We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable stay”
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River House Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked by phone on our drive up the coast and it was seamless."Beds were comfortable and the location is off of the road and quiet. Only overnighted so didn't get a river view room but had we stayed longer we would upgrade. Very hospitable owners offering lots of area activity suggestions.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. We do try to give out as much information about the area as possible. Sometimes it is easy to give out that kind of information when we have a great little community like Florence. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    410
    105
    29
    12
See reviews for
316
626
52
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our fourth stay in Florence and second stay at the River House Inn. I love this hotel! The rooms are very nice and very clean. I love the little duck in the bathroom and the crab made from towels by the sink! Very cute! I love looking out at the bridge and the river and watching all the birds. When the sun is coming up in the morning, the sand dunes to the right turn a beautiful orange so you need to get up early to see that! I wish I had stayed here the first two times I was in Florence! I'm not sure why anyone would want to stay elsewhere! The River House Inn is wonderful!

Room Tip: We love the ground floor rooms. They have a great view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great review and I am glad that you enjoyed our rubber Duck. I do get a lot of comments about the Duck in the rooms and starting to here about the crab as well. We also thank you for your kind remarks on the cleanliness of our rooms. We do here a lot of comments about the view off the bridge and the wild life as well. Again, we thank you for your great comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved the view of the bridge and the location was great for exploring Old Town. Our room was comfortable and the bed was excellent. We only stayed one night, but the room would accommodate a longer stay in comfort. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes the view is spectacular and we have some great restaurants and shops down in Old Town.We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

River House is an older style facility with relatively narrow rooms. However, the rooms have been recently been renovated with fresh finishes and lighting. Bed was comparable with higher end hotels, and furnishings would easily accommodate a multi-day visit with a desk, and a table with two comfortable chairs. Breakfast bar included a nice spread of self-serve items such as cereals, pastries, yogurts, and waffles.

The only room ventilation is through the window which opens to the walk-way, and drapes must be closed for privacy. This wasn't a problem for the quiet time that I visited, but during summer this may present more of a nighttime problem. The facility does not have an elevator, so mobility limited visitors should request a downstairs room.

Room Tip: Choose a room toward the middle of the building for less foot traffic right outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast area and our amenities in the rooms. We here at River House Inn enjoy having and serving guest such as yourselves. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing your next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We pulled off the road and found 'Old Town' in Florence. The River House is almost under the bridge so I was a little concerned.

What a surprise! The room was totally updated with really nice amenities.

We've been traveling for 10 days and this was the best place we found the whole time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jean_likes_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great comments. We get comments such as yours every once in while and that really makes our staff and us as managers feel great about our hotel. I know that traveling cross country probably does not happen often, but if you have the opportunity to come this way again, we will great you with smile and will treat you like family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year and again this year, both times on the river view side. (We like Old Town Inn as well, when visiting Florence). The rooms have beautiful furnishings and the bridge view is SPECTACULAR. Very unique! The gentle lapping of the river water, against the shore, is calming. Enjoyed watching the birds too. The room is clean and the colors subtle. Simple breakfast with fruit, pastry, instant oatmeal and waffle maker. Excellent restaurants a block away (easy walk). Note: The bathroom and sink area is on the small side. Some bridge traffic can be heard during the day. Very little traffic at night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MistyFog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great review about our rooms and our breakfast. We are pleased that you enjoyed our community and your stay here at the River House Inn. I have to agree with you, the view is great and the river creates a calmness that is very relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First let me say that I wish I could break my rating down more, I was just a quarter off from giving them 5 stars. With that said I would recommend that you seek out The River House Inn and book a room here before you go anywhere else. We stayed here from 27-Feb-2014 for 4 days and we first booked a river front room (rm 114) because it was our anniversary. The room was newly renovated and very clean and there was a Anniversary Card on the bed from the staff which was a very nice surprise, something most Motels/Hotels don't care to do and it shows that they took that extra step to make us feel special. Our second stay was on 6-Mar-2014 for 3 days and this time we took one of the non river view rooms (rm 103), again it was newly renovated and very clean. For us, we enjoyed the non river view room the most, it was quiet and roomier than the other one and suited us more. If you are sensitive to noises I would choose the non river view because there is some traffic noise on the bridge throughout the night and early morning. The river view room was awesome and it has a super view of the Bridge which is a must see and watching the river in the early morning is very calming. Oh and I don't want to forget the rubber duck in the bathroom, funny we kind of collect those little guys and you can purchase their "cousin" at the front desk, we bought two. Watch out for the shower head, it’s a little low on the wall and you have to duck down to get under it but they have great water pressure and plenty of hot water. It is within walking distance of the Old Town and there are plenty of shops, eateries and coffee shops there. up the hill on the main street is a Dairy Queen if you need a treat. They have laundry facilities, I think that it was 75 cents to wash and $1 to dry but the dryer doesn’t dry very good and you will have to go through 2 dry cycles to get a medium load really dry, they have soap to purchase at the front desk. There is a really good breakfast with juices, coffee, cereal, breads (but no bagels), pastries, milk, hard boiled eggs and my favorite fresh hot waffles. There is extra seating upstairs or trays to take your food to your room. The Staff is awesome and very friendly, there is a computer and printer in the front office, I used it to print off boarding passes. The only reason I didn’t give them a 5 is because next day after check in the room did not get straightened up. Trash was taken out on the first stay but the bed was not made and on the 2nd day the room wasn’t touched and we did have the do not disturb sign out until around 7 am but the staff was not out cleaning the rooms when we removed it. Otherwise when the rooms were cleaned daily they were spotless and you can tell that the staff takes pride in the job they do. That really is my only major complaint and like I said I gladly give them 4 ¾ stars

Room Tip: We found that the non river view rooms to be really quiet compaired to the river view due to the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindascamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you like our new amenities and the view of the river. We do pride ourselves on how clean our rooms are and we do try to keep our rooms up to date and clean. We do appreciate your return visit and all your great comments. Sorry to here about your stay over not getting your room straightened up, not sure what happened their, but hope to see again soon. That will give us an opportunity to prove our selves better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
1,948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
164 reviews
24.5 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Property: River House Inn
Address: 1202 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9648
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — River House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence
River House Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing