We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG....The stairs!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tigard, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OMG....The stairs!!!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The ONLY reason why I am giving this hotel 4 stars was because of the dang stairs. I understand....It's an older property and it's LITERALLY built on the side of a hill. It hasn't been 100% updated so because of that the elevator hasn't been put in. It's on the menu of things to do I hear but I hope it gets done soon because I won't be back again until it is. It was really unfortunate because my knees are KILLING me at this point. I wanted to go to the hot tub/pool everyday but only went once because I just couldn't do anymore stairs. Not a great place if you are handicapped. Rooms were fairy quiet. We only had noise on one side of us but can't complain, it was parents with children. The other thing that was a bit frustrating is you can't get to your room (at least, where we were) from the inside of the hotel, you have to go outside and around so when it's raining it's again...Very frustrating. Room was VERY clean and it was handy to have the microwave and the fridge. When we came into our room it was EXTREMELY warm in there and the heat was on. We turned off the heat and it was still very warm even after opening the door and the T-Stat continued to say it was 80. The next day when we were leaving I told a guy walking around on our level and it was fixed when we got back to our room. The breakfast was wonderful. It's not top of the line, natural or organic food....But it's free and it's a great start to your day and they have wonderful options. This is the first time I have been to one where your eggs are made to order. Beds were VERY comfortable!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 121. Great room with 2 Queen beds and a balcony. The unfortunate part about this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Javene H:

Thank you for your online review regarding your stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that everything (other than the stairs) was to your satisfaction. Yes, we are built on the side of a hill and avoiding stairs with our property is nearly impossible. Thank you for mentioning how clean your room was and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We wish you the best in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Dan & Elisa, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    367
    101
    43
    23
See reviews for
413
542
45
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I travel for work frequently and this fits my needs very well. Good internet access, local restaurants with great food, amenities for exercise and spa. Breakfast bar and omelettes makes for easy start in the morning when I am off to the next appointments.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear John D:

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you stay with us for your business travel and we continue to meet your needs. We very much appreciate the positive feedback and want you to know that we very much appreciate your business as we know you have a choice when deciding where to stay in Florence.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Pine, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A great view...great fitness room, restaurant! Room was very nice! Clean, modern and quiet! I spend 220 nights a year in hotel rooms....I wish they were all like this! I will use points and bring the family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear James T:

Thank you very much for your "awesome" review!

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We travel a lot with our two little poodles. Best Western is our first choice because of consistent high quality. We are willing to pay a premium for a little luxury. The Florence Best Western does not measure up even though the price for a king bed was over $150.
The only king beds are on the third floor......sorry no elevator! I'm 81 and the climb dragging 2 suitcases was exhausting and left me breathless. The room was nicely furnished and the king bed was very comfortable. But once "living" in the room glitches started showing up.
The floor slopes to such a degree one feels unstable when walking. The "bedside" lamps are so high that that you have to climb out of bed to turn them off. The only available iPhone charger outlet is across the room from the bed necessitating another out of bed requirement. The dinner at the adjoining restaurant was good but $$$$.
The "free" breakfast was excellent.
If we had gotten twin queens on the level 2nd floor we would have eliminated our problems ( mostly) and saved money. THE DESK SHOULD HAVE SO INFORMED US, especially when my age was noted.
One bad apple will not ruin our Best Western Loyalty...... but it will raise our CAUTION level.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grizzlygiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear grizzlygiant:

We are obviously very disappointed by your review. We regret that your stay was less than excellent truly. We do our best to train staff to ask the right questions to make sure a guest is in the most desirable room/location for them, but this did not happen with your stay and we apologize. We've talked in detail about what occurred during your stay and again apologize that your stay was not the "best". We would love to have another chance with you should you be in Florence. Please contact Leisa Perkins, to book your next stay and let us prove that we are the best!

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great view but is a little funky, since the floors seem to slope towards the river. This stay was my second and a weird smell was coming from the closet. I thought it might be bug spray, but front desk clerk said it was a bag of chemicals to keep away mold and mildew. Not exactly the smell you want to expose to your clothes.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NWJohnJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear NWJohnJames:

Thank you for your review. I want to make sure there was no confusion as to what the item you referred to as "a bag of chemicals" was in the closet. Being a property located on the Coast, we can experience moisture in our rooms and therefore have used a product, which is used often in homes, called DampRid which absorbs excess moisture and odors in the room. You can google the product if you would like to see what it is and how it works. We actually often get comments on how it has a very nice ocean breeze scent and it should just make the room a bit fresher by having moisture and odors absorbed by the product.

Thank you,
Dan & Elisa, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Even though we pulled in late and left at check out the next morning, I really liked our room. It was clean, spacious and had a nice view of the river. The girl that checked us in (wish I had her name) was really nice and funny. I loved the bed - clean and comfortable. Our room was quiet even though the hotel seemed to be close to full. Didn't eat at the breakfast buffet the next morning, but I am sure it would be good. They have a nice area for it. I hope to come back to Florence, OR one day and stay at this Best Western. I found it to be a resonable price for a nice place.

Room Tip: We had room 565-A. Seemed to be a little more secluded in it's own area and had a nice view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raebanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear raebanned:

Thank you for your "Lovely" review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the room. We hope you will be able to come back again real soon for another visit.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It starts with a very friendly front desk,and warm cookies! The room was spacious,very clean.The king bed was good.Breakfast made to order.super! The view was a bonus.We were travelling home to Canada,a great hotel that meets our needs we will remember.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear holly v:

Thank you for your "just passing through" review. We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,
Dan & Elisa, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.5 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
1,993 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
24.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pier Point Inn

Property: Best Western Pier Point Inn
Address: 85625 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pier Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western
Best Western Pier Point Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing