We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's wrong with average?”
Review of Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What's wrong with average?”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lighthouse Inn on Labor Day. My honey stayed here twice last year on a coastal motorcycle trip and recommended we stay here together.

The Lighthouse Inn has been in business since 1938. It has a charm - yes, it's a bit tired, but it's priced right and it's clean and it fits the bill if you're spending one night before moving on. The owners were not overly outgoing, but pleasant.

The Lighthouse Inn is on Hwy 101 and we had a street-facing room on the 2nd floor. We got there around 5pm and the room was stuffy, but the room had a ceiling fan and we opened the windows (after much effort - they appear original to the building). The room was clean, homey and the bathroom spacious. We kept our windows open and weren't too bugged by traffic noise.

It is an easy walk to the riverfront and we ventured down in the evening and again in the morning. If we're in Florence again I would consider the Lighthouse Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    66
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
43
71
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Kidding aside, this creaky old inn has a creepy, kitschy charm, but yes, it does need a little tender loving care in the form of upgrading.
Best to make reservations for the weekend, or if arriving mid week, best to get there before 5pm. The night we arrived, there was 1 couple ahead of us, then about 3 more arrived within 10 minutes. The mad room dash was on!
The price is right- @ $120 a night. Wi-fi is included but could not get it to work in the room, had to walk back to the lobby to get it to "kick in".
Front desk was very helpful and had a very positive demeanor. Bathrooms are very 50's inspired with minor updating. The shower stream hit my chin so had to duck to wet my hair...
The worst culprit is the dirty looking wallpaper trim that was centred mid wall in the rooms. It was rusty brown with maple leaves and looked like someone's soiled toilet paper- not pleasing to the eye in any way or form. Why they put it up is bewildering- it doesn't add anything to the room, unless it's concealing foundation cracks (which could be possible).

It's location accomodates the tired traveller, as it literally is a block away from the Old Town waterfront and 2 blocks from actually entering the Old Town.

The room's walls are paper thin- heard 2 people going at it for about 3 minutes the next morning, only to see the older couple in their late 60's emerge later (hey, gave me a giggle, as you could hear his every word...)
The main lobby has all sorts of board games in the lobby, and I felt like I was living out a "Clue" fantasy- that I had been summoned to this inn to learn of someone's fate- it has that kind of creepy appeal (but not so creepy that you can't sleep at night).
When the sun starts going down, it gets chilly and damp so bring your long sleeves/pants out in case you walk into town.
So yeah, if you're not hung up on staying somewhere that has it's own rewards program, or has more shabby chic than sleek and sultry, this could be your perfect refuge, but you may tire of it for more than 2 nights of poor wifi reception.
It is about a 5 min. drive to the Three Rivers Casino which was a lot of fun- and they have a free shuttle that can pick you up every half hour.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside may be quieter than those on the front which face the highway. Ask at the des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Lighthouse Inn is located on US 101 in Florence, Oregon, near the south end of town. It's an unassuming, small hotel that celebrates its history. Part of the hotel dates from 1938 as the Hotel Ragan and the other part dates from 1952. There is a roomy lobby with couches, antiques, and a fireplace. There are models of lighthouses and historical photographs placed throughout.

When you check in you are not given a plastic swipe card, but a set of metal objects resembling mountain ranges called "keys." These will operate doors. In a nod to modernity and cleanliness, you are also issued a TV remote at the front desk. The fixtures and furnishings are old, yes, vaguely mid-century, but that's part of the charm.

Even though our room faced the highway, once Florence rolled up its sidewalks it was surprisingly quiet. There was hardly any traffic noise and we got a good rest. That is what a roadside hotel is supposed to do for you.

For those who wish to wake up instead, there is a small coffee shop at the north end of the building.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Exit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Walking in to the lobby is like walking onto a movie set--period atmosphere, nice hosts, lots of games and reading materials in the lobby. When they handed us keys (not keycards) to the room and to the hotel itself (they lock the front door at 11), we definitely felt we had stepped back in time. We had adjoining rooms 33-34 on the second floor; they were small but clean, with comfortable beds, and plenty of quiet. I would definitely stay there again--much more enjoyable than some of the chain hotels I used during a recent vacation to Oregon.

Room Tip: Rooms 33 and 34 (with intervening bathroom) would be great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crcrumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We actually liked the feel of this place as it felt more like a bed and breakfast. We stayed here at the end of June for 3 nights and had a great time. The gal at the front desk (Rhonda) was so nice and helpful. We had a room on the second floor that although it was small it was comfortable. I especially enjoyed the lobby area with the sofas and games. We actually sat down and played a game of checkers at the table near the window and watched the rain. Here is a list of my pro's and con's for staying with this place. We ended up taking a platter of cookies to thank them for being so nice to us. For the price, even though it was small, I feel this place gave us bang for our buck.

Pros: Really close to town, clean, friendly, ceiling fans in the room, Large bathroom, VERY comfy bed (memory foam mattress). Lobby has a great central sitting area with games and a large fireplace.

Cons: No elevators for upstairs. No pools or jacuzzi. Wi-fi is kinda fuzzy. No cable tv. No refrig or coffee pots. No air conditioner. No screens on the windows (but the windows open). Older TV's (they should probably go to flat screens). Parking...when they are full can be an issue. The rooms need to be updated as the pictures and the decorated hats should go to a garage sale.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinole, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hotel was in a convenient location. Since it is right off the 101 you will get traffic sounds. The room itself was a bit humid when we walked in and there isn't an AC unit in the room. The area is cool and the windows are openable. However there are bugs outside. Since we prefer to sleep when cooler, it was either deal with the bugs or be hot and humid, not ideal. Either an AC unit or screens on the windows would of resolved the issue. The shower head was position at about chest/stomach height (I'm about 6), it could probably use a S extender. Note: this isn't a B&B, not sure if mis categorized.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

wimberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had our trip planned for almost a year and had made all our reservation months in advance which included a nights stay at the Lighthouse Inn. However two weeks before we were to start our trip we had a serious illness of a family member requiring the trip be rescheduled. This was done with all our reservations including the Lighthouse Inn. Then as luck would have it, within a few hours out on our first day of the trip a lady ran a red light and totaled the vehicle we were operation. Fortunately we were OK but our trip was delayed 2 days. This required again rescheduling our reservations including the Lighthouse Inn. 8 days into our trip we were to stay at the lighthouse Inn however 200 miles short of our destination to the Lighthouse Inn we ran into seriously bad weather stopping our ability to go any farther. You see the couple traveling with us was on a motorcycle and the danger to them was far too great to continue forcing our inability to make our reservation with the Lighthouse Inn.

This is when we were so rudely addressed when we tried to just cancel our reservation. We were told they would not consider another change to our reservation and that we would be charged full price and they didn’t care about our personal problems; it didn’t matter as they will get paid no matter what.

It gets even worse as they had charged our credit card on the first reservation even though we had canceled the reservation over 3 weeks before we were scheduled to arrive and they were refusing to credit our card for this error.

So after hours of phone calls and putting up with inconsiderate rudeness we gave up on working this situation out with the folks at the Lighthouse Inn. So then we contacted our credit card company and discussed ways to resolve the issue. Due to the fact that the Lighthouse Inn did not actually provide any services or product to us and we had meet all their cancellation rules they were charged back for over $300 in charges made to our credit card. You see the room was about $75 each and we had reserved 2 rooms, one for us and one for the couple traveling with us. That is 2 rooms for 2 different dates both of which were canceled within their rules.

Travelers beware here!!!!

Room Tip: beware with this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela44k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LighthouseInn, Manager at Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
I am truly sorry if anyone at the Lighthouse inn was rude to you. However I just want to take a minute to respond to your review.
When you asked to change the date of your reservation I happily did so. I did let you know that you needed to advise Expedia of the change as they held your reservation and your money.
We have NEVER received any payment from them for your reservation. Also the last time you called it was to cancel and it was early afternoon on the day of your revised reservation.
We do have a 24 hour cancellation policy as is stated on your Expedia confirmation.
I am sorry your trip did not go as planned. Manager at Lighthouse inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
1,978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.6 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Economy Inn Florence
Economy Inn Florence
#13 of 13 in Florence
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Breeze Motel
Ocean Breeze Motel
#5 of 13 in Florence
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Property: Lighthouse Inn
Address: 155 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439-9647
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic property is conveniently located on Hwy 101, within walking distance to Old Town restaurants and shops. Guests enjoy complimentary tea and coffee served in the spacious lobby, free parking, free local calls and an on-site natural foods restaurant and market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Lighthouse Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing