We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrifying experience, Nasty, toothless drug people running the place .. YUCK.. Do not stay here , I've never wrote a review, Ne”
Review of Silver Sands Motel

Silver Sands Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Sands Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Florence B&B and Inns
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
“Horrifying experience, Nasty, toothless drug people running the place .. YUCK.. Do not stay here , I've never wrote a review, Ne”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've stayed at many motels, cheap and expensive, most all the cheap rooms are at least clean, The Silver Sands is a dump, worse motel ever stayed at, DO NOT STAY HERE, the managers look and act like they are on meth or something, So dirty the bed was stained with pee and blood , beds broken down with a horrifying Oder , years of people sleeping on them and not being changed, worse place I've ever stayed, Will be reporting to all agency anything possible where there's a complaint, Went to look for there web site and if corse, It says shut down for non payment, they come over from over seas run our motels down then collect all the money till nothing's left to run any more they go back to where they came from and were left cleaning up the pile of garbage looks like the case here.. Tax dollars hard at work

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommySr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penny r, Manager at Silver Sands Motel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi, I just wanted to let you know that The Silver Sands motel is now under new management, we have been renovating rooms, putting down new flooring. We have hired new housekeepers and have solved the problems that you encountered, i am so sorry for your experience here. Our rooms are now clean, and beds replaced. thank you, the new manager..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    12
    5
    18
See reviews for
14
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Veneta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We showed up and had to go in to ask if they had rooms because their neon sign for no/vacancy wasn't on. When we asked what their rates are they told us for all rooms it's $50/night no matter how many people or beds plus $5 in tax. Friendly service. Room seemed clean but that's about all that was nice. Heater didn't work, beds are uncomfortable. TV didn't work, holes in the curtains so light was coming while we tried to sleep in. We asked for non smoking, but I'm prettty sure people have been smoking in this room since the dawn of time. Fan in the bathroom sounds like thunder it's so loud. BUT it was extremely cheap. Won't be coming back unless we're stuck with no vacancies at the last minute again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyOfTheJungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed there on our anniversary in September 2012. The manager and her partner went above and beyond our wildest dreams to make the stay and our time memorable. The kindness poured in greater than any I have received in 4 star hotels. The rooms are not luxury but the people who managed the place treated us like royalty! I tell everyone I meet who might stay in Florence how kind they were.. If I am ever an instant millionaire I will totally remodel that place for free for them.. What heart.. I cant say enough how I appreciate their care when we had very little to spend on a room and our anniversary!! #14 Thank you!! I hope things are going well for you and that you are still there! Sincerely, Shell

Room Tip: Our room had a king size bed and a couch plus microwave, fridge, table and a nice enough tv.. the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlinprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

I needed a cheap hotel that wasn't too run down. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was as expected. Old, out of date but VERY clean. The walls are paper thin! I would stay here again. Great location right off Hwy 101. I felt very safe here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awaywego1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I only stayed at the Silver Sands because it was the only room in town. My room was on the second floor and it was pretty poor. Each step while in the room resulted in creaking floor boards. Okay, I could deal with that. Trouble was, each step by the folks in both adjoining rooms resulted in the same (loud) creaking noises.
Okay, I could deal with that by sleeping with earplugs installed in my ear canal. No problem.
What I could not deal with was the incredible number of red welts cause my the bedbugs! Holy Raid, Batman!
Pulling back the sheets and carefully inspecting the mattress revealed a veritable Times Square at midnight on New Year's Eve crowd of the little rascals.
Folks, if you have to sleep in your car, DO NOT STAY AT THE SILVER SANDS MOTEL!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tominseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Growing up an hour from Florence, I've stayed in nearly every hotel along the coast. This is by far THE WORST!! We checked in, dropped off our stuff, then spent the day at the beach. It was night when we got back, so we just wanted sleep. Pulled back the covers and holy crap! The entire box spring was rotted down to the springs! Someone say bedbugs? The sheets had some reddish stained droplets I can assume were blood. We ended up driving home then! We were in the room for close to 30 min in total, but since we checked in earlier, no refund. I wish we would've taken the time to look around room earlier. Completely filthy disgusting carpet. Cigarette burns, fridge didn't work, never tried microwave. Also half a roll of toilet paper with no more in the room! A very poor choice for a guy trying to save a few bucks. I'll spend the extra 10 or 20 and go ANYWHERE else next time!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-train911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I decided to stay on the coast for the weekend. We stayed in Newport one night and then the next night we drove down the coast. I was looking for something decently priced and this was not it! We went out to a nice dinner and then headed back to the motel. We got inside and the windows were open in the room and it was cold. We turned the heat on comfort zone which was about 70 degrees on the thermostat and the room felt like it was 85 degrees all night. The tv remote did not work. The refrigerator and microwave were shorted out and did not work properly. The continual shorting out of the fridge was the most annoying sound ever. The sink had a continual dripping of water and thus, rust stains were in the sink. There was mold all over in the bathroom and the sheets on the bed were stained. The place is run down. We went to sleep and were woke up at 1 am by two guys that were placed in the room to the right of us. They were up talking until almost 1:30 am as the walls are paper thin. Once they finally went to sleep I could hear them snoring as if they were in our room. We were woke up at about 6 am to the couple in the room directly left of us having loud intimate sessions. The walls are paper thin and my wife and I did not get any peace and relaxation here. There are other motels around that are 20 to 30 dollars more. Take my word for it.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you purchase if you have to stay at a motel this cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.9 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
1,978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
1.5 mi away
Economy Inn Florence
Economy Inn Florence
#13 of 13 in Florence
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Motel

Property: Silver Sands Motel
Address: 1449 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439-9620
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Sands Motel is under new management, and new housekeepers, our rooms are clean and well supplied, we hope your new experiences with our motel will be good ones. We are still pet friendly, but in only certain rooms. We are renovating many rooms at this time, in honor of who you are..Thank you new management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Silver Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Motel Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing