We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River House Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Florence”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a newly renovated hotel in Florence Oregon, where even the smallest detail like a makeup mirror or the Hair dryer exceed the norm, I would say this is a Hilton class Hotel.
The service is excellent, we had a room with river-view and balcony.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We often check Trip Advisor to make sure our guests are happy with their stay. When we get a great review like yours, it makes our day. We are pleased that you put us in the category of a Hilton Class Hotel. Although stretching it a bit, we really do appreciate the comments that you made. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    391
    102
    29
    12
See reviews for
301
594
49
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here on our drive down the Oregon Coast and did have a room on the river. It got cold during the night and we could not find any blankets in our room. We were told the next morning they had them at the front desk, but at 2am I didn't feel like getting dressed and ringing their bell.
I also used the computer in their lobby and realized a week later that it was the source of my email address and password being hacked. My entire Contact List got two "bogus" messages about a relative being in Scotland and needing a transplant and the 2nd email asked for money. My contacts were smart enough to either ignore the "bogus" emails or call me.
I do recall that when I logged in a "pop-up" box appeared for a brief moment and later realized
it was some form of "copy key strokes" software.

If you choose to stay here DO NOT USE THEIR LOBBY COMPUTER!

Room Tip: The person who checked us in seemed indifferent and was not very friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPaWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosslady897, Owner at River House Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Our heartfelt apologies for your uncomfortable stay. Our manager would happily have brought you extra bedding if you had called the front desk. We were concerned about your comments about our lobby computer. We called in a computer specialist who reported that the lobby computer was “clean” and that problems you later had with hacking weren’t due to our computer, a great relief to us. We hope you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topanga
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This place was highly rated so we picked it based on that. We weren't disappointed, since we got a lakefront room with balcony. The only complaint we had was the paper thin walls that we could hear everything.. So maybe next time we would request a top floor. Otherwise in this town it is the best place to stay in. Remember it is a motel so don't expect a hotel. Otherwise it was clean, service
Was great, and location great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Yes, River House Inn does have a great location and we are pleased that you was not disappointed. Because of location, we have guest such as yourselves keep coming back to visit us. We do want to thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms - well appointed and we paid extra for a river view... Beautiful! Only and biggest problem is that the bedroom walls are very thin and we heard folks on both sides of us most of the night... Would probably not stay again due to the noise.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank suzannesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your review, Not sure what happened, but on our river rooms, we do have a problem when people leave their slider doors open to the balcony. That does get especially noisy if both rooms happen to have their sliders open. We all ways take care of problems if possible. With a phone call to the front desk we could have worked on that for you. We do apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Wonderful river and bridge view, terrific bed, great coffee and breakfast. Décor, including the rubber ducky, tasteful, restful, clean. Loved staying here and will be back. From the front desk check in to departure I felt like I was visiting a very dear friend and staying in their guest room. Walked down the street for a selection of restaurants, shops, tiny tucked away park sites all along the main street. I had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for river view. Noise from the bridge was minimal. Fun watching the seagulls and fishermen on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
On behalf of my staff and our selves, I want to thank you for your great review.. We here at River House Inn enjoy having and serving guest such as yourselves. We are glad that you enjoyed our amenities in our room. The little ducky does bring a lot of smiles from our guest. We are glad that you enjoyed your over all stay and look forward to seeing your next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Right on the River looking at the bridge, recommend you ask for a riverview room, some rooms don't have a view. Convenient to walking into the little old town of Florence and walking under the bridge is beautiful. Lots of nice restaurants and touristy stores, and art galleries.
The room is nicely appointed and clean with a comfortable bed. Just loved looking at the bridge and the sand dunes across the river. The breakfast included was so so, would liked to have more fresh fruit, it suits a certain type of person.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chi-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review we agree that our river rooms should be tried, They do have a great view. Yes, River House Inn does have a great location and we do have a lot of great little shops and restaurants with in a few minutes of walking. Again, thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Room was clean (but small), furnishings up to date. View of the river was great. Location is an easy walk to old town. Breakfast was only so-so...there was a shortage of everything, and no coffee to be had other than what we made in the room.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkp99b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review, our goal her at River House is to help our guest have a great stay. Not sure what happened with the breakfast, We constantly are going over to make sure every thing stocked and we always have 2 to 3 pots of coffee in the breakfast area. After breakfast is over, we still have a coffee pot in the office which is maintained through out the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
1,910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
24.5 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
4.9 mi away
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Property: River House Inn
Address: 1202 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9648
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — River House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence
River House Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing