We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Pier Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, United States
2 reviews
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel staff were very professional. The bed was extremely comfortable. The one and only negative for seniors is the lack of an elevator. The breakfast was good and the hotel restaurant food excellent - as good as or superior to any Florence bay front establishment. The view of the river and Florence is vastly improved since the previously obstructing trees are now felled.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Kevin B:

Thank you very much for your "Great location" review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the 5 star review and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed your meals at our new restaurant, The Bay View. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    340
    88
    38
    22
See reviews for
364
506
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florence, OR, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Loved our room & view of the Florence Old Town Riverfront, estuary, dunes and birds galore. The complimentary hot breakfast was the icing on the cake! We unfortunately did not have the opportunity to use the spa facilities, but they appeared top notch. We live in Florence & would definitely steer guests to the Pier Point Inn

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Kathryn B:

Thank you for the 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your confidence in us and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as breakfast. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us an online review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This my fourth or fifth stay at the Pier Point Inn and I highly recommend it. I appreciate that the front desk calls your room after you get settled to make sure everything is ok. The rooms are modern, the beds are very comfortable, and I love that they give you a choice of five pillows on the bed, with different levels of firmness. The only thing I would watch out for is that some of the rooms require many steps to get to. Since I have a rolling suitcase plus a rolling computer bag, I always request one of their rooms with a ramp. Makes a big difference! The breakfast room has an incredible view of the water and the bridge, and they have all the usual breakfast items, including eggs or omelets to order. Their new restaurant, the Bay View Bistro, is excellent! Much nicer than your average hotel greasy spoon. ;)

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EmilyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear EmilyLovesToTravel:

Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a TripAdvisor review. We want to thank you very much for your continued business to our hotel and for being such a loyal, return guest. We are in the process of exploring the feasibility of adding an elevator to the property as we do hear many guests asking for this additional amenity. We hope to make that a reality in the future.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dan & Elisa, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have stayed in many Best Westerns and from the exterior, we weren't sure what to expect. However, the hotel staff was great. The room was one of the best Best Western rooms we've stayed in & overlooked the bay front. Our room had the bed, plush leather sofa & chair, dining table & chairs, a desk w/ chair frig & microwave, & 2 sinks. The pool area was very good with a large warm indoor pool & 2 jacuzzis. They had cookies available on arrival. Later when we asked if there were any left, they were willing to make more for us. The breakfast included someone cooking eggs & omelets, waffles, 2 types of sausages, biscuits & gravy, hash browns, breads, cereals, yogurts, fruit, juices, & more. There is a restaurant on site. It was a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gail Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Gail Z:

Thank you for the very detailed review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with other travelers. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be able to come back to see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Yes, it is a bit pricey BUT our room was very clean and had been updated
(on 3rd floor) we LOVE walking up the stairs:-) good exercise if you are able.
Breakfast was good, it is INCLUDED remember!
We went to a wedding on Dunes, it was very close to Dunes as well as close to
Old Town, Florence for walking around all the lovely little shops.
Would stay again.
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear tdybr:

Thank you for your 4 star review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the additional exercise around the property. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the BW Plus Pier Point the evening of 10/7/13. Apparently this is the off season here in Oregon. When we pulled up to the lobby there was a yellow plastic tape - like a crime scene - prohibiting use of the front entry. Guest are routed to a nearby side entry.

The lobby is certainly clean, neat, and cozy - not opulent or impressive - but nice. The young lady at the guest check in was very nice and helpful. The check-in process was smooth.

This is a motel style hotel with walk up or down on the exterior of the buildings. Our room, as requested - was on the third level which is one level up from the parking. This was not a huge issue for us but others may to want to be toting luggage up stairs so be forewarned. No elevators.

The room we were given had a nice view of the river and town. This was really great. The issues that contributed to the grades and this poor review begin with the interior of the room. The musty smell of the room was apparent even through the strong smell of room fresheners. The floor in the center squeaked so loudly that once my family laid down I walked around it - especially when they were asleep. The furniture was clean but clearly old and not what I expect from a place rated so highly here of TA. Maybe it is time for TA and AAA to hire some different people to do site visits.

We did not request a different room for several reasons. First and foremost, I had requested when I made the reservation a Allergy and Pet Free room. At that time, I was informed that there were not many rooms with two beds that fit this criteria. The young lady at the front desk knew that I had preceded our visit with this request and stated so at check in. We had to believe the housekeeping and front desk staff had coordinated - right? We concluded this was the best we were gong to get in this hotel. At 10pm we were not prepared to go shopping for a different place to fit our needs.

Not able to sleep due to my head stopping up like poured cement I left the room in the middle of the night and went to the lobby to sit. I told the gentlemen at the front desk who apologized but did not make any attempt to address this issue in any substantive manner whatsoever. Believe me it was clear I either had the worst head cold, flu or allergies - my voice was what you expect to hear when you are so congested your miserable. Also, it was 4:50am.

After sitting in the lobby till breakfast began to be served at 6 am I sat down after ordering two eggs over medium with fully cooked whites. Suffice to say this was not what I got. When I asked the people cooking at the omelet station to cook the eggs till the whites were fully cooked I watched as the young man repeatedly touched the eggs before informing me they were ready. Yuck!

I have to conclude the professional staff that know how to run a hotel with the high grades this one has received have gone on vacation or quit. Perhaps there is a shortage of good quality well trained staff? This is a small town. Perhaps this is the norm? I hate to think so since this is a well traveled area. Whatever the case this hotel needs professional help and at very least a smart housekeeping manager who understands request like ours and food service people who know not to touch food they are cooking and serving - especially in plan view!

It bears mentioning that due to this experience and the one we had at the Bridgewater Restaurant that coming in the off season may mean being prepared for less from the businesses that cater to traveler, tourist and TA members. What a shame!

For the cost of this hotel and the ratings here on TA I expected more. Boo!

Find somewhere else to stay when you come to Florence, OR. I am certain a better experience in lodging is available.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere or talk directly to a manager and/or housekeeping before checking in. Don't get st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schnedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear schnedavid:

We regret that you had a poor experience at our hotel recently. We have discussed your stay quite in depth as a management team and always attempt to take all feedback, good and bad, and learn from it. As you know, Leisa, the manager, spent quite a bit of time with you in the morning (after you had already posted your review on TripAdvisor). I know Leisa mentioned to you, the room you stayed in was fully remodeled four months ago and she and our Chief Engineer did a full inspection of your room while you were at breakfast and could not find any of the issues you mentioned. Nevertheless, we apologize that our night auditor at 4:50 am did not offer to move you out of the room at that time. We do read all reviews and truly care what our guests think and want you to know that this is as disappointing for us as it is to you. Also, regarding the yellow taped area, we are in the process of changing out our slate at the front entrance and while it's not convenient for the guest, it is a safety issue and we need to keep the area clear until it is completed.

Lastly, the staff and management of this hotel have been the same for at least the past year and I can assure you they were not on vacation during your stay.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckner, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Rooms are clean and the views are beautiful as you look out over the river. Do yourself a favor and try the restaurant. The seafood and desserts are worth every penny and the service was great. i took a group of 16 travelers and all commented on how pleased they were with the experience. I do this same trip with groups about every year and we ALWAYS stay at the Pier Point Best Western - ALWAYS!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Dominic G:

Thank you so much for the awesome review on TripAdvisor! Leisa, our manager, was very excited to see your review as she knew that your group seemed very, very pleased with their recent stay. We really do appreciate the online compliments and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.5 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
24.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 12 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
18.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
0.4 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#2 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pier Point Inn

Property: Best Western Pier Point Inn
Address: 85625 Highway 101, P.O. Box 2097, Florence, OR 97439-8501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pier Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western
Best Western Pier Point Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing