We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere - good food”
Review of Kelly's Cantina - CLOSED

Kelly's Cantina
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A relaxing atmosphere on the Siuslaw River. Comfortable, non traditional patio furniture that encourages you to sit back and relax as if you are truly on vacation. Even the locals feel as if they have had a break from everyday life!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere - good food”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Enjoyed the quieter atmosphere of the restaurant. All the food was good, the beet salad was excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TGInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    9
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impossible Wait”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've shared this review before on another review site, however, for some reason, it was taken off of that site after I got this message from the Owner "Kelly" who said "Who ARE you?" Then the review disappeared. Very strange. Our party of 8 who had reservations for dinner arrived at 7:30 on time, and were told that the tables weren't ready yet, and to sit at the bar and have a drink, which we did. Then one drink turned into two into three and at 9:00 we were seated. A few of us wanted to just leave, it was ridiculous, but others didn't want to risk losing our place in line (a joke). We ordered our food and it was "alright" but none of us raved about what we had, and certainly we didn't think it was worth a 1-1/2-hour wait. This was in the summer of 2012, although the timeframe on the review doesn't go back that far. Let's see if TripAdvisor allows Kelly to filter out this bad review.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lydiagirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

What a nice surprise to walk into this storefront cafe to be greeted by a friendly host who seated us at a table overlooking the river. The seats not facing the water were swivel, so it was easy to view the scenery from any seat! The food was fresh, well prepared and nicely presented. I ordered the skirt steak salad, everything was delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CGCEugeneOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ollantaytambo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Odd interior but good food and service”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

When we were there, we walked in the front door to a room empty of staff or customers. It doesn't even seem like they use the front half of the building for food service but maybe this is because we were there around 8pm...is there a big take out crowd at lunch? We started to wander back where it seemed like the activity was and a server materialized just as we discovered what is I guess the main dining area and bar at the very back of the building. It's a little crowded with tables back there but they have nice french doors open onto the river and a small balcony. Our table and chairs were actually patio furniture and my chair had a rocking mechanism which was awkward for dining at a table. Overall, everything was clean and the staff friendly but at this point I was just feeling confused if they were actually a restaurant with a dinner service or we had wandered into some sort of bistro-themed snack bar in the back of a gift shop.

Very thankfully, the haphazardness of the layout and furnishings did NOT extend to the food. Our meal was fresh, imaginative and prepared with skill and care. Case in point: the chowder was creamy and flavorful yet the texture remained light, it was really unique and well-executed. Everyone was happy with both seafood and meat choices, especially the tacos. The kitchen is tiny because it's basically been set up in the center of the dining room, so I was all set to receive mediocre, reheated food but once again my expectations were wrong.

Basically, Kelly's has a pretty good thing going on with their chef and menu, but need to do a little work making their bistro "concept" cohesive and upgrading the surroundings to match the food. Highly recommended as a diamond-in-the-rough meal or drinks in casual surroundings with nice views of the water.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0swella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch - Beautiful View”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a wonderful lunch - we each ordered the specials. The food was made to order, with care and it was all delicious. The view was gorgeous - I highly recommend you try this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meeemzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly's Cantina also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing