We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Our car window was smashed here!”

John Dellenback Dunes Trail
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beware! Our car window was smashed here!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

There were five cars when we left and we headed up to hike. The view was spectacular! Easy hike and we took lots of beautiful photos like we were in the Sahara desert. The sand was powdery and felt really good on your feet.
Lo and behold after having fun in the sand, we went back and we saw our car window smashed and of course, some valuables were stolen. Even if they were hidden, we had a plate number from a different state and we were targeted. Plus, maybe coz we're the only SUV/ card left.
Such misfortune. I recommend this place but beware. The cop said many trail parks have been targeted these days.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Drive straight out as far as you can to the Jettie and be prepared to be amazed. The Dunes, the massive beach, the waves on the rocks. Great place to pick up sand dollars and shells. Fantastic mystical place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanneatl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4-5 hours but worth it”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We are both in our 60's and only thought we'd want to see the dunes but once we reached the dunes (it is a short distance through a wooded trail to the dunes) we thought we'd just walk into the dunes and then we continued on. The best hike we ever did. At the end of the dunes you have to walk another 3/4 mile trail. The trail is part boardwalk through a forest canopy. To reach the ocean is the best feeling. The markers are somewhat difficult to follow but if you stay the course it is not that difficult. We loved the trail. Would suggest to get started early in the day rather than later.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank virgil_ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
476 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Awesome Trail Disappears With the Wind!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Use you senior or other National Park Pass or pay the $5 fee.

The walk from the parking lot is easy with some gr8 views available to most, regardless of fitness.
But the longer hike to the coast is quite strenuous walking up and downhills in soft sand. Also, be sure to get your bearings or bring a GPS on windy days, as the footprints that mark the "trail" disappear in the shifting sands during strong afternoon winds (which are prevalent) or rain.

It was impressive enough that I'll do a guided tour of the dunes on an ATV while in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Experience Pristine Dunes without Motorized Vehicle Noise Plus some Tips”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After the parking lot, there is a short 10-15 minute jaunt to the dunes. The parking lot is under the day use registration which is $5. Well worth the cost.

After the walk in,it opens up and you are welcomed to a spectacular view of the sand dunes. You will need to climb up the first big one to get your bearings but once there you can see all the way across almost to the ocean. We didn't take the 2 mile walk to the ocean since we had the kids with us so we stayed by the first few dunes. They never got bored digging holes, writing in the sand and running up and down the dunes. That was 3 hours!

If you plan to make it tot the ocean, either bring a great sense of direction or a compass/GPS. There were no trail markers to speak of.

In regards to footwear, we read recommendations but found that hands down the best was to go barefoot. The only part needing any kind of footwear was the trail in and probably the wooded sections. As always, use caution in sand.

Also, sand will get absolutely everywhere. We were given the best tip, which was to use talc to help shed the sand from clothes and body. It worked like a charm. The only side effect of course it that you go a bit white!

Wear sunscreen!

The best thing about this trail is that it allows you to take a very large stretch of dunes and without the noise of ATVs and other motorized vehicles for a more natural experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Dellenback Dunes Trail also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to John Dellenback Dunes Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing