water was $2.75 and a 20 oz soda was $3.00. It was nice to find a sugar free, caffeine free soda which many places do not sell.
There is also a Starbucks nearby as well as a frozen yogurt shop. Costco is a few miles away and a great place for gas if you are a member. There are a number of places to dine in the nearby area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Novaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

For not much extra, the Concierge level offers a staffed catering room with good free breakfasts, fresh fruit, and generous free drinks and hearty fresh snacks in the early evening. The rooms are plenty big, clean, and quiet. Staff are friendly and professional. Beds are comfy. If you opt out of daily room cleaning, you get a $5 coupon for Sweetwaters restaurant. The hotel's bikes are free for a couple of hours. Rooms with a river view have balconies with chairs, and you can watch the always-moving Eugene athletes and bike commuters and families running, riding, and strolling by on the path below, or tubing or kayaking on the river. At the giant woodsy park on the opposite bank, people bring their dogs down to the riverside and toss out things to be fetched. The wide flowing water has currents and ripples and rocks. An evening breeze rustles the leaves of the birches next to the hotel. Aaahh.

Room Tip: The river view adds a valuable dimension.
See more room tips
Green Features: Free bikes available and a $5 restaurant coupon for not having your room cleaned.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyelderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We love having breakfast on the deck at the Valley River Inn. Great menu, beautiful view, and great service. We had Kim as our waitress and she was superb. Attentive, friendly and efficient. A great way to start off a summer day in Eugene.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Clean upscale place to stay in Eugene. we were told it is the nicest place in Eugene. room was clean. place was placked with 4 weddings in town. got a little noisy Sat night.

the restaurant Sweetwaters was good and a little pricey. Servers seemed to be over whelmed. please staff up for a busy summer weekend.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandvisitorChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 36 in Eugene
1,076 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 36 in Eugene
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#12 of 36 in Eugene
612 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Eugene Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Property: Valley River Inn
Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing