We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty setting on the river and convenient to restaurants”
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River House Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent a late afternoon and overnight in this pleasant hotel/motel on the Suislaw River. The rooms were pleasant, clean, the bed was comfortable and the room had a balcony overlooking the river...a wonderful bonus.
It was a very easy walk to the shopping/ dining area. We enjoyed window shopping, watching a seal play in the waters of the marina and had a lovely dinner recommended by the inn manager.
Breakfast was disappointing... continental breakfast, very generic.
If you are sensitive to noise....there is traffic noise from the bridge that is near the inn.
If I were to come through here again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks on your stay here at the River House. Yes we are close to down town Old Town and all their nice little shops and restaurants. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
There are newer reviews for River House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Super location, one block from Old Town and restaurants and water front. Quiet rooms, very clean and modern. Bathroom sparkles and bedding is terrific. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful with dinner suggestions. Great breakfast. Had none waterfront room but since I was staying with my brother, a "romantic" room was not in order!! Meet great people from Tennessee at breakfast, here for the Oregon/Tennessee football game, so this was an added bonus to the stay. You won't go wrong if you stay here.

Room Tip: Only two selections, river side or non river. Always book 2nd floor for no noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Yes, River House Inn does have a great location and we do have a lot of great little shops and restaurants with in a few minutes of walking. We want to thank you for your kind remarks on our rooms and especially thank you for your overall great review. Hope to see you again sometime, it is people such as yourselves that makes this job fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I'm big on having reservations in advance for everything, but today we had a hole in our ten day Oregon trip and decided to go on the fly. Luckily I had tripadvisor app on my phone. The reviews for this place looked nice and the town of Florence seemed appealing. and when we arrived we were not disappointed. Get a room w a river view and you won't need the flat screen tv. Two chairs and a little table avail on the little balcony, and inside we have two chairs and a small table too. It got a bit chilly outside so we could sit by the sliding glass door inside and watch the boats.
It's a short walk to the shops and restaurants of old town. Once you arrive you don't need to drive. The room is comfortable and clean and
nicely decorated. Microwave, refrig, coffee maker in room and nicely decorated. Not a plush fancy type place, but thats not the atmosphere in this lovely town. This motel is just right. One other note.. They have a coin op washer and dryer avail which was just what we needed today. Free continental breakfast which we will have tomorrow. Hey it's free, so whatever it is will be a plus!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your great review about our rooms. We are pleased that you enjoyed our community, view and your stay here at the River House Inn. We hope that you are enjoy the rest or your trip, and are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we have stayed across the river on a previous trip and that place was a very poor choice. this time we wanted to stay near the shopping and food. our room was nice with a balcony overlooking the river and bird watching. the only concern was the bathroom had very little counter space which is a real pain in the you know where.
the breakfast was ok like most free ones are..nothing special.
we were only a 2 minute walk from the restaurant where we had reservations and that was worth the price of admission.
the hotel has ample parking. we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTravler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review, our goal her at River House is to help our guest have a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very nice property. Have to keep talking to get to a decent price for this small town. Clean fair size room with king bed, Quiet. View to a spectacular bridge is obscured by bldgs. Downtown location so easy walk to everything in this town.

Room Tip: Try every connection to get the lowest price.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLGIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you liked our Rooms and the view from our River rooms. Yes indeed, Downtown is an easy walk away. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location is perfect.we had a river view room on the second floor.  Beautiful view of the river and bridge from the room and balcony. Our room was very clean and nicely appointed for the price.  Now for the negatives, it's an old style motel with exposed stairs. The laundry and breakfast room are in detached buildings across the large parking lot and down the stairs.  It was windy and pretty cold to be going back and forth in the morning. No air conditioning in the room led us to leave the sliding door open which was a little scary but on the second floor it was ok. On the ground floor??? Had to go to the front deck for a bottle of 

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jennydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank your for your kind thoughts on our clean rooms and our furnishings. Yes indeed, we do have a great view from our River Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a clean, professionally managed motel in a great location within walking distance of Florence's Old Town restaurants. We paid a little more for a river view room with a balcony, and it was more than comfortable, roomy, and had a very good view of the old highway bridge, a peak of dunes, and some bird and boat traffic. Although we got some predicted drizzle, we even enjoyed the view in the rain.

Room Tip: I'm sure the non-river views are a better value, but if you want to experience the river, and do...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredtraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your great review about our rooms and our breakfast. We are pleased that you enjoyed our community and your stay here at the River House Inn. Yes , the view is really great and some what relaxing even when it is a little damp out side. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
13 reviews
45.7 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
0.7 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 1202 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9648
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £93 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence
River House Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing